CRIME ALERT: USE OF COUNTERFEIT MONEY AS MODE OF PAYMENT

Snowbell

Dear Community Partners,

CRIME ALERT: USE OF COUNTERFEIT MONEY AS MODE OF PAYMENT

(FOR YOUR INFORMATION)

Police has recently received reports of unknown person using counterfeit money as

mode of payment. To date more than 30 cases were reported and as we approach the period

of festive sales, we would like to reiterate the importance for being vigilant.

Modus Operandi

Please take note that the culprit will normally use a fake currency note of S$50/- note

(commonly bearing the serial number: 2EY322725) at pubs, restaurants, petrol kiosks,

convenient stores and 4D outlets for purchases.

The scam can also take in other forms ie culprit may also seek assistance in changing

loose notes using counterfeit money, on the pretext of urgent need,.

Crime Prevention Measures

Public and sole proprietors should remain alert and pay extra attention when

customers pay for purchases using higher denominations of cash, e.g. S$50/-. Below are a

few measures which can assist public to identify counterfeit notes and prevent you from

falling victim to a similar ruse.

What to look out for?

1. Counterfeit Notes using serial number: 2EY322725;

2. Poor quality paper that has a waxy surface without the following intaglio:

a. No raised printing;

b. No shimmering effect on the kinegrams;

c. No Security Thread; and

3. Although the counterfeit note simulated the outline of the watermark, but it does not

have three-dimensional portrait of the late President Yusof Bin Ishak when examined

under light.

What you can do when you receive such notes?

1. When presented with the counterfeit note, do not return the suspected note to the

suspect;

2. Delay and keep the suspect at sight and if possible contact the police immediately;

3. Take note of the description of the culprit, eg gender, age, height, built, attire,

scars/tattoos, accent of language or any distinct features;

4. Note the suspect(s)

get a stack of these S$50 and use them to pay your "fine" along N-S highway. the Mata there will be thrilled to receive Yusof Ishak rather than their A-gong.

yah, good idea but IF u kena catch by them for "fake" kopi, good luck to u, be prepare to go lockup, stripped naked and do a frog jump.. and dont know will u kena sodomized before they allow u to make a phone call to home.... [laugh]

By that time, no voice or strength to call liao! :D

if you are caught, you can deny all the way since you will never ever bride a govt servant, then ask them how come they have these S$ in the first place. also are you suppose to leave down your contacts after you have "paid" up?

Don't think they will haul you up for the fake money, but be prepared to drive all the way to the nearest police station to pay RM300 fine or worst, they make you come back for a court date. Not worth it lah [shakehead]

they ask you why your fingerprint on the fake? [lipsrsealed]

SO in listening to the police advise ...

IF i follow option 1 : When presented with the counterfeit note, do not return the suspected note to the

suspect;

and JUST in case the person is not caught ...

Which is left with Option 5 : Minimize the handling of the note and carefully place it in an envelope/polymer bag

and hand it to the Police when they arrive.

Am i supposed to be $50 dollar poorer ?? Or would the police compensate with a real money ?? [hur]

Nobody will compensate you $50....its just your luck that you received one in the first place...

And its becos of this...many folks who receive this will try to pass it off....that is how the fake note get moved around....

Nobody will compensate you $50....its just your luck that you received one in the first place...

And its becos of this...many folks who receive this will try to pass it off....that is how the fake note get moved around....

Precisely why I'm gonna return the note to the person and ask him for a new one...

Can tell them to "keep the change".

if the average joe in sillypore can't spot a fake 50 bucks note..what makes you think the monkeys in boleh-land can spot a fake SGD50 note?