Rim spec

Chogokin

5.5j is the rim width. its taken into consideration when looking at tyres sizes to fit ur ride. and yes,the model in that spec is that small,its meant for kei cars like the one featured in the link..

Sorry i am a bit newbie in this area...

i always tot when looking for tyres, normally it's a 3 figure thingy...

like 205 55R16, 185 55R15

how does the 5.5 fit into here when selecting for tyres...? [blush]

Hi all,

What does this mean 16x5.5J? I refering to the 5.5J . Cannot be 5.5 inch ba , so small for a 16" rim ? Pls refer to the spec below.

http://www.5zigen.co.jp/products/wheel/pro...r/GN+_forK.html

Thanks all

16 x 5.5

16 is the Rim diameter.

5.5 is the thickness or the depth.

Here is a 17 x 7 rim

IMG_2478.jpg

Yes it is in inches.

Edited by Super410

yup,when looking for tyres sizes,they are in 3 figure ie:205 55 16. means 205 is the length of the tyre contact point wif the road in mm, 55 means tyre thickness express as a percentage of the first figure (55%of 205mm), and last figure is the rim size it fits.

but when chosing tyre sizes,the rim must fit the tyre properly. there is a tolerance level that a particular rim width will fit diff length of tyres(first figure).

an example: i am running 265/35/18 on my rears, my rim width should be between 9jj to 10.5jj. my fronts are running on 235/40/18, my rim width should be between 8jj to 9.5jj. so i chose 8.5j for my front and 9.5j for my rears.

use this quick link to help u calculate ur original rim sizes wif aftermarket rim sizes:

http://www.alloywheels.com/tyrecalc.asp

remember when u upgrade sizes,be in within 2.5%tolerance level,or ur speedo will be out of calibration. also check that ur wheel arch are big enuff to fit wider and fatter tyres.

5.5 means you can use tyre with width from 155 to 205, the ideal tyre width for that rim is somewhere in between like 175-185.

Edited by Kr_toy