Aircon oil renewal necessary?

Lightzvs

HVAC system should only be serviced by AC technicians. Don't go to a general car workshop to do it. They recommend this and that and then outsource it to an AC tech that is servicing several car workshops. If you want real AC advice for your HVAC, see a specialized AC workshop.
Agree. Have it serviced at auto air con specialist. Got for the reputable ones. [nod][nod]

Manual gearbox oil is virtually protected. Cooled pretty well thanks to the passing air as the car is moving.

You don't change it for say 5 or 10yrs. You just top up. Same with the compressor oil.

Best let your mechanic do it or better, don't even do it. laugh.gif By the time you want to do it, it is time to scrap the car since the COE is up.

Of course you have to check the system. Mine had the high pressure hose cracked from environmental damage. Other than that, the auxillary belts and stuff are the usual in maintenance. Compressor is best left unmolested. Especially the oil part. Change the seals will be a good idea.

I flush my oil and top up gas at the time at abt 140k there was

a difference ... air con was running much smoother and quiter.

During fushing I saw my aircon was yellowish thru a small window

until is white ... then he stop. But do take note on the oil used

some cars need abt 3 cans for 1.6, 2 litres ones need more.

Oil I think would be better if u do it at 120k ... You spend the $

on the servcing your coil will be better. Fresher air and more

colder, you will know the difference will driving...

Edited by Blacks

Bros,

Just to borrow your thread as I canot post new tread.

When visiting air-con shops for repair and servicing, anyone came accross this product call ICE32? Or anyone know the contact of the guy from the old totoya forum in delphi forum selling this? If yes, can advice the shop name? Just change my car to EK3 recently and have used this product on my corolla which seems to be effective.

aircon flushing will b like chemical washing of the internal evaporator liaoz + replace dryer filter and expansion value.

down time abt 1 day to finish.

Yo pal.....aircon flushing cost ard 100+ to 150...last time i did was inclusive of charging the refrigerant. I did mine at a shop 2years back at eunos area .....dun really rem wat the shop name...though.

yah lor...just replaced a compressor coil for my Altis for S$395 last week. Mileage was coming to 97k however mech say nuthin to do with it. He said is heng suay one, some cars driven more than 100K liao also nv spoil. A brand new compressor would costs abt 600+, so he suggested i just do with a replacement of coil which alrdy costs S$280 w/o labour.

woot tat painful [jawdrop] it could be due to many reasons that the coil spoilt.

Anyway the workshop quoted me 120 for the aircon flush. Think will give it a go later during the next service.

any in the east or central/north areas?tks for the info anyway. tink of getting my aircon checked,at fan speed 1 it is cold,but when set to fan speed 2,sometimes cold,sometimes not so cold air blowing...

HVAC system should only be serviced by AC technicians. Don't go to a general car workshop to do it. They recommend this and that and then outsource it to an AC tech that is servicing several car workshops. If you want real AC advice for your HVAC, see a specialized AC workshop.

Is this good?

http://www.cdge.com.sg/promo/promo.asp