Any laptop repairers?

Donut

Hi all,

My DVD Rom drive in HP laptop died or stopped working.

Any one can recommend anyone who can repair or change the DVD Rom for me?

Any MCF forumer can help me to change?

My HP laptop model is Compaq nc6220.

Thanks

if the com very old liao... like more than 3yrs. than no point changing liao.. time to change a new com

Not tat old.... still can use. running on XP.

i only use it for surfing MCF..... :D :D :D

if only the dvd rom not working..the just buy an external drive and use lor..

external one is troublesome lah......

Hi all,

Thanks

You can go to Sim Lim. Lots of repair shops. But don't go this shop that goes by the name of something Star one. Last time sent my laptop there for repair but they couldn't do it and damaged the casing but lost my CB laptop safety cover. CB somemore charge me also. Farking dulan when I think back.

if the com very old liao... like more than 3yrs. than no point changing liao.. time to change a new com

now celeron compaq notebook without OS cost about $500++ nia

You can go to Sim Lim. Lots of repair shops. But don't go this shop that goes by the name of something Star one. Last time sent my laptop there for repair but they couldn't do it and damaged the casing but lost my CB laptop safety cover. CB somemore charge me also. Farking dulan when I think back.

Star one? i think i walked past there today... is it on top level? 5th level?

i wanted to ask them for quote, but i dun have a nice feeling when i see the ppl there... so i just walked past... phew.

DVD rom very easy to change. Exactly like changing video tape.

There should be a button somewhere which when pressed, the whole DVD rom will pop out. If it doesn't pop out, check if there's any screw securing the drive. usually only a single screw.

To install new one just pop it back in, again exactly like loading a video tape.

If this is your first time, then I suggest you bring it to a decent shop to have the DVD-ROM replaced. Let the ppl there install for you for that peace-of-mind. At the same time you can pick up a skill or two from them. Laptop is different from desktop.

I would like to introduce you to a shop on L4 or L5 in Funan(just in front of the escalator). The shop name is called TKD.

If this is your first time, then I suggest you bring it to a decent shop to have the DVD-ROM replaced. Let the ppl there install for you for that peace-of-mind. At the same time you can pick up a skill or two from them. Laptop is different from desktop.

I would like to introduce you to a shop on L4 or L5 in Funan(just in front of the escalator). The shop name is called TKD.

TKD? Thanks!!

Hi all,

Thanks

replacing a removable CD-rom drive for notebook is as hard as changing battery for your handphone.

post-2682-1230705930_thumb.jpg

but beware those shops at sim lim might sell you a 2nd drive for the price for a new one because new one very hard to find already if yours is a very old model

a sample of the market rate overseas... can ship to singapore

http://www.getpartsonline.com/373315-001-r.html

Any recommendations for laptop screen replacement?

Asus laptop.

Thanks

My go to place is at Sim Lim.

PC Clinic. Look for Kenneth.

Same same.

Go there look for "Lao Da" aka Kenneth (the fat guy)

Reasonable pricing.

Thank you.

Are they open on Sunday ?