New off road track in Tuas

Picanto

Tuas track throws up kings off the road

THE going is rough. But these vehicles and drivers are not being punished at some remote track in Malaysia.

The course is in Tuas, right in our own backyard.

This is where the off-road kings emerge as man and metal are put to extreme challenges..

The same folks who run Circuit@Tuas, a road-racing circuit for bikers, have converted part of the area into Tuas Off-road Park, a 'playground' for 4x4 and sport-utility vehicle (SUV) owners to get down and dirty with their cars.

The off-road park comes complete with a log crossing, river crossing, sand pit, mud pools and other obstacles.

In total, the combined bike and 4x4 haven, located near the Second Link, comes up to 2.5 ha, or the size of four football fields.

The price: $40 per car, including a hosing down at the end to clean off the mud.

There is also a membership at $388, which gives unlimited access up to end of the year.

THE going is rough. But these vehicles and drivers are not being punished at some remote track in Malaysia.

This is where the off-road kings emerge as man and metal are put to extreme challenges..

The same folks who run Circuit@Tuas, a road-racing circuit for bikers, have converted part of the area into Tuas Off-road Park, a 'playground' for 4x4 and sport-utility vehicle (SUV) owners to get down and dirty with their cars.

The off-road park comes complete with a log crossing, river crossing, sand pit, mud pools and other obstacles.

In total, the combined bike and 4x4 haven, located near the Second Link, comes up to 2.5 ha, or the size of four football fields.

The price: $40 per car, including a hosing down at the end to clean off the mud.

There is also a membership at $388, which gives unlimited access up to end of the year.

membership got include recovery service in case vehicle got stuck?? [smash][laugh][laugh]

$40 leh........

various construction joints, saf training area: free [lipsrsealed]

those free areas do not have washing or recovery facilities [lipsrsealed]

come leh, we go together to get our car dirtied.

support the tuas track before it closes down. I know there are many free alternatives but if nobody wants to support the businesses then there will never be any proper facilities in singapore for these type of motorsports (be it road/offroad bike/car/bicycle/go kart etc) We will forever need to go to malaysia for such activities. And when the govt shuts down all our "free playgrounds" how sia? [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Zyrofillica

this type of track is for hardcore off road drivers only. its indeed a niche mkt. also dun know if it will close down soon due to lack of business.

Yeah support them, it is very rare that singapore has its very own off-road track. And it is just $40 for the entire day, how great would that be?

yes i went there. they include vehicle recovery and washing down of vehicles over there. with foods and drinks and a chill out area and they are constructing a fresh water pond for fishing which is free. they have tracks for 2WD friendly and 4WD friendly and they will also conduct courses to teach you about offroading and maintaining your make of vehicle. they have dune buggies and ATVs for rent too, which i think its much better than paying so much more going to Malaysia Club Med to play which cost a bomb only to drive in the beach. from what i think personally, its a great place and we should support this sports like how everyone support F1 grandprix. :ph34r:

dont be the next kiasu or kiasi singaporean, go try then you know! [thumbsup]

yes i went there. they include vehicle recovery and washing down of vehicles over there. with foods and drinks and a chill out area and they are constructing a fresh water pond for fishing which is free. they have tracks for 2WD friendly and 4WD friendly and they will also conduct courses to teach you about offroading and maintaining your make of vehicle. they have dune buggies and ATVs for rent too, which i think its much better than paying so much more going to Malaysia Club Med to play which cost a bomb only to drive in the beach. from what i think personally, its a great place and we should support this sports like how everyone support F1 grandprix. :ph34r:

Bro...where is the actual place located? Any address or postal code..so can home in on my GPS.. [drivingcar]

http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owners/Sto...727-157444.html

By Tay Shi'an

Growing community

Ups and downs | These drivers now have

the chance to drive their vehicles on rough

terrain without having to go all the way to

Malaysia. -TNP

Mr Eric Chia, director of E&P Event Management, which runs both areas, said that the SUV and off-roading community has been growing in Singapore.

And events like The New Paper's annual SUVival challenge - an Amazing Race-like road trip and off-road adventure to Malaysia - have become increasingly popular.

'But there is no place in Singapore to play. The hardcore off-roaders end up going to Malaysia every other weekend,' said Mr Chia, who himself makes the trip north at least once a month with his wife in their Land Rover.

'So we decided to make this into an off-road playground for those who have a need for dirt. Now we have a place to call our own.'

The circuit is supported by the Singapore Motor Sports Association.

The soft launch for Tuas Off-road Park was held last Saturday, with about 50 cars from various SUV forums and clubs showing up to test the course and give feedback.

Mr Chia has also installed generators and flood lights, so for the first time, both the bike circuit and 4x4 off-road park can be used at night.

Rescue equipment is also on-hand at all times, in case any cars get stuck on the course. Mr Chia also plans to hold monthly clinics, both theory and practical, on Off-roading 101 and beyond.

He said: 'With this park, we have the opportunity to conduct beginner courses to teach people who are new what they need to know.

'Then they can feel much more confident, andtest how capable their cars are in all kinds ofterrain.'

He said some beginners may be concerned about safety.

'But in off-roading, you go at most 10km to 15km per hour,' he said.

After trying out the course, there's a parking area too, for enthusiasts to chill out with their friends and family, picnic, and gaze at the stars.

Mr Chia said he's thinking of buying all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and dune buggies to rent out, but that is still under consideration.

Some $20,000 has already been spent to convert the course for the 4x4s.

'All the obstacles had to be built from scratch,' he said.

Taking a risk

He's taking a risk to do so - the lease for the land is only until 31 Dec, and is subject to renewal.

And he admits that it's doubtful the off-road park will make money.

But no matter for Mr Chia, an off-road and biking enthusiast who considers running E&P a 'hobby'. His main business is running an air-con company.

He said: 'It's for passion, not for profit. Someone has to try.'

Some members of the off-road community have also come out strongly to help out.

A group of 10 volunteers will take turns to man the course, acting as marshals and safety officers, for no charge.

One of them, who wanted to be known only by his off-road nickname Big Bear, will even be taking leave over the next two months to help out.

Said Big Bear, a 39-year-old businessman: 'We're hoping the lease will be extended. We'll lobby for it. But even if we're not successful, we hope to find a new place.

'Even if the location changes, the plan is still the same - we need a place like this in Singapore.'

WHAT: Tuas Off-road Park

WHERE: 5 Tuas West Drive (opposite Raffles Marina)

WHEN: Open 10am to midnight. Closed on Mondays

HOW MUCH: $40 per car, no time limit

Edited by Dunno

come leh, we go together to get our car dirtied.

when? [smash]

bring lam lam inside then lut her ? [sly]