Need Advice on Self Storage

Yaoxing

My room is overcrowded and I'm moving to a new workplace soon. Looking for some storage space roughly the size of 1.5m x 2.5m area to store some of my stuff on a long term basis (at least two years). Does anyone have any experience to share?

Currently on my list of consideration (not in order of merit) are:

Lock and Store http://www.lockandstore.com.sg/ (Chai Chee, Tanjong Pagar)

Big Orange http://www.bigorange.com.sg/ (Hougang, Bukit Batok, Woodlands)

StorHub http://www.storhub.com.sg/ (Kallang, Toa Payoh, Changi South)

Store-It http://www.store-it.com.sg/ (Pasir Panjang)

ExtraSpace http://www.extraspace.com.sg/ (Boon Keng, IMM, West Coast, Eunos Link)

SingPost S3http://www.singpost.com.sg/S3/index.html (Ayer Rajah)

Out of my list:

The Space Seller http://www.storages.com.sg/ (Dhoby Ghaut, Penjuru) -> Due to location.

My room is overcrowded and I'm moving to a new workplace soon. Looking for some storage space roughly the size of 1.5m x 2.5m area to store some of my stuff on a long term basis (at least two years). Does anyone have any experience to share?

Currently on my list of consideration (not in order of merit) are:

Lock and Store http://www.lockandstore.com.sg/ (Chai Chee, Tanjong Pagar)

Big Orange http://www.bigorange.com.sg/ (Hougang, Bukit Batok, Woodlands)

StorHub http://www.storhub.com.sg/ (Kallang, Toa Payoh, Changi South)

Store-It http://www.store-it.com.sg/ (Pasir Panjang)

ExtraSpace http://www.extraspace.com.sg/ (Boon Keng, IMM, West Coast, Eunos Link)

SingPost S3http://www.singpost.com.sg/S3/index.html (Ayer Rajah)

Out of my list:

The Space Seller http://www.storages.com.sg/ (Dhoby Ghaut, Penjuru) -> Due to location.

some tips to consider, as you plan to store for years.

1) Access to determine if e storage place is clean. make sure proper wrapping.

Some ware hse , u get alot of rat shits/urine, look for e tale sign eg..the s--t ,look the same like lizard expet it is jambo side..

2) do a econ calculation. eg the totoal storage cost at t he end of the day vs the captical cost. if possible to a open hse sale and clear as much as possible.

3) the 1.5 x 2.5 easly cost 303-400 exl transport. end of he day, if u can do a proper packing ..eg carton pack, u will save up a lot lot of place.

hope that help..

How much are the charges btw?

Taking reference from www.storages.com.sg, a 1.5m x 2.4m storage costs about $149 per month.

bigOrange provides 1free trip of huge van/driver as a service for move-in client.

u hv to get ur frens, or engage movers to do e loading/ unloading.

if u hv alot of barang2, then 2nd trip is chargeable around $3O-5O,

depends how far is ur location to their facility.

almost same rate they charge for move-out clients as well, seems as a service. [thumbsup]

Taking reference from www.storages.com.sg, a 1.5m x 2.4m storage costs about $149 per month.

give me half that amount i let you put in my house sia. confirm no rat no cockroach no urine smell. only got humans.

i can share my own experience.

i used to rent a storage in Clementi Ave 6. i cant remember the name of the company but its one of those that u listed down.

i was in the midst of moving homes so i stored my house stuff while waiting for new place to be ready. Rented for 4 months.

1.5 x 3m room, i think its abt $200 per month. Non-air con. that time, they got some promotion where rent for 2 months, get one month free. something like that.

i think the experience was good. place is very secure, clean. i can go and access the place anytime i want. 24 hours

u bring your own lock or buy from them.... got alarm systems and CCTV 24 hours. A 10-digit PIN was given to me to get access.

This 10- digit PIN is only for your own unit. so even if someone can get access to the general area. he cannot pry open yr unit door, or else your unit alarm will go off and alerted you and the storage office staff.

then after u are done with whatever u want to do in your unit, you need to re-key the PIN before going out of the general area, so that your unit room alarm is re-armed again.

the only thing is that are your stuff prone to humid air? the non air con area can be quite warm inside, coz all windows are closed. but they use ceiling fans 24 hours. so mold may grow on some of yr stuff if they are sensitive.

all my stuff are fine. no mold or fungus.

1.5 x 3m room, i think its abt $200 per month. Non-air con. that time, they got some promotion where rent for 2 months, get one month free. something like that.

wah ... if a few others join in, maybe can rent a flat or room instead - cud be cheaper or got more space even.

only downside(s), not 24 hours access and you got have mutual trust.

best is beside loading bay direct use the lift to level 2 or level 5...epoxy flooring etc.

too bored can view behind the forrested area ..keke

come with ladder and trolley provided by the store, and the customer service will lend a hand to help out usually...very helpful and friendly people..keke

Is there a flat path from carpark to the storage area? i.e. can push trolley all the way from my car to the storage area?

level 2 where their office is dun have slope for trolley ,more to lorries and containers but for level 1,lift is directed to level 2 and to their office and warehouse

peak timing for use of lifts is 8-10+ am and 2-3+ pm

free parking also...no need to scare no place to park...is too much space till u dun noe where u wan to park..LOL

for the Clementi one, yes, the loading bays are very easy to use... all just in front of the lifts. even for normal cars, there are slopes for u to use.

In fact, before u actually signed up, the office staff will bring u ard the entire place and explain how to load and unload yr stuff.

so it will be very clear to you.

by right, every storage place shld have easy access. its just common sense for them to offer this.

im using Big Orange....accessible..not bad...no aircon thou..mine is at woodlands...i think im using the 1.5 by 1.5 if not wrong..abt 115 per month

Do the following:

1) buy a super lop coe lowlee with cage [pirate]

2) pile your stuff inside and lock it

3) park super lop coe lowlee inside a open air erp activated parking area or the open air carpark outside sungei gedong camp [scholar]

4) park there song song for 10 years [smash]

5) when you need to retrieve your stuff, get the super lop cor lowlee to chut off road [pirate] (remember to pang hong [laugh] )

haha.... good idea.. but higher initial cost leh... super lop COE lowlee also not cheap to begin with. [sweatdrop]

Thanks to Dodol, Donut and Freestylers09 for the descriptions. I have a better idea now.