Haiz...retrenchment letter? :(

Westender

On 11/7/2025 at 10:46 AM, Scion said:

i remember back in 2007/8 when i was in HP.. the knn CEO got a bumper $40m salary + bonuses

Lehman Bro crisis soon struck and tens of thousands of HP employees tio pok

no surprises that everyone cheered when the HP CEO died of illness some years later

Mark Hurd who took over from Carly Fiorina , and he was fired subsequently , and got employed by his friend Lary Elison into  Oracle. alAnd he passed on at 62 when he was one of the two  Oracle CEO😅

😅

Edited by Ct3833

Even Isetan is downsizing. Some of their product are quite reasonably priced during sales.

Isetan shuts its Tampines Mall outlet after 30 years as anchor tenant

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/isetan-shuts-its-tampines-mall-outlet-after-30-years-as-anchor-tenant

345a3bb7f24c159cba662424a80bde1a299e542c

SINGAPORE – The Isetan department store at Tampines Mall shut its doors for the final time on Nov 9 after 30 years of operating at the shopping centre.

Isetan on Nov 10 said on Facebook it officially ended its business operations following the expiry of its lease agreement, echoing a report by The Straits Times in May.

“We have decided to close the store after careful consideration of local conditions and future profitability, allowing us to better align with the business objectives,” a company spokesperson said then.

The department store will continue operating at Shaw House in Orchard Road and Nex in Serangoon.

Isetan had been an anchor tenant in Tampines Mall since the mall’s opening in 1996.

Moving-out sales had been held to clear inventory over the past few months.

Isetan is a leading Japanese department store offering home, fashion and beauty products, and has been operating in Singapore since 1972.

On 11/11/2025 at 3:42 PM, SGMCF328 said:

Even Isetan is downsizing. Some of their product are quite reasonably priced during sales.

Isetan shuts its Tampines Mall outlet after 30 years as anchor tenant

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/isetan-shuts-its-tampines-mall-outlet-after-30-years-as-anchor-tenant

345a3bb7f24c159cba662424a80bde1a299e542c

SINGAPORE – The Isetan department store at Tampines Mall shut its doors for the final time on Nov 9 after 30 years of operating at the shopping centre.

Isetan on Nov 10 said on Facebook it officially ended its business operations following the expiry of its lease agreement, echoing a report by The Straits Times in May.

“We have decided to close the store after careful consideration of local conditions and future profitability, allowing us to better align with the business objectives,” a company spokesperson said then.

The department store will continue operating at Shaw House in Orchard Road and Nex in Serangoon.

Isetan had been an anchor tenant in Tampines Mall since the mall’s opening in 1996.

Moving-out sales had been held to clear inventory over the past few months.

Isetan is a leading Japanese department store offering home, fashion and beauty products, and has been operating in Singapore since 1972.

Physical retail is dying. See the busy thread on Loot of the day, 11/11 etc, almost all about online deals.  Was at Isetan Orchard last week, 冷冷清清, won't be surprised that one closes soon too.

On 11/11/2025 at 3:58 PM, Volvobrick said:

Physical retail is dying. See the busy thread on Loot of the day, 11/11 etc, almost all about online deals.  Was at Isetan Orchard last week, 冷冷清清, won't be surprised that one closes soon too.

Was at the tenpenis store on its lust day...only if everyday also liddat then it wont close down liao...most times boh lang one...especially on weekdays...only retirees walk walk see see look look no loot...😂

On 11/11/2025 at 3:58 PM, Volvobrick said:

Except for basement level, Tangs is the same.

On 11/12/2025 at 10:04 AM, bsswan said:

Except for basement level, Tangs is the same.

Been there a few days ago to makan. Now more than 50% of the basement allocated to F and B, most of the kitchen stuff etc gone. 

On 11/12/2025 at 10:08 AM, Volvobrick said:

Been there a few days ago to makan. Now more than 50% of the basement allocated to F and B, most of the kitchen stuff etc gone. 

Oh really? Okay, then I've not been for too long if it's changed like that....... it was the kitchen stuff that (I thought) kept if busy, like the upper level of Takashimaya.

On 11/12/2025 at 10:08 AM, Volvobrick said:

Our departmental stores and malls and shopping belt are way less interesting than Indonesia's, Thailand's, Hong Kong's, Japan's, Korea's etc etc...

Orchard Road itselt is a wash out..... even for old guys like me. 

On 11/12/2025 at 10:18 AM, Throttle2 said:

Our departmental stores and malls and shopping belt are way less interesting than Indonesia's, Thailand's, Hong Kong's, Japan's, Korea's etc etc...

Icon Siam is very interesting. I also like to roam the the big Jipun electronics stores. 

On 11/12/2025 at 10:18 AM, Throttle2 said:

Not sure I would keep HK in your list anymore.

I agree on Japan, and maybe Bangkok, but other than that I don't think we're any worse than the rest.

On 11/13/2025 at 10:57 AM, Jamesc said:

after graduation i went for my first interview.. it's an electronic company in kallang area.. 

along the interview.. the interviewer said "Our company got potential for $50million worth of sales, but we done only half" then i blatantly asked "where the other half?"

I guess all know the outcome of my interview! whahahahaha.. 

On 11/13/2025 at 11:57 AM, Jamesc said:

A fallacy of overestimation on one's intelligence...? 😁

Most SG managers are insecure.

They are not going to take someone better than them.

I don't have MBA but I employed 2 MBAs.

I always try to employ people who is better than me.

But if going for an interview better play dumb, pretend to be a yes man and get the job. 

To find someone who says I want to employ someone better than me.

I only know 2 in SG.

Me and my ex boss.

The purpose of an interview is not to show how smart people are 

Its just to get the job.

We all see how people drive on the road.

Insecure idiots.

Yes they work in offices too.

Some will be our colleagues. 

Edited by Jamesc

On 11/13/2025 at 9:00 PM, Jamesc said:

The purpose of an interview is not to show how smart people are 

Its just to get the job.

Exactly...if can't even secure a job how to secure a deal...😁