Anyone tried GSC for car servicing?

Tanlc

Anyone tried GSC or Action Garage for servicing their vehicles recently? Have their service improved?

Happened to see their sponsored ad in google. Their offer is very tempting - Shell Helix Ultra 4l synthetic oil change, oil filter, spark plugs for $98 nett.

http://1actiongarage.com.sg/index.php/1actiongarage_promotions/

Or better to just service at any Shell petrol station at Shell Pro Serve same package but excl spark plugs at $118 nett?

All I require is the normal 10,000km type of servicing, as major servicing with all fluid change was done at the last servicing.

Juz forget about GSC and go for other workshop or do it in JB...

after reading so much comments, i will stay away too.

If any WS needs to put flyers on pples windscreen, it shows they dun hv regular/repeat customers to depend on.

That already says a lot about their company.

Lol. GSC really so bad? I was just about to recommend a colleague. Luckily i see this!

I just went for their car servicing promo around Nov 2013. Here is my feedbacks:

1) Went for the $88 promo for 60k servicing. On the phone, I asked if they are using 5-40w engine oil and they say yes. During SERVICING, i noticed they used 0-40w. Not much difference except it gives me a bad feeling

2) They did 21 pts checks and they even took out my brakes to check on the brakes. Informed that my BRAKES Pump is rusty. Ask me to change and if I dont change, it will break down. Feeling strange.. I called my regular workshop and ask if it is ok for brake pump to get rusty. My regular workshop told me that it is normal for brake pump to get rusty and as long as it is not leaking oil, it is normal.. :( getting angry for the sales tatics by the workshop

3) Ask them how much to change the ATF oil and was told it is $80 per litres! WTF? I can go to stockists and get $25 per litre and the rip-off is high for this shop... do i look like carrot?

Summary: The technician look skillful but pricing wise ..sucks esp on the parts and they like to push for parts to be changed when it is in normal tear and wear... Talk to the boss of the workshop and they are in business for 20 yrs. Strange if they are in business for 20yrs, the workshop is unusally quiet with only 2 cars in servicing during Saturday? I would not go back in my own view.

put it this way, if they are so good, why bother to have groupon or those advertisement to attract people to take up the so call "cheap" package. They of cos want to push further becos having the so called "promo" only how much can they earn? I for once does not believe in all these groupon cheap deals. You pay peanuts, you get monkey. Things are cheap for always a reason.

Complaint from my friend:

He went to GSC for servicing few days ago and before he go to them he gave them a call to book an appt and took up their $88 Mobil 1 servicing package. ( my friend brought his own oil filter and aircon filter)

My friend arrived 30 min before the appt time and promptly served by the counter staff. She ask him other than servicing, any other problem which required them to check. So my fren told them one problem regarding noise from undercarriage and they told him to write it down in one of their form for their mechanic to take note and check. So he presume they will check on the problem. They told him to return in 2hrs or they will call him if they complete it earlier.

Whilst my fren was having lunch, the counter called him and said his car coolant and air filter need to be change. My fren didn't agree on the coolant but agree on the air filter to be change. They also said the oil filter included in the package will be return to my fren since he had use his self-brought oil filter.

1.5 hrs later my fren return to the workshop after his lunch and saw his car already done, parking outside the workshop. When he check with the counter girl on he undercarriage noise, she said they need to take out the parts to check and so they did not check on it. (So in the first place why offer to check??)

The oil filter supposed to be return to my fren is not in his car and they change one brake light bulb of his car without my fren permission and my fren dun remember it's blown. (Anyway got change or no change also cannot tell lah)

The labour of installing the aircon filter is $15 which I think it's daylight robbery.

So be careful if u wan to engage them.

When there to have normal servicing.

Taken Mobil 5-30 package & oil filter.plus 21 points check.

Staff there all very nice & sweet talking.

Try to con me by advicing this lah that.lah..... blah.... blah MUST change, just replied

came here for the servicing package only.

The lady Boss walked away with Lemon face.

For me, I always check my AD's website for service promotions.

Just had my oil change at $99 for 5L Castrol oil. Requested them to check my battery status. They gave me a report with battery good report + car was vacuumed and washed. [thumbsup]

All for $99 + GST.

For me, I always check my AD's website for service promotions.

Just had my oil change at $99 for 5L Castrol oil. Requested them to check my battery status. They gave me a report with battery good report + car was vacuumed and washed. [thumbsup]

All for $99 + GST.

Can share where is your AD?

Yup, half price lor. Normal time is about $200 just for 5L oil change inclusive of filter and oil plug washer. So, if timing not gum for me, I just go outside, if gum gum hoh, just make good use of their promotions.

Usually they have quarterly promotions for other things also like brakes, suspension, timing belt. Just need to keep a lookout and adjust your schedule accordingly in order to enjoy 25% off. This works out to be almost on par with outside workshops.

5 litres $99/- .Good leh

Yup, half price lor. Normal time is about $200 just for 5L oil change inclusive of filter and oil plug washer. So, if timing not gum for me, I just go outside, if gum gum hoh, just make good use of their promotions.

Usually they have quarterly promotions for other things also like brakes, suspension, timing belt. Just need to keep a lookout and adjust your schedule accordingly in order to enjoy 25% off. This works out to be almost on par with outside workshops.

Good deal lor. I want to try Castrol oil next change. Thats why I asked. Tks.

2 experiences and that's it

1. Called up GSC if they carry Varta Battery. they said yes quoted me price so i went down to replace.
"Oh, no more Varta, this one is Volta. Better quality". Then immediately turned to his worker and instructed him to install into my car

OKAY. never mind maybe he heard me wrongly over the phone. never mind.

2. few months back drove in gsc (admiralty) to replace headlight assembly.. told to wait for part to arrive. ok.

went to nearby canteen.. makan.. kopi... about an hour passed.. called them and they said part still on the way

two hours later came back.. was told they only sold replacement in pairs, so i cant replace just one side (?!?!)

wasted my time totally. Dishonest selling and i learn that if it is not what you want, be firm and don't be afraid to say no and walk away.

GSC / 1Action cannot be relied upon, and this is coming from a Woodlands resident that has been there three times, the second and third was on hindsight a regret because I gave the the benefit of my doubt.

My third and last visit included an all in one package that includes premium spark plug change. Halfway through the service I was informed that they do not have stock of premium plugs, and was asked by that bitch if I would like to come back another day to have it installed, to which I said NO.

When time for payment I was shocked to find that they included the payment for the plugs. I went up to her and asked why did she include this and she said I am more than welcomed to come back any day to get the premium plugs. I raised my tone as it seemed to me at the time that she was hoping I may have missed that out and paid the entire cost. Hence she had to come back with a response as lame as that. I was furious.

Then the boss cake over and asked if there's anything wrong and checked with the mech who served me. The mech came back, baffled by what's going on, and showed me and that bitch that he did indeed managed to find stock of the premium plugs and that he performed the plug change. This was NOT known to the bitch. So at that time it became clear she was charging me for smtg she knew was not installed.

I do NOT recommend anyone to go there. If you think this is a fake post please feel free to PM me and I shall give you the receipt and details. Hyundai Avante, last visit Aug 2013.

GSC is a Nono , even whole SG no more workshops also don't wanna go there. I went last Oct to repair my aircon. Quoted me compressor , dryer filter and servicing of condensing coil. After the repairs, aircon still not cold... So went back again. They say oh, have to replace condensing coil and expansion valve. I asked then what for I paid for servicing of condensing coil on the first visit. They said my expectation is too high. End up spent $1800 to fix my aircon. The boss is crapy , exploded the quotation by adding lots of small items like $120 for blah blah blah, $80 for blah blah. They admin girl only licks her boss's balls.

This is not a honest workshop and kinda sim lim square.

GSC is a Nono , even whole SG no more workshops also don't wanna go there. I went last Oct to repair my aircon. Quoted me compressor , dryer filter and servicing of condensing coil. After the repairs, aircon still not cold... So went back again. They say oh, have to replace condensing coil and expansion valve. I asked then what for I paid for servicing of condensing coil on the first visit. They said my expectation is too high. End up spent $1800 to fix my aircon. The boss is crapy , exploded the quotation by adding lots of small items like $120 for blah blah blah, $80 for blah blah. They admin girl only licks her boss's balls.

This is not a honest workshop and kinda sim lim square.

For aircon job, sent it to known specialist workshop. There are a few around.

Do not send to a general servicing workshop.

They often send it to the specialist behind your back, mark up the price and charge it to you.