Go Kuantan, Drink Beer, Kena Caning!

Nohnemwan

If you are quite tanned and don't look Chinese, this could happen to you!

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNew...ory_325892.html

6 strokes for drinking

KUALA LUMPUR - A RELIGIOUS court has sentenced a Muslim woman to six strokes of the cane for drinking alcohol, possibly for the first time in Malaysia.

The Syariah High Court in Pahang also handed the same sentence to a man on Monday, and is due to make a decision on another woman in May.

Mohamad Nasir Mohamad, 38, a father of four, and waitress Noorazah Baharuddin, 22, were found drinking beer separately in pubs in July last year in central Pahang state, said reports released yesterday.

Nasir admitted that he had drunk beer at a pub in Cherating on July 11, while Noorazah was caught drinking at the pub where she worked, in Jalan Gambut.

Both were also fined RM5,000 (S$2,100) each by the Pahang court on Monday.

The third accused was part-time model Kartika Sari Dewi Shukarno, 32. According to the New Straits Times, Kartika, a Singapore permanent resident, could not attend court as she is studying in Singapore.

Judge Abdul Rahman Yunus said that he had given the maximum fine and caning as a deterrent to other Muslims, but had spared them a jail sentence.

'The caning is to shame them and should be done at any of the prisons in the country,' he was quoted as saying by NST.

The case comes after two controversial fatwas, or edicts - one over tomboyish behaviour by women and the other concerning the practice of yoga - sparked intense public debate over decisions made by the country's top religious body.

Malaysia has a two-track legal system, with the civil courts operating alongside state-based syariah courts. Muslims are governed by syariah laws in family and personal matters, while ethnic Chinese, Indians and other races come under civil courts.

According to NST, this is the second time such a sentence has been handed down. In 2005, the same judge sentenced two Muslim brothers to six strokes of the cane after they were caught drinking.

However, the caning has yet to be carried out as the men are appealing against the decision.

Alcohol is widely available in Malaysia, and Muslims are rarely punished for consuming it.

'It's rare but it's within the law and Muslims are subject to such law in this country,' said lawyer Pawancheek Merican, a syariah law committee member of the Malaysian Bar Council.

MP Salahuddin Ayub, the youth chief of the opposition Islamic party PAS, said he 'agreed' with the court ruling.

'The ruling only concerns Muslims and it does not affect the non-Muslims. It is to remind the Muslims not to drink,' he said.

AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE

Wah lao eh. How can they rottan a woman? A small fine will do lah.

Not very forgiving are they? [thumbsdown]

No need to be Malaysian, if you are Singaporean / foreigner WOMAN, also can kena rotan!

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...721-156058.html

Singaporean model gets rotan for having a beer

The 32-year-old part-time model was charged with having a beer in a nightclub. -NST

Tue, Jul 21, 2009

The New Straits Times

KUANTAN, MALAYSIA - A 32-year-old part-time model from Singapore charged with having a beer in a nightclub last year was ordered by the Syariah High Court yesterday to receive six strokes of the rotan.

Kartika Sari Sewi Shu-karno, who pleaded guilty to consuming alcohol in public when she made her first court appearance in December, was also fined RM5,000 (S$2038.50).

The model, who wore a blue baju kurung and black headscarf, kept her head down and was silent as judge Datuk Abdul Rahman Yunus read out the sentence. He said the accused could face a three-year jail term if she could not pay the fine while the rotan would be carried out by federal prison authorities.

He said the sentence was under Section 136 of the Pahang Islamic and Malay Traditional Practices Enactment 1982 (amendment 1987).

"The court reached the judgment after the accused pleaded guilty. We feel the sentence is fair after going through the prosecution's argument and since the rotan is provided for in the law.

"The rotan is aimed at making the accused repent and serves as a lesson to Muslims."

Kartika committed the offence at a hotel night club in Cherating and was arrested during a raid by a team from the state religious department at 1.20am on July 12, 2007.

Her lawyer Mohd Zuki Che Muhamad Ghani said he would file an application for a stay of execution pending an appeal.

This is the second time the Syariah Court here has imposed whipping on a female. The first was on a waitress and a man who were caught together with Kartika during the same operation in Cherating.

The 38-year-old from Kemaman, Terengganu, and the 22-year-old waitress from Selangor were also fined RM5,000 each and ordered to receive six strokes of the rotan.

However, the whipping has yet to be carried out in these cases which are pending appeal.

The sentence for consuming alcohol was made stiffer when the Islamic Religious Administration and Pahang Malay Tradition Enactment 1982 was amended in 1987.

Under Section 136 of the enactment, those who are found guilty can be fined up to RM5,000 or jailed a maximum of three years, or both, and sentenced to six strokes of the rotan.

eh TS, wrong folder lah... this should be in Lite & EZ

Then move lor.

This is for all the brudders who want to do a road trip and have a cold beer. Nothing Lite & Ez about kena caning ley.....

Then move lor.

This is for all the brudders who want to do a road trip and have a cold beer. Nothing Lite & Ez about kena caning ley.....

sure.. just telling you only. As you pls

Bro pieces69..... better take note...... since you like going to Kuantan & can be mistaken for being a muslim. [:p]

For the way i see, whereever you are, when you are in their country, one must respect their law and regulations. S'porean is no excuse.

No need to be Malaysian, if you are Singaporean / foreigner WOMAN, also can kena rotan!

Wrong. If you are non-Muslim Singaporean / foreigner WOMAN, you won't kena the rotan for drinking beer.

They have their law there. Respect their law as you would expect foreigners to respect our law.

For the way i see, whereever you are, when you are in their country, one must respect their law and regulations. S'porean is no excuse.

Ya, the saying goes

"When in Rome do what the Roman do."

[whip]

jolly shandy is most definitely counted. I think the alcohol percentage does not must a diff. So long as there's alcohol, it should be against the Muslim law. Then again, shouldn't a Muslim country ban intoxicants? Or rather, make measures that these luxuries are not to be sold to Muslims?

I remember reading about this quite a while ago. I was also appalled by this but I read that this type of syariah law caning is done quite lightly and also over clothing, unlike judicial punishments which are bare bottomed and draw blood with every stroke.

So I guess thats y it also applies to women.

Sad, but what to do? Their beliefs, their laws.

Wrong. If you are non-Muslim Singaporean / foreigner WOMAN, you won't kena the rotan for drinking beer.

They have their law there. Respect their law as you would expect foreigners to respect our law.

Look at this report:

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNew...ory_405955.html

So why does the ST say here:

A RELIGIOUS court in Malaysia has sentenced a tearful Singaporean Muslim model to six strokes of the cane after she drank beer in a nightclub, reports said on Tuesday.

It does suggest that if you are Muslim, regardless whether Malaysian or not (therefore foreigners included), you will kena rotan if caught drinking alcohol....

How to prove that a foreigner is Muslim or not? Is it stated on your passport? Is there a worldwide register? Or is it up to them to say that just because you got Malay name = you are Muslim? What about Muslims with name like Herman, Jeffrey etc? If she can drink beer, why not just say, no, I not Muslim, so what? Unless she so blur as to wear traditional Malay dress inside the pub, how to confirm that she really is Muslim?

there is thing called an identity card.... if she didnt bring IC, then too bad for her. Otherwise, you can call up the M'sian High Commision and ask them

If not, send in to Stomp loh... given their non-discerning way of posting topics, i believe they would glady post it for you.

if you're not happy... don't go m'sia... if u wanna go, then obey their law lah.

She is already lucky just kenna rottan. Try doing that in Saudi Arabia and she will be flogged or even stoned... and mind you, Saudi doesn't care if you're muslim or not. If you're caught consuming alcohol, that's it. In certain provinces in Indo, Syariah law and not civil law prevails... caught stealing and they will chop off your hands.

There was a case of an ang moh man caught eating chocs containing alcohol in Saudi... he also lan lan kenna flogged more than 50 times.

Edited by Altivo