Mikeyeo Clutched March 5, 2009 Share March 5, 2009 I am one that use performance tyres for all my cars instead of touring ones even though the former is slightly noisier. Furthermore, performance tyres are more responsive and can feel the tyre grip all the way to the steering wheel. 2 months ago, I replaced all 4 Goodyear LS2000 Hybrid to Bridgestone Potenza RE-001 Adrenalin on one on my cars. I find that the new tyres are simply fun to drive due to it's responsiveness. I also feel that the car seems to move faster and I wonder whether this is psychological? May I have your views. Thank you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latioboy 1st Gear March 5, 2009 Share March 5, 2009 I am one that use performance tyres for all my cars instead of touring ones even though the former is slightly noisier. Furthermore, performance tyres are more responsive and can feel the tyre grip all the way to the steering wheel. 2 months ago, I replaced all 4 Goodyear LS2000 Hybrid to Bridgestone Potenza RE-001 Adrenalin on one on my cars. I find that the new tyres are simply fun to drive due to it's responsiveness. I also feel that the car seems to move faster and I wonder whether this is psychological? May I have your views. Thank you. Hello bro! Yeah! Agree! Respect!! Hmm, sometimes people may want diff things from their tyres. I guess there are 4 kinds of motoring people The below mentioned is just clearly MY VIEW. Don't need to get offended by me. (: 1) The BLUR GOONDU drivers who just thank God for 4 tyres to drive on. they don't know, don't care. 2) Those who want cheap tyres. cause they dun wanna spend so much. When they spend alot, they xim tia. But never do they know that they are risking their lives on the road cause the tyres are the only 4 contaxct patches on the ground. 3) Those who want quiet and comfort tyres and last quite long. Non performance, yes, touring tires. Like the LS2000, gr80, wadever lah. Lastly, 4) Those who believe in performance tyres giving them a better feel of the road, and able to stop in time. like re001, German F1, Hankook ventus performance tyres like V8, V 12, RS-2 ad S1 evo, and many other brands For me, as well as you, bro, mikeyeo, we belong to the number 4 group. I guess we want our tyres to be able to be able to feel the road, steering more responsive, and lastly, tyres may prevent u from getting into chain collision if you really know how to brake properly with good tyres. (: Also, performance tyres cut water better. But good tyres also have those who are only GOOD in dry, but sucky in wet. Like Semi Slicks? Semi slicks in water should be terrible i think cause not much grooves to cut through. Well, i dun wan to be put across as a boaster who talks so much about tyres when i cant even afford them But i just wanna express my views about this whole tyre thing, and yes, in future, i would NOT compromise about tyres. Lastly, its all about paying for quality and good tires. haha. One incident, my friends v12 Hankook saved him in time when he didnt see a pedestrian crossing the road till last min. managed to ebrake in time. His front right bumper was centimeters away from the ladies legs. how scary. I was in the car. ABS came on. but the tyres bit so well! Put a touring tire and you would not be able to stop in time. Also, I am just happy that i have parents who are able to afford slightly much more expensive tyres den normal ones. ( BS re001 we paid 190 per piece compared to cheaper prices for other 17 inch tyres in the market) cause they share the same sentiments with their son, that tyres are the ones that bring u to a stop, not the brakes. Without good tires, you can never stop properly. I guess that was alot to say. haha! my 0.0000001 bahts worth. P.s, MIKE! how's ur re001 going? haha! my mom simply loves how re001 cuts water. she's more confident of doing 100km/h on rainy days.. my Sylphy re001, is alr half tread gone. haha. 15k only. woops.! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 5, 2009 Share March 5, 2009 Hello bro! Yeah! Agree! Respect!! Hmm, sometimes people may want diff things from their tyres. I guess there are 4 kinds of motoring people The below mentioned is just clearly MY VIEW. Don't need to get offended by me. (: 1) The BLUR GOONDU drivers who just thank God for 4 tyres to drive on. they don't know, don't care. 2) Those who want cheap tyres. cause they dun wanna spend so much. When they spend alot, they xim tia. But never do they know that they are risking their lives on the road cause the tyres are the only 4 contaxct patches on the ground. 3) Those who want quiet and comfort tyres and last quite long. Non performance, yes, touring tires. Like the LS2000, gr80, wadever lah. Lastly, 4) Those who believe in performance tyres giving them a better feel of the road, and able to stop in time. like re001, German F1, Hankook ventus performance tyres like V8, V 12, RS-2 ad S1 evo, and many other brands For me, as well as you, bro, mikeyeo, we belong to the number 4 group. I guess we want our tyres to be able to be able to feel the road, steering more responsive, and lastly, tyres may prevent u from getting into chain collision if you really know how to brake properly with good tyres. (: Also, performance tyres cut water better. But good tyres also have those who are only GOOD in dry, but sucky in wet. Like Semi Slicks? Semi slicks in water should be terrible i think cause not much grooves to cut through. Well, i dun wan to be put across as a boaster who talks so much about tyres when i cant even afford them But i just wanna express my views about this whole tyre thing, and yes, in future, i would NOT compromise about tyres. Lastly, its all about paying for quality and good tires. haha. One incident, my friends v12 Hankook saved him in time when he didnt see a pedestrian crossing the road till last min. managed to ebrake in time. His front right bumper was centimeters away from the ladies legs. how scary. I was in the car. ABS came on. but the tyres bit so well! Put a touring tire and you would not be able to stop in time. Also, I am just happy that i have parents who are able to afford slightly much more expensive tyres den normal ones. ( BS re001 we paid 190 per piece compared to cheaper prices for other 17 inch tyres in the market) cause they share the same sentiments with their son, that tyres are the ones that bring u to a stop, not the brakes. Without good tires, you can never stop properly. I guess that was alot to say. haha! my 0.0000001 bahts worth. P.s, MIKE! how's ur re001 going? haha! my mom simply loves how re001 cuts water. she's more confident of doing 100km/h on rainy days.. my Sylphy re001, is alr half tread gone. haha. 15k only. woops.! i can take ur BS abt detailing, but not abt tires. so, how many km have u driven? got kup corner to test or not? ah pek and ah soh drivers like our dads and your mum don't push the limits. the only qualities of use to them are quiet, last long, and good braking. everything else is pointless. for the typical ahpek/ahsoh: "What is steering feel ah? What is dry cornering grip?" u think they know? anyway, a bit hard to talk abt tires unless u actually test the tire for urself. different tyres suit different types of driving, and even different cars (cars with good SP can deal with noisy tires much better, for one) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latioboy 1st Gear March 5, 2009 Share March 5, 2009 wah bro chill leh. dats why i said, its my personal take. don't need to get so offended. It was meant to reply to Mikeyeo. Oh well, yeah. im a humble boy who has no car to drive, and not even a license. does that make you feel better about driving a car actually? if yes, i don't mind. ( : Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huffy Neutral Newbie March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 U left out 5) Those who haven't really driven before but speak and share as if they know everything.(AKA think too much) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 9, 2009 Share March 9, 2009 you are one lucky chap me, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 re001 cuts water very well. my old G-III doesnt cut puddles of water and often feel tat the car change shake went going thru puddles of water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 re001 cuts water very well. my old G-III doesnt cut puddles of water and often feel tat the car change shake went going thru puddles of water. "old"? when old or new? i thought it was ok when new, but later on i had scary experiences with this tire. bad aquaplaning Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 erm..when old. lol..sry was abit bias towards my new love. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 the funny thing is that the threads are still there for the old G-IIIs but it just doesnt does its job well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haurus85 Neutral Newbie March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 wah bro chill leh. dats why i said, its my personal take. don't need to get so offended. It was meant to reply to Mikeyeo. Oh well, yeah. im a humble boy who has no car to drive, and not even a license. does that make you feel better about driving a car actually? if yes, i don't mind. ( : Actually one doesn't need to have a license in order to appreciate things ma..then lidat all of us not qualified to comment on F1 already. This is My CarForum - Where Car ENTHUSIASTS Converge, not MCF - Where Car DRIVERS Converge tio bo? All come share share la, no right no wrong..oh.. even smaller boy boy nag finish..now back to topic.. Kumho KU31 is classfied as which type then? It's listed as UHP, but price wise is much cheaper than say F1 Asym or even V12.. My humble kimchi car came with Bridgestone My-01 GRAND TOURING tayah..so i think i'm slightly qualified to talk about it hor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched March 10, 2009 Author Share March 10, 2009 Sorry for the late reply. I have used the tyres for about 2,000km. My feedback is that the road grip is very good, braking on dry and wet surfaces is spontaneous. Even my wife who doesn't border before about tyre as long as there are 4 tyres to drive, has mentioned to me that she loves the road grip and response of the tyres. I can't recall as to whether I have mentioned before but this Bridgestone Potenza RE-001 Adrenalin tyres are manufactured in Japan and Thailand. The Japan manufactured ones are more expensive, better quality and drive. The ones on my car is from Japan. It's not worth while saving about S$20 each for the Thailand made tyres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 got thai made ones meh? i thought re001 all MIJ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 I guess we want our tyres to be able to be able to feel the road, steering more responsive, and lastly, tyres may prevent u from getting into chain collision if you really know how to brake properly with good tyres. (: my Sylphy re001, is alr half tread gone. haha. 15k only. woops.! this my fren, is where u need to learn, u got the same problem as another guy i know, my car, my tyre.....at least he got license driving lao peh car... u giving ppl ammo for free frag only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 maybe the rubber harden liao. expire already . anyway, this tire EOL and just as well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 10, 2009 Share March 10, 2009 without driving, one can still comment on feedback on XXX tyre. e.g. "XXX forums pple say this tire has damn good grip, damn good stopping, no noise, cost cheaper than durex... etc etc." that can still be helpful, and isn't misleading to the reader not some no license, never drive on open road before person (dun matter the age), talk as if he drive the car. like tt i might as well give car reviews SOUNDING like i drove the car, after sitting in it just once. makes sense or not? it can be quite misleading, for people who are considering the tires. it's ok to pass on hearsay, but label it as such. "my laopeh drive and like the tire" definitely qualifies as hearsay. i think Mr Latioboy should write for the cheesier local motoring magazines, they probably let such conjecture pass to fill up their pages. anyway, i don't wanna target or flame anybody. whoever disagrees with me and still don't get what i'm driving at, is free to hold their own opinions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 i think because harden liao. i got my car in 2007, the tires were already made in 2005! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zlanns Neutral Newbie March 20, 2009 Share March 20, 2009 i don knoe y...but i still prefer my CSC2... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...