Nicholas 5th Gear July 29, 2008 Share July 29, 2008 Hi all, very long since I last posted here. Finally finished my NS, got my degree, and working now. Anyway, I have decided to get a used (coe) car directly from another owner (not dealer), but I have no idea what I need to do? I read some articles from sgcarmart saying that I need to make several trips to LTA? What are the procedures? The car I looking at is less than 10k and I am thinking of paying the owner in cash. Thanks in advance for all brudders and sisters help. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2008 Share July 29, 2008 FYI some ass dealers put themselves as direct owner as well in their ads. Dun be fooled. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear July 29, 2008 Share July 29, 2008 is the car on loan with any bank or finance company? if it is, should be like this (a) get full settlement amt from bank first and make appointment with bank (this one seller should do) (b) get insurance (effective from actual day of transfer) - if getting from Agent, he can do for you. © on same day, go bank full settle - using cashier order for record (d) then go with him to LTA to do transfer. pay him balance upon transfer. Give him lift to bus stop or MRT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 29, 2008 Author Share July 29, 2008 I see... thanks. I will be wary of that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 29, 2008 Author Share July 29, 2008 Ah a name that I recall from some time ago. Thanks for the advice! I will check with him about the car loan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched July 29, 2008 Share July 29, 2008 What model is the COE car? Have you personally seen it yet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic July 29, 2008 Share July 29, 2008 Last time I sold my COE car, about $14k, it was fully paid up. So I insisted buyer pay me cash. Met buyer at LTA, did the paperwork, he handed over the case, I handed over the car key and log card, and that's that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugged Neutral Newbie June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Anyone with bad experience in buying from direct owner??? I got a 5 years old ride, break down in few days time, repair fees very expensive, what should I do??? Any legal advise? anyone with experience guilding me, very very sian.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 No..just one trip as transfer would do.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Anyone with bad experience in buying from direct owner??? I got a 5 years old ride, break down in few days time, repair fees very expensive, what should I do??? Any legal advise? anyone with experience guilding me, very very sian.... When buying, send to w/s for checking before handing over cash. Now the only thing is send to your w/s for repairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautilus 2nd Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Anyone with bad experience in buying from direct owner??? I got a 5 years old ride, break down in few days time, repair fees very expensive, what should I do??? Any legal advise? anyone with experience guilding me, very very sian.... Bro, do a search of my posts and you'll find something that i wrote sometime back on what to look out for in getting a used car direct from owner. Read it to know how to cover yourself just in case he tried to pull a fast one on you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugged Neutral Newbie June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 thanks, actually i bought a 5 years old car from a direct seller from sgcarmart, but it happened that it broke down a few days later. can I seek legal against a faulty car sold to me or just take it (my bad luck)? Please advise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 thanks, actually i bought a 5 years old car from a direct seller from sgcarmart, but it happened that it broke down a few days later. can I seek legal against a faulty car sold to me or just take it (my bad luck)? Please advise. u signed the agreement liao..... very hard to fight leh... can repair?? how about u start a thread and ask around.. or go to the respective car forum and voice ur concern.. u might get better results there.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayc Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Hi, what i can say is that there is nothing you can claim from the previous owner as it is your responsibility to check the condition of the car prior to the sales and agreement on the selling price. Just poor luck i guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elepoo 2nd Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Does he give you any warranty or did you get any agreement with him? If no, then you got to come out with your own $$$ to repair the car. Always, when buying used car, get a mechanic to go thru or send the car for health check before even putting down the deposit..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugged Neutral Newbie June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 OH man God, that very sad, anyone hear or experience and managed to get back some money, the repair is costing me 4 k plus.... .... Do help me..... ..... Can sue I will sure sue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 OH man God, that very sad, anyone hear or experience and managed to get back some money, the repair is costing me 4 k plus.... .... Do help me..... ..... Can sue I will sure sue. what's the problem??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elepoo 2nd Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Just take it that you bought your current ride @ Seller's price + $4k.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...