Major servicing for Toyota Wish - Need Advise

Jupitery

I am doing 80k major servicing for Toyota Wish (bought from PI). Not going back to the PI workshop as there is no more warranty.

My understanding is that major servicing will change the following :

1) Engine Oil and oil filter

2) Spark plug

3) Brake oil

4) ATF oil

5) Coolant

As the workshop usually use a different brand from my preference and also the charge more if use their own.

Thus, I intend to buy the above and only pay labour for the mechanic to change. But I have the following queries

for 1 and 2 are quite standard and i have no question on that

for 3, i heard there is different grade of oil. Dot 3, Dot 4, etc. Which one should i use for Toyota Wish?

For 4 n 5, is there any thing i should look out for. eg. brand and grade of material?

Is there anything i missed out on the major servicing?

Thanks for your kind advise!

I am doing 80k major servicing for Toyota Wish (bought from PI). Not going back to the PI workshop as there is no more warranty.

2) Spark plug

3) Brake oil

4) ATF oil

5) Coolant

As the workshop usually use a different brand from my preference and also the charge more if use their own.

Thus, I intend to buy the above and only pay labour for the mechanic to change. But I have the following queries

for 3, i heard there is different grade of oil. Dot 3, Dot 4, etc. Which one should i use for Toyota Wish?

For 4 n 5, is there any thing i should look out for. eg. brand and grade of material?

all the info should be available in your car manual right??... [sweatdrop]

I am not too sure which workshop u patronize. IMHO, u should bring it to a workshop that is familiar with Toyotas. For eg. Ricardo Motors. I service my car every 5K Kms and this in between servicing can be carried out by virtually any workshops. For major ones, please go to a good one. It looks like u wanna save $$ by sepculating what to change and what to use.....

2) Spark plug

3) Brake oil

4) ATF oil

5) Coolant

Edited by Achtung

all the info should be available in your car manual right??... [sweatdrop]

Ya. Lost my manual liao

I am not too sure which workshop u patronize. IMHO, u should bring it to a workshop that is familiar with Toyotas. For eg. Ricardo Motors. I service my car every 5K Kms and this in between servicing can be carried out by virtually any workshops. For major ones, please go to a good one. It looks like u wanna save $$ by sepculating what to change and what to use.....

Yup. In a sense, trying to save some money.

For some, they let the workshop handle for all and just pay. If suay, go to the wrong workshop, will end up chop carrot head.

For some (like me), i wanted to be more involve and also in the process save some money. I hope my msg would also give other members more insights on car servicing.

:-)

yes. Toyota Wish is running on Chain belt, thus need not change timing belt.

But the air-con belt(or also call fan belt) need to be changed. which i had changed during my last servicing. (u can see that the rubber of the belt a bit dried up and corroded liao)

Use Dot 4 should be fine for the stock WISH brakes.

ATF use OEM mineral as stated by Toyota manual is sufficient,unless u want to drag the ATF oil longer,u might want to try synthethic.

For coolant can use Toyota longlife coolant.

You can go to

Huat Lee Motor

BLK 1063 EUNOS AVE 4 #01-203

Singapore 409797

Phone : 67475823, 67476477

Mobile : 98307738

This workshop specialise in toyota cars and the

workshop owner himself also driving a Toyota wish.

I believe he can advise you accordingly. Their price

is very cheap.

Edited by Mahjong74

You can go to

Huat Lee Motor

BLK 1063 EUNOS AVE 4 #01-203

Singapore 409797

Phone : 67475823, 67476477

Mobile : 98307738

This workshop specialise in toyota cars and the

workshop owner himself also driving a Toyota wish.

I believe he can advise you accordingly. Their price

is very cheap.

i beg to differ...

go to

Riverview Auto

10 Ang Mo Kio Autopoint #04-07/16

Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A Singapore 568047

Tel: 64812025 or 64815797

Look for vincent. He will advise you accordingly.. i am a very satisfied customer of his... visited huat lee before, but really nothing much to shout about [sleeping]

i beg to differ...

go to

Riverview Auto

10 Ang Mo Kio Autopoint #04-07/16

Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2A Singapore 568047

Tel: 64812025 or 64815797

Look for vincent. He will advise you accordingly.. i am a very satisfied customer of his... visited huat lee before, but really nothing much to shout about [sleeping]

Thanks all for your response.

For mine, brake pads and belt already change sometime ago liao.

btw. the workshops mentioned here accept servicing with own supplied parts (i.e. pay for labour only)?

some of the ppl here dun have the correct info............anyhow post. better double check what you read.

I suppose this applies to those who comment based on "hearsay" too. [lipsrsealed]

thanks for your comments.....anyone know any worrkshop which accept bring own material?