Electrician to recommend

Horsee

Anyone face the problem of having your home circuit breaker trip,

during heavy rain with loud thunder..

Mine is quite frequent and need one to recommend electrican to t/s.

Thanks

I face this issue not at home but at workplace. During such heavy rain with lightning, my factory's security barrier and turnstile will kaput. I seek advise from our appointed LEW but as a PE, he also said there is no gurantee that watever equipment for protection available can solve such problem totally. No one can predict the magnitute of the next lightning. Eventually, with his recommendation, we put in lightning surge arrestor at the DB to protect important equipment in the guard room.

Hi brudder Horsee,

I am having the same problem as you. My circuit breaker will trip when there is thunderstorm. Everytime have to clear out the fridge and fill up with fresh diary products like milk, cheese, butter. My wife scared these products have turned bad [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Edited by Vroomtattat

Me staying in HDB at Admiralty area.

Has called power grid, which directed me to town council.

TC send electrician down today, say he tightened my wiring outside, and insist i change the ELCB at $65. Think this is the market price??

I rejected it, cos he cannot gurantee me that this will fix the problem.

Will monitor again.

Check with ur neighbours first...mayb they faced the same problems with u, then u can go bang the town council table.

Ya lo...agree wif u...should check wif neighbour 1st...

but seriously speaking..nowadays, the lightning and thunder are kinda scary..

somewhere last week..there was a thunderstorm..the lightning struck and the thunderboom, tripped my house's circuit breaker..

but here's wad made my fart go back up my ass..

ripples on the water in my cup..man..never before had i seen that happen.

Me staying in HDB at Admiralty area.

Has called power grid, which directed me to town council.

TC send electrician down today, say he tightened my wiring outside, and insist i change the ELCB at $65. Think this is the market price??

I rejected it, cos he cannot gurantee me that this will fix the problem.

Will monitor again.

If ELCB not faulty, why change?

More likely it could be due to poor or loosened connection at the connectors!

Btw, I think t/s is not cheap!

Edited by Fitvip

My neighbours dun have this problem, but quick check with Town council, neighbouring block have.

Latest update, TC will send electrician on-site for some measurement ( 1 to 2 wks)but readings must be taken during fine weater.

They will e-mail to HDB branch for advise, if reading ok..

Its an waiting game, at least TC is taking action and follow-up.

Replacing the circuit breaker will be my last resort.. [:/]

actually 65 bucks is not a very high price to pay (as mentioned by someone), if it CAN solve the problem...

I dun think frequent trippings are good for ur appliances for long run.

Anyway good luck.

Cheers!

why? ur place got big thunders meh?

else it is clearly due to some leakage, could be some exposed copper + humidity or is there some power sockets near window/service balcony etc....or perhap just electric kettle's wet plug....

During the storm in the evening lor.... so much lightning and thunder that I expected the circuit to trip... :( never did I expect it to trip so many times after I turned it back on.