200km coastal-line wall surround singapore island

Endorrachua

Was watching DC yesterday "Mega-structure".

At the end of the show, it mentioned there is a future project to fight sea level rising, that is to build a dam that run 200km around the whole singapore island!! Wow!! Maybe after 100 years, the only land that seen in this region.

Just to share!!

Guess no other choice lor.. we can't prevent the sea level from rising.. so have to protect ourselves from being submerged..

Its gonna like ancient time which cities protect themselves by building walls around them. Only that we are protecting ourselves from the tide.

Then again its gonna be ugly. Imagine going east coast park and see no horizon...

This is uniquely for Singapore cos we are a tiny island surrounded by coastal waters.

Looking from a bigger picture and perspective, this is a global problem. Not just with water but also with the ozone layer, heating of the earth etc.

Better still, make glass wall so as we can see the sea creatures swimming outside (like Underwater World)..... [sly][sly][sly]

Instead of bring our children to East Coast Park to swim, we bring them there to see sea creatures ..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Picnic06

At the end of the show, it mentioned there is a future project to fight sea level rising, that is to build a dam that run 200km around the whole singapore island!! Wow!! Maybe after 100 years, the only land that seen in this region.

Just to share!!

Anyone watched the show too, it is true or i heard wrongly!!

Just to share!!

so we will face a wall when we go to the beach nx time ah... sad siah..

We are becoming more like North Korea liaoo lahh....

Down the years, people will forget even how the sea looks like... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Just to share!!

more jobs created and employed.. [laugh][laugh]

to contruct the walls and men guarding the wall plus activating the "gantries" for big big ships to enter and exit.. [:p]

Some of my friends who are civil engineers, involved in a few gahmen projects told me that Sg looks like a cheese.. many holes below a solid surface.

Anyway... looks like we gonna fork out money to build the this coastal barrier.

really true !!

Interesting, we will see in future car will be scrap into sea by driving it up the second link and straight into the sea used to be boleh land. Causeway will have a giant shutter that rises from seabed to closed up the lobang.

so we will face a wall when we go to the beach nx time ah... sad siah..

We are becoming more like North Korea liaoo lahh....

Down the years, people will forget even how the sea looks like... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I thought we already are. [lipsrsealed][sweatdrop]

Just to share!!

yah... i think some dutch experts already come for surveying liao... and give suggestions

cause holland also have some problem as us (low lying areas) and they are experts already