Proton Wira Speedometer (Chronic problem)

Kianbeng

Hi all,

Does anyone knows how to dismantle the Wira Speedometer for repair? My brother's Wira's speedometer isn't working most of the time and the odometer (mileage) is confirmed not working. Even if that day the speedometer is working, the odometer doesn't increase already.

The mechnics suggested replacing the whole speedometer S$300? But i did a quick check online and saw alot of ppl complaining about the same thing. Speedometer sometimes not working but odometer dead. But someone managed to take it apart and reassembled it and it worked. So I guess this could be because some of the parts inside is loose or fell out of place.

I think I might be able to help him find a cheaper speedometer in JB but I worry this is a chronic problem and keeps coming back. Maybe all the used spare parts shops need to do is reassemble them and resell it again. [sweatdrop]

I've also done a quick check in MCF but couldn't managed to search for anything.

Appreciate some advise. Thanks.

Hi all,

Does anyone knows how to dismantle the Wira Speedometer for repair? My brother's Wira's speedometer isn't working most of the time and the odometer (mileage) is confirmed not working. Even if that day the speedometer is working, the odometer doesn't increase already.

The mechnics suggested replacing the whole speedometer S$300? But i did a quick check online and saw alot of ppl complaining about the same thing. Speedometer sometimes not working but odometer dead. But someone managed to take it apart and reassembled it and it worked. So I guess this could be because some of the parts inside is loose or fell out of place.

I think I might be able to help him find a cheaper speedometer in JB but I worry this is a chronic problem and keeps coming back. Maybe all the used spare parts shops need to do is reassemble them and resell it again. [sweatdrop]

I've also done a quick check in MCF but couldn't managed to search for anything.

Appreciate some advise. Thanks.

Go to Proton service ctri in Larkin,JB.

I got mine replaced a year ago in Malaysia. S$300?! I got it done at around RM$100++, forgotten the actual cost but it's way cheaper and it's a new one. But those with green wordings and white backings might cost slightly more. I strong encourage you to go to Malaysia to get it replaced, since it is proton homeground...

Check the cable linkin the speedometer to the gear box first. Mostly I saw in JB alot of wira changing that when speedometer not working.

go msia do

Forgot to add that my bro's wira is not in sg or msia. Thats why I so cham. The local mechanics there...cannot make it one lah. Skills bad + plenty of cheong parts. Original parts are about 2 times the price in JB. So sometimes I'll help him buy the parts and he'll bring over on his next trip.

If it's a sg or msia car....very fast gao tim already. JB mechanics so familiar with Proton Wira right....

Go to Proton service ctri in Larkin,JB.

Sorry did not mention earlier that it's not a SG or Msian registered car....overseas leh....paiseh

I got mine replaced a year ago in Malaysia. S$300?! I got it done at around RM$100++, forgotten the actual cost but it's way cheaper and it's a new one. But those with green wordings and white backings might cost slightly more. I strong encourage you to go to Malaysia to get it replaced, since it is proton homeground...

Thanks for info. Actually I want to check with a JB mechanic too. For RM100+, is that the complete speedometer (with fuel gauge, temp, RPM) ? Or just part of it?

Actually to be very honest....the S$300+ I mentioned earlier was the overseas price but I convert to SGD hehee....thought I could cut short the story. sorry....

But generally for past few years I've been buying some parts from JB and send over to him. His mechanics there...cannot make it. Throttle body spoilt he suspect but as he got no stock and very expensive to import in S$1000+ equiv, he told my brother he will change the cheaper parts and see if it help. Then he changed the ignition coil + wires (don't know what brand), end up the car was worse than when it was using the old original coils. So change back. Finally we solve the problem when I went to JB to buy the throttle body for RM560. He paid S$30 equiv to install it.

His car also got oil seal / gasket leak, so most likely I'll also buy the whole set here let him bring back.....

Check the cable linkin the speedometer to the gear box first. Mostly I saw in JB alot of wira changing that when speedometer not working.

Yes. I asked him to confirm that with the mechanic first coz last time I also had a problem with the cable on my other car (Merc). He'll check. But strange thing is...today when I drove his car (actually I just reach sg now), the speed meter was working! so it's really intermitten and I thought maybe it's not the cable problem? But even when speedmeter was working, the trip meter was not incrementing.

But anyhow, if it's that cheap in msia, maybe it's ok to change both the speedometer set + cable?

i think check the vss first

What is VSS? I did a google but couldn't find any Proton related VSS......?

Edited by Kianbeng

Yes. I asked him to confirm that with the mechanic first coz last time I also had a problem with the cable on my other car (Merc). He'll check. But strange thing is...today when I drove his car (actually I just reach sg now), the speed meter was working! so it's really intermitten and I thought maybe it's not the cable problem? But even when speedmeter was working, the trip meter was not incrementing.

But anyhow, if it's that cheap in msia, maybe it's ok to change both the speedometer set + cable?

trip meter not working you should be happy mah

speedometer repair of photographs (only proton wira 97-00)

it places the screws..Another place where the tape can not be disassembled without removing the console before

http://img808.imageshack.us/img808/4064/p1000416.jpg

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/3334/p1000417p.jpg

http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/8391/p1000418v.jpg

http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/5372/p1000419v.jpg

http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/9166/p1000420g.jpg

http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/2253/p1000421gm.jpg

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/3918/p1000422b.jpg

http://img688.imageshack.us/img688/5559/p1000423i.jpg

http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/6328/p1000424w.jpg

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/5070/p1000425y.jpg

http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/8523/p1000426i.jpg

http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/2348/p1000427o.jpg

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/8403/p1000428e.jpg

http://img807.imageshack.us/img807/9539/p1000429g.jpg

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/6373/p1000430i.jpg

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/5658/p1000431ar.jpg

http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/1443/p1000432r.jpg

http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/1238/p1000433d.jpg

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/7263/p1000441vh.jpg

http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/7064/p1000442g.jpg

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/4225/p1000443f.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://ressim.net/s/upload/c3699bb2.jpg

http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/1851/p1000452p.jpg

Edited by Nicomedia

Can try Proton Larkin at jln Langkasuka..The popular bus terminal got traffic junction where u face the flat turn right then another junction turn left all the way straight then after 1km keep right and u can see service Ctr ardy.Left side is spare part sold individually