Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 "want to become skipper yet dun know how to swim' Hi! there, TyreBoy, I'm sure you're not familiar with the boat that's used by the SMU sailing team. It's the J24," http://www.j24class.org/ " and it's a racing yacht, SMU has been promoting sailing to their students for a long time. The question whether the unfortunate crew can swim or not is unclear, as the news article mentioned he has Class 1 certification. In Singapore, a sailor starts from Level 1, so I don't know where the crew got his certification from. When a person gets a Basic Sailing Certificate Level 1 in Singapore, it means they can compete in sailing regattas sanctioned by Singapore Sailing Federation " http://www.sailing.org.sg/ " including regattas around the world sanctioned by the International Sailing Federation. " http://www.sailing.org/ " So the BSC ensures that the sailor is proficient and well trained in sailing and should be able to handle the craft reasonably well and it includes the ability to swim 50m in tidal conditions wearing a lifevest, and to do a capsized drill on a dinghy. But, if a person has no intention to go racing or compete in a regatta and owns a big sailing boat, using it just for recreation, don't require a BSC Level 1, only an MPA boating licence, if the boat is registered in Singapore. Rgds Paul Yong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 "according to the International Sailing Federation or ISAF, keel boat sailors do not need to wear life jackets while training or even racing" "What a stupid rule.." Hi! there, Jho001, The ISAF ruling on keelboats is because it won't capsize as compared to a sailing dinghy. That's why it's called a keelboat, because there's a weighted keel under the boat to prevent it from capsizing. The only other sailing craft that don't require a lifevest is a windsurfer, but the keelboat must have lifejackets on board. Whether a crew or personnel on board any boat has to wear a lifejacket or not is a decision made by the skipper of the boat. Do not for a moment think that crew on a keelboat racing don't wear lifejacket, because they do. All crews on racing keelboats around the world puts on a lifejacket w/harness lines, that's because the weather conditions are very much different from what we experience here in Singapore. It's very well documented in races around the world, sailors die when they're swept overboard into the sea, even with lifejacket. So, stupidity is never a reason for a dead person out at sea, it's just an unfortunate accident. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyreboy Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 the msg is clear...life vest is issued to everyone to ensure safety...whether what kind or type of boat is using it does not matter...are you saying that canoe need life vest whereas racing yacht dun need. be it competition or recreation usage, safety must always be observed. what did we learn in SAF, when carrying a gun, always point up to the sky, put into safe mode etc etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Complacency Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 "life vest is issued to everyone to ensure safety..." Hi! there, TyreBoy, Lifevest is available for use, not issued, and it does matter what description of boat you're in. If you've ever paddle a canoe, you know that you're wet or can get wet all the time, on a keelboat you don't have that luxury as the water is too far over the side. With the weather conditions we have here, you can get heat stroke when the winds are not blowing to cool you down, even if you have an inflatable lifevest. Since you've served your time in the SAF, and understand safety, how then can a farking French soldier shoot into the crowd with live rounds? You're not going to now say that everyone who go on a cruise liner should put on lifejacket right? Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 go easy on the sis lah...maybe too emotional? u know char bor is liddat one. kenna emotional shock. what is on everybody's mind is that we all wish this incident did not occur but when next-of -kin is involved, emotions run more freely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfpoon Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 hey bro! wow...long time no see you online! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.. .....lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejac k et.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lif e jacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket.......lifejacket...... . lifejacket.......lifejacket....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 alamak cannot swim then put on life jacket lah. there is nothing against pple who cant swin in taking part in sea sports but at least safeguard himself wif a life jacket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Complacency Yep. haven't learn how to walk, want to fly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 "long time no see" Hi! there, Alfpoon, Now the boat's in shipyard at Endau, not my turn to babysit it. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i've nothing against sailing. but i don't quite understand why a guy who can't swim be allowed to sail? its a watersport and it really baffles me he's a non swimmer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 He was obviously certified to be able to swim out in the open seas for 50m with a lifejacket. Probably the authorities governing this requirement need to review and tighten up on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 (edited) "It's very well documented in races around the world, sailors die when they're swept overboard into the sea, even with lifejacket." We certainly do not know and would never understand the sea conditions during the accident. However, putting on a lifejacket would definitely increase your chances of survival and that should be made mandatory. This is common sense. "weather conditions are very much different from what we experience here in Singapore." I assume with more forgiving sea conditions in Singapore, all the more we should take the advantage of having to wear lifejackets mandatory. Edited July 7, 2008 by Jetabout777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 Heard from new that the family members will take action wor. Frankly speaking...... whose fault is it for not wearing life jacket. fault is with the highest ranking person on board lor. cos never ensure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i can't believe the sister of the dead made such comments "Hannah Angsana, Levin's sister, said: "More precautions could have been taken. Further, rescue measures that could have been done in time were not. The Singapore naval divers were not activated fast enough. They arrived after dark. The fact that my brother could not swim and was not wearing a life vest at the point of the accident showed safety was not a priority." " WTF...the victim should know better that if one cannot swim, better don a life vest. i am sure no one force him at a gunpoint not to wear life vest...gungho attitude...moreover, sailing on high sea, no matter how good is your swimming skills, you will never overcome the undercurrents etc...instead of blaming her brother for his own demise, put the blame to others...get a few bangalas and screw her man spoilt sister...RIP to the victim and hopefully next life you will learn how to swim ahve some common sense" want to become skipper yet dun know how to swim is as good as one to be a chef but dun how to cook The sister maybe still unable to think properly due to shock and grief. Don't worry, she will seek help from IMH and they will handle her properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 i can't believe the sister of the dead made such comments "Hannah Angsana, Levin's sister, said: "More precautions could have been taken. Further, rescue measures that could have been done in time were not. The Singapore naval divers were not activated fast enough. They arrived after dark. The fact that my brother could not swim and was not wearing a life vest at the point of the accident showed safety was not a priority." " WTF...the victim should know better that if one cannot swim, better don a life vest. i am sure no one force him at a gunpoint not to wear life vest...gungho attitude...moreover, sailing on high sea, no matter how good is your swimming skills, you will never overcome the undercurrents etc...instead of blaming her brother for his own demise, put the blame to others...get a few bangalas and screw her man spoilt sister...RIP to the victim and hopefully next life you will learn how to swim ahve some common sense" want to become skipper yet dun know how to swim is as good as one to be a chef but dun how to cook The boy had no self-disclipine.. Don't know how to swim, jolly well wear life vest.. Paiseh.. I got to relate this to drink driving since is a car forum.. If drunk, then don't drive.. If drunk, drive, langa and die, is the family supposed to blame the ambulance not activated fast enough or that the the car does not have airbag which show safety was not a priority.. Or maybe blame the pub for selling alcohol.. Blame god, blame ghost, blame animals but never self.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 7, 2008 Share July 7, 2008 I second you.As alot of forumer has mention,we're sad for Angsana family sudden lost,but nevertheless,angsana family should do a review on the mention boy than pushing the blame to other.Angsana sister,your comments makes no sense to others,I play sea sports.No matter how good swimmer you are,wearing a life jacket is a must.System is here for you to follow,if your brother chose to take shortcut,don't blame other.As a person who play sea sports,i know it's very uncomfortable to wear a life vest and play sports,but it's a system to be follow,just like traffic rules,don't follow,kena pwned,don't blame the system. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...