100 motorists tyre puntures on NSE - Bolehland!

100 motorists suffer tyre punctures on NSE

BOLEHLAND - anything pun boleh!!!

Fri, Jul 03, 2009

The Star/Asia News Network

MALAYSIA - NAILS scattered along the Tapah-Ipoh stretch of the North-South Expressway caused tyre punctures for more than 100 motorists, including a deputy minister, on Wednesday.

The nails are believed to have fallen off a lorry during transport.

Nanyang Siang Pau said some car owners had to replace two or three punctured tyres in the 7pm incident.

"These drivers only had one spare tyre so most of them had to repair their tyres or replace them with new ones at workshops in Gopeng, Simpang Pulai and Ipoh," it said.

The daily reported that Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Lee Chee Leong, who was on his way from Kuala Lumpur to attend an MCA function in Ipoh, was one of the victims.

Workers from PLUS Expressways Bhd have since cleaned up the stretch and removed the remaining nails.

2009/07/02

Robbers slash cop, 2 others -

Email to friend Print article

PETALING JAYA: Three people, including an off-duty policeman, were seriously injured when an attempted robbery went awry at Sunway Mentari flats here on Wednesday night.

They were stabbed and slashed by four robbers armed with parang in the 11.30pm incident.

The episode began when three of the robbers confronted a man and his wife as they were walking towards their car.

One of the robbers slashed the man but the woman's screams alerted several people who rushed to the couple's aid.

The crowd managed to catch one of the robbers but the other two escaped.

Just then, constable Omar Osman, 22, who was driving home from the Klang police headquarters, happened to be on the scene and stopped to investigate.

When the crowd explained what had happened, Omar took the robber into custody.

At this point, the two robbers who had escaped returned with another accomplice and attacked Omar in a bid to rescue their friend.

Apart from Omar, another person was also slashed.

The robbers fled in a car.

The three injured were sent to hospital, where their conditions are described to be serious but stable.

District police chef Assistant Commissioner Arjunaidi Mohamad appealed to the public to assist in investigations.

alamak we not much better leh....u ever travel behind trucks with leaking cargo? wet sand etc? terrible....ok sorry bit off topic

Normally MY polis style when coming under attack from robbers and criminals is to shoot them dead on site. Wonder how come this constable didn't return fire. Maybe left his S&W at station or no time to grab from his car.

wow if i were a policeman in johor, i would also shoot on sight. I will worry not enough bullets to shoot all the robbers dead.

Edited by Zyrofillica

It is an accident lah and it can happen in any country.

With so many 100 vehicles involved along this major expressway, I am surprised it didn't result in any further incidence due to multiple punctured tyres at high speed.

Seems quite shallow and narrow-minded, for anyone to imply that such things won't or don't happen in Singapore.

Well, news that made it to the prints will definitely be "nice to read" and "exciting" isn't it? [rolleyes]

Seems quite shallow and narrow-minded, for anyone to imply that such things won't or don't happen in Singapore.

Well, news that made it to the prints will definitely be "nice to read" and "exciting" isn't it? [rolleyes]

well, we may see copycats, be it here or up north

we already have lao pok cars driven by workshop stooges, prowling the expressways to prey on unsuspecting motorists by jamming brake on them. beware.

don't be complacent, especially where u spend most of your time. it only SEEMS safe [lipsrsealed]

Tires even if penetrated by nails or sharp objects wont't deflate immediately. So probably won't be much of an issue if it did happen on the CTE. Just like the incident on NSHW.

i tink it's all the doings of the tryes shops... bcos they are the nearest there and since they are the only tyres shop there so they use this strategy and increase their earnings by dun noe how many times...