Sad Day, Health Minister suggest Sillyporen stay in Johor

Puffer_fish

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Feb 10, 2009

Johor idea draws flak

By Salma Khalik , HEALTH CORRESPONDENT

A SUGGESTION by Health Minister that Singaporeans might want to consider staying at a nursing home across the Causeway in Johor where it is much cheaper drew flak from two oppostion MPs in Parliament on Tuesday.

Workers' Party chairman and Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim said the suggestion was 'quite a bad indication of affordability of our own health care services here, and also a reflection of our national values'.

Fellow WP member Low Thia Kiang (Hougang) asked: 'Is the Minister suggesting that Singaporeans who cannot afford medical treatment or step-down care here should now consider such facilities in Johor?'

If so, is the minister 'outsourcing the Government's responsibility to provide affordable health care service to Malaysia', he asked.

This riled Mr Khaw Boon Wan.

'I'm not saying that if you are poor I will put you in an ambulance, send you across the Causeway to a Johor nursing home. That is not what I said and please don't twist my words,' he retorted.

In fact, the Johor option is not for the poor, who are heavily subsidised in Singapore.

'Everybody can afford health care in Singapore whether acute care or long-term care,' said Mr Khaw.

The suggestion was aimed at middle-income families who need to pay for the care themselves. It gives them choice.

'I just wanted to point out to Singaporeans that there are options like this,' Mr Khaw said.

The cost of nursing home care will always be more expensive in Singapore, as doctors and nurses are paid more, and construction cost is also higher.

Since many people visit the elderly in homes only on weekends, it makes little difference whether the person is housed here or in nearby Johor.

It's part of globalisation and this is already happening with Singaporeans going to Bangkok for Lasik to treat short sightedness and Americans and Russians coming here for treatment.

It is also not something that should, or can, be prevented, said the minister.

Singaporeans are already crossing the causeway for cheaper petrol and medicine.

'By allowing the flexibility of consumers walking across the Causeway... they benefit. I don't think we should constrain them from doing so.'

it sad when the Millions we paid for "TOP A SS" to tell us that in future $$$ingapore will be too expensive to retire. need to go johor,

since they acknowledge we go johor for petrol, then just cancel the 3/4 tank rule

Edited by Puffer_fish

this msia born khaw never even served ns now dared to tell singaporeans to go live in JB if they can't afford the living costs here!

as usual, such 'bright' ideas never runs out with the scholars.

luckily they are not businessman,if not more than 1/2 of them would be bankrupt within the 1st year.

If Singporean staying JB has become the norm just to keep on living, then the Gahment has failed us big time. It's unthinkable that the gahment should suggest this. It's directly telling Singaporean that we have failed you, nothinh much can be done.

Still cannot believe this came out of the gahment. Suggesting us to be ecnomic refugees, horror...

so they finally admit singapore is a expensive place. why? who artificially price land? who have all these taxes to tax it's own people but give free goodies to FT? really...elections is getting close and yet still come out with such self pawned statements.

This is not news wat....this guys has been saying it for some time liao, last time even batam was also considered..... dun believe go check the some of apollo's post at quite some time ago.

but anyway we peasants should be glad for it lah....at least he bother to think of a way out (albeit not too dignified) for us, not like someone else that thought the increase gst is to help the poor.

Continue to work after 70-80years old (probably as table wipers). Delay the withdrawal of CPF and then now going for nursing home in JB. Is this the direction we are heading towards? Where is our vision?

disagree totally with what he said

but looking @ news... he is 1 of the MIWs that are working things.... health benefits etcs..

whereas our lemon tea give us lots of excuses and reasons to delay decrease of MRT/BUS price -.-" ...

we should get or out source pepole in JB to run our pap lee ment.... then we need not have to pay so much lor. for these MINT LEE Ster l... [bounce1]

craps...........

Edited by Lv3338