Vtim 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 Are the map on Google accurate ? Anyone try using it on trips to MY ? http://maps.google.com/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redlavita Neutral Newbie November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 yes bro, it seems quite accurate to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 (edited) Its a general map....no detailed roads to the place that you might wanna go. It can roughly tell you where it is....but if wanna navigate to the place, I think still Mapking M'sia map are better or good ol street directory. Using goggle....might as well use the PLUS one. www.plus.com.my They got a download version in PDF format which carry a little more info that the goggle ones. Edited November 19, 2008 by Ghostrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Author Share November 19, 2008 I tried the direction from Nilai (ELITE) highway to Sunway Lagoon and it does seems to be quite accurate as it also show all the small roads like Jalan **** (9/1) etc.... on the Map itself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Author Share November 19, 2008 I was quite surprise that the map do show all the small lanes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xmenfreak2 Neutral Newbie November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 HI bro.. just wanna check I am using Agis map but kinda expensive. Can i used mapking instead? Mine is Asus A696.. thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 I tried before...its ok leh. For Mapking...you gotta specify the place...if not the search engine will generate all sorts of places to make you blur. Once you found the POI....use the "GO" and check if its the place you wanna go....once confirm...then its quite ok. But you key in Sunway (for example)....then there are hundreds of address with the word Sunway....cos Sunway is like you spec Geylang...then they will tell you geylang lor 1 to 101 etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 Your ASUS is a Win Mobile device rite ? If so...can....just go to East Gear and buy the software and load into your device can liao. If your device has a in build GPS receiver then you dun need to buy the external one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 Its accurate enough for me .... I've used it to go KL city, and recently all the way to Phuket and back. Only problem is having to print out the crucial section. It is definitely cheaper than getting a GPS that I'll prob use twice a year But GPS does make it easier to get to your destination, at a price of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Author Share November 19, 2008 I was thinking of buying Garmin Nuvi 205 @ $299, with Leather pouch + home charger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 19, 2008 Author Share November 19, 2008 alright, so now I wonder should I get the Garmin 205 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 I dun like the interface of Garmin. Why dun you pop by East Gear at Horne Rd and play around with their display GPS....then you can see the diff between Garmin and Mapking. Interface is important IMHO....if its hard to use or during navigation...then you become frustrated.... BTW....most of the GPS unit uses a mini USB slot for charging....if you have a Motorola car charger....can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 20, 2008 Author Share November 20, 2008 ok thanks, I may drop by this Friday to take a look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Just my personal preference... when using Mapking....min all the details. During navigation, the details on the display a bit too much details. Not so helpful when you need direction and you get so much distraction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xmenfreak2 Neutral Newbie November 21, 2008 Share November 21, 2008 Yup bro.. my asus has win mobile and a it is abuilt in GPS and palm. So u advise to use mapking or should i carry on to use the agis software? Btw do any of u guys know where to get the latest version of asus sync software as I seems not able to install from the cd... thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 22, 2008 Share November 22, 2008 IMHO...Agis sucks. Dun like it and last time I ask....update need to pay !! WTF !! Not competitive. Mapking you pay one time....then its free update (when avaliable) and the best is that its map with the SLA maps....which means that its very accurate. If I were you....I will change to the Mapking GPS....go check the prices at East Gear website... Lastly....you cannot update from CD then go to website lor...if still cannot...email the tech support. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dodol Neutral Newbie November 22, 2008 Share November 22, 2008 sorry to hijack, my HU got this Navi button but when click its empty...According to my SE, i must get a GPS receiver beofre it can actually work. is this true?? my HU got the USB interface but where can i get this GPR receiver...once i connect to my HU with the usb it can work?? any advise ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged November 22, 2008 Share November 22, 2008 You need more than just the receiver. You will need a GPS module that is compatible to your HU. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...