2D1N Road trip to Desaru and/or Kota Tinggi waterfalls

Pisces69

Hi all.

OK seems like the Kuantan trip has to b KIV so we now planning a short 2D1n trip to Desaru and/or KT waterfalls.

KT hotels quite cheap & can stay there 1 night to chill out. Seems like a nice short drive up but thinking of going the weekend b4 or after the Nat day holiday to avoid the crowds & massive jams.

Anybody interested & want to go. Or maybe suggest different dates?

We can go on fri early & back sat evening or maybe weekdays sud b much better.

Main intention is to chill & enjoy a nice drive with cheap & good food.

hey i dun mind KT water fall... i slow driver cruise can go at cap 130 less.... 110-120... avg? small car leh...

and my car v low.... paiseh.. nv been there before thus the road is road or hard pack? ...

desaru i went before... i wanna go KT waterfall... will mind i tag along..? dun know the way... but got GPS

can let me know the where to stay and where to go about? info?

thanks

dun forget makan at sungei renggit..........

================

I think Sg Renggit is a bit out of the way leh?

I used to go there via Penggerang by ferry last time as Renggit is a fishing village & we took the trawlers out from there for our fishing trips.

Last time was more quiet & cheaper but now it seems getting too popular. I think Ill give it a miss cos I feel we can get better & cheaper at the less "popular" places at Kota Tinggi & around Desaru area.

Also to drive there seems like a big round. Go by ferry from Changi & take a taxi wil b much faster & easier.

Hello...Hello. Manage to fix yr computer liao har ? [wave][wave][wave]

Desaru go 5/6 times liao but i still drive there at least once a year. Not sianz of the place at all. Its god-damn boring staying in spore tho. [laugh]

But i will plan a 5-6 days trip to KL/Genting in oct/nov. Before my ah girl starts her P1 next year.

Edited by Hiphiphoray

================

I used to go there via Penggerang by ferry last time as Renggit is a fishing village & we took the trawlers out from there for our fishing trips.

Last time was more quiet & cheaper but now it seems getting too popular. I think Ill give it a miss cos I feel we can get better & cheaper at the less "popular" places at Kota Tinggi & around Desaru area.

Also to drive there seems like a big round. Go by ferry from Changi & take a taxi wil b much faster & easier.

i tot rengit town is in desaru?... butter lobster?

not very far off mah....

hey i dun mind KT water fall... i slow driver cruise can go at cap 130 less.... 110-120... avg? small car leh...

and my car v low.... paiseh.. nv been there before thus the road is road or hard pack? ...

desaru i went before... i wanna go KT waterfall... will mind i tag along..? dun know the way... but got GPS

can let me know the where to stay and where to go about? info?

thanks

==================

OK so KT also can. [nod]

I think the speed limit of the old hway is abt 90kmh only so we sud b maybe slightly higher only. I want to enjoy the drive, not stress myself out & reach destination all tensed up. :wacko:

BTW its a proper road all the way. The WFalls is quite developed now & can see many tour buses there on weekends. Several hotels cater to tourists as what my fren who often went there told me.

Really a big change when I went there last abt >40 years ago. That time only a small shack selling drinks & very few pple around.

I found the waterfall on my GPS & the town is maybe 20 mins away only. I hear got nice hotels at the WFalls now but I dunno if going to b fully booked or expensive. Thats why I suggest we go "off peak".

Worse come to worse we book hotel at the town (sud b cheaper?) & enjoy the WFalls till after dinner then return to our hotels to sleep. Even the town got several makan places we can try.

2D1N sud b more than enough. If get bored, we can explore other places. Thats why I put in Desaru in case KT is too boring for 2D1N.

================

yes ferry about 45mins..... about 20mins drive from desaru...... just a suggestion [:)]

i tot rengit town is in desaru?... butter lobster?

not very far off mah....

============

Sg Renggit is actually very near Changi. Clear customs at penggerang if take ferry fm Changi.

To drive there means a huge detour all the way up then come down again. There is a big river(cant remember the name) which ty supposed to build a bridge to cut across but till now the bridge never build although most maps show the bridge is there. Hahaha.

Thats why we never drive last time we go fishing there. Much easier to take ferry fm Changi Point & then a taxi fm Penggereng to Renggit (Bend No.4)

Maybe the food is good but I found it "decent" & cheap long ago. Now with so many Sporeans going, I guess its going to b like Kukup. [sweatdrop]

Hello...Hello. Manage to fix yr computer liao har ?

Desaru go 5/6 times liao but i still drive there at least once a year. Not sianz of the place at all. Its god-damn boring staying in spore tho. [laugh]

But i will plan a 5-6 days trip to KL/Genting in oct/nov. Before my ah girl starts her P1 next year.

===============

Actually got a new computer but cud not find the CD to load the prog for my wireless. End up I get the thumb drive wireless so can use now. Hahaha.

Ya agree abt SG boring. I can fall asleep [sleeping] just thinking of it.

U want to come along to KT? Can b our "lead car" [sly]

Maybe u sud try Kota Tinggi. Just for a change & b4 so many Sporeans go there & spoil the place, like Desaru. My fren regular there & he gave me the idea. Hotel he pay abt S$40 per room & can squeeze as many pple as possible if u not fussy. [grin]

Careful abt going MY during the monsoon (end oct start) The roads get flooded out very easily.

Edited by Pisces69

Ya thanks for the idea.

U drive there b4? How long it take & how is the road conditions?

Renggit very small town. Nothing to see or do. Drive all the way there [drivingcar] just to eat a meal & then drive all the way back seems like a waste leh? [confused]

last time i went with ford club with alfas... they rain oso hit 170kmh... on those small roads... 1 hr out reach liao...

but strongly not advisable.

i rather go slower relax... rengit town food getting more exp liao.

desaru ... can go beach go camping... hahahah

that is with a big crowd..

.or chalet... where i know a lot of star gazing club went... ac Rm , hotwater, toilet, tv ...

last time i went with ford club with alfas... they rain oso hit 170kmh... on those small roads... 1 hr out reach liao...

but strongly not advisable.

i rather go slower relax... rengit town food getting more exp liao.

desaru ... can go beach go camping... hahahah

that is with a big crowd..

.or chalet... where i know a lot of star gazing club went... ac Rm , hotwater, toilet, tv ...

=====================

170kmh on good stretch of NSH or our SG eway I can consider but not on those old roads where got goats & cows crossing the road one. By the time u see them, they r already in your face. [dead][angel]

Ya good suggestions. KT then maybe 1/2 day in Desaru or the other way around but I kind of like the idea of hanging around the waterfalls having makan & realxing. Maybe a couple of beers b4 going to sleep. Seems very relaxing. -_-

Desaru I been b4 & its already very commercialised. But staying at beach chalet also quite relaxing. If we can arrange a BBQ by the beach, even better. [idea]

Ya thanks for the idea.

U drive there b4? How long it take & how is the road conditions?

Renggit very small town. Nothing to see or do. Drive all the way there [drivingcar] just to eat a meal & then drive all the way back seems like a waste leh? [confused]

i went there 2 weeks ago after taking my wedding pics at desaru, i drove there about 1/2hr from desaru..... coming back took me 2 1/2hrs from renggit to pass SG customs but is night time.... so if from JB should be about 1 1/2hrs to 2hrs.

and going there nothing much to do except to eat.... so maybe you all can go desaru or kota tinggi then pass by there for makan....

Going desaru is ok... but from desaru to renggit i think quite bad... there are quite a few potholes...... and if your rims are those cheapo type i think if suay suay you hit the pothole.. the rim gonna crack.... as a guide i would say, if there is no cars in opp direction... keep nearer to the centre and you should be safe...

============

Sg Renggit is actually very near Changi. Clear customs at penggerang if take ferry fm Changi.

Gosh, miss the good old days when Sg cars took ferry to 'insert' Desaru..

Btw, anyone has the GPS coordinates for the restaurant with Butter baby lobsters @ Renggit?

Upz for this thread. [thumbsup]

Kota Tinggi town got firefly tour at 7pm.

Let me do some searching for lodgings....... maybe will only do a day trip to waterfalls, followed by firefly boat trip at night. Head back at about 10pm.

This sounds about good. My daughter has been bugging me to return to the river. She likes to swim in it. I'll be tracking this thread.

i went there 2 weeks ago after taking my wedding pics at desaru, i drove there about 1/2hr from desaru..... coming back took me 2 1/2hrs from renggit to pass SG customs but is night time.... so if from JB should be about 1 1/2hrs to 2hrs.

and going there nothing much to do except to eat.... so maybe you all can go desaru or kota tinggi then pass by there for makan....

Going desaru is ok... but from desaru to renggit i think quite bad... there are quite a few potholes...... and if your rims are those cheapo type i think if suay suay you hit the pothole.. the rim gonna crack.... as a guide i would say, if there is no cars in opp direction... keep nearer to the centre and you should be safe...

===========

Wah CONGRATULATIONS!!! Just got married. So go Renggit to eat butter lobster to get energy to do gymnastics when reach home. Hahaha. [laugh]

Like I mentioned earlier the drive there is long. Abt 2.5 hrs. Phew [dizzy] just to eat butter lobster. But I dont need so much "energy" to do gymnastics leh. [sly]

I wud prefer to eat at KT cos there also got lots of nice food & drinks, plus wil b just a short drive to our hotel to rest. I just hope its not too ex by now.

Also its safer to drive along those roads in the day to see whats coming up ahead. Night drives have to b quite slow unless u like to take risks.