Class 2B Riding Lessons & All Abt Motorcycles

Keen

Not Cruiser but Bruiser [sweatdrop]

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/mcn/bikereviews/searchresults/bike-reviews/yamaha/yamaha-vmax/

Yamaha+V-MAX+2009.jpg

http://moto-racing-news.blogspot.sg/2009/03/yamaha-vmax-2009.html

MCN overall verdict ratingstars_web8.gif

The V-Max is what happens when you mix 1679cc and nearly 200 horsepower in a motorcycle that's one part cruiser, one part sportbike - and all parts thrilling. It's difficult to explain just how quickly the V-Max builds speed. Cruise along at 30 mph in second gear, pick up the throttle and hold on tight... you'll be doing 90 mph before you say, "Holycrapthisthingisfast!". It's a thrill ride of epic proportions - the V-Max redefines the word torque. It produces the kind of acceleration that you feel in your chest. The kind you don't soon forget.... and it handles to boot. What's the catch? Well, there's 16,500 of them...

{C}

Engine MCN rating ratingstars_web10.gif Owners' rating ratingstars_user10.gif

The V-Max's brutal all-new 1679cc, 65-degree V4 produces a claimed 200hp (or 197.4bhp) at just 9000rpm. To put that into perspective, that's the same as a GP replica Ducati Desmosedici RR, but at 4000rpm less. To achieve this, the new V-Max borrows heavily from latest sportsbike technology, meaning that looks aside, it has little in common with its predecessor. Key features are the YCC-I adjustable intake funnels (which are a bit like a 21st century V-Boost); R6-style ‘fly-by-wire’ electronic throttle, a high 11.3:1 compression ratio and forged aluminium pistons.

Top speed 143 mph 1/4-mile acceleration 10.86 secs Max power 197 bhp Max torque 123 ft-lb Weight 310 kg Seat height 775 mm Fuel capacity 15 litres Average fuel consumption mpg Tank range miles Annual road tax Insurance group 15 of 17

Engine size 1679 cc Engine specification Liquid-cooled, 1679cc (90 x 66mm), dohc, four-valve V-four. Fuel-injection. Five gears, shaft drive Frame Aluminium diamond Front suspension adjustment preload, compression and rebound damping Rear suspension adjustment preload, compression and rebound damping Front brakes 2 x 320mm wavy front discs with radial six-piiston calipers Rear brake 298mm wavy rear disc with single piston caliper Front tyre size 120/70 x 18 Rear tyre size 200/50 x 18

PS : refer to article for full details. Lenghty.

Edited by Baal

This? The bike will control you, not you control the bike.

Not Cruiser but Bruiser [sweatdrop]

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/mcn/bikereviews/searchresults/bike-reviews/yamaha/yamaha-vmax/

Yamaha+V-MAX+2009.jpg

http://moto-racing-news.blogspot.sg/2009/03/yamaha-vmax-2009.html

MCN overall verdict ratingstars_web8.gif

The V-Max is what happens when you mix 1679cc and nearly 200 horsepower in a motorcycle that's one part cruiser, one part sportbike - and all parts thrilling. It's difficult to explain just how quickly the V-Max builds speed. Cruise along at 30 mph in second gear, pick up the throttle and hold on tight... you'll be doing 90 mph before you say, "Holycrapthisthingisfast!". It's a thrill ride of epic proportions - the V-Max redefines the word torque. It produces the kind of acceleration that you feel in your chest. The kind you don't soon forget.... and it handles to boot. What's the catch? Well, there's 16,500 of them...

{C}

Engine MCN rating ratingstars_web10.gif Owners' rating ratingstars_user10.gif

The V-Max's brutal all-new 1679cc, 65-degree V4 produces a claimed 200hp (or 197.4bhp) at just 9000rpm. To put that into perspective, that's the same as a GP replica Ducati Desmosedici RR, but at 4000rpm less. To achieve this, the new V-Max borrows heavily from latest sportsbike technology, meaning that looks aside, it has little in common with its predecessor. Key features are the YCC-I adjustable intake funnels (which are a bit like a 21st century V-Boost); R6-style ‘fly-by-wire’ electronic throttle, a high 11.3:1 compression ratio and forged aluminium pistons.

Top speed 143 mph 1/4-mile acceleration 10.86 secs Max power 197 bhp Max torque 123 ft-lb Weight 310 kg Seat height 775 mm Fuel capacity 15 litres Average fuel consumption mpg Tank range miles Annual road tax Insurance group 15 of 17

Engine size 1679 cc Engine specification Liquid-cooled, 1679cc (90 x 66mm), dohc, four-valve V-four. Fuel-injection. Five gears, shaft drive Frame Aluminium diamond Front suspension adjustment preload, compression and rebound damping Rear suspension adjustment preload, compression and rebound damping Front brakes 2 x 320mm wavy front discs with radial six-piiston calipers Rear brake 298mm wavy rear disc with single piston caliper Front tyre size 120/70 x 18 Rear tyre size 200/50 x 18

PS : refer to article for full details. Lenghty.

This? The bike will control you, not you control the bike.

But gao sak ki hor? Saw it on sale in HL back in 2009. OTR $50k!!

btw, what scramb u riding?

riding roaddie, not scramb although very much wanted to switch to scramb.

But gao sak ki hor? Saw it on sale in HL back in 2009. OTR $50k!!

btw, what scramb u riding?

riding roaddie, not scramb although very much wanted to switch to scramb.

Which model? share leh?

http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-first-rides/uk-road-test-honda-cbr650f-review/25202.html

UK road test: Honda CBR650F review

It might make slightly less power than its predecessor but dynos don't measure fun

68232.jpg
Posted: 28 June 2014
by Steve Farrell
69543.jpg
69548.jpg
69547.jpg
69544.jpg
69545.jpg
Clocks and switches create a first-impression of quality
69541.jpg
Carbon effect plastics manage to look okay
69538.jpg
ABS twin front discs have power but won't startle
69539.jpg
The sportier looking 'Tricolour' edition

SOME bikes make you think: this is great. It will be even better when it's finished.

Not a Honda.

Hondas can be great but also consistently feel like the finished job. That's the immediate impression created by the CBR650F. There are no rough edges, nothing seems like it went wrong somewhere between conception and production. Love it or hate it, everything is as it was intended to be.

Like Honda's NC750 range, and all its sub-600cc models, the CBR650F is built in Thailand, and it's a positive reflection of that operation.

The clocks are shaped a bit like two dials, except they're not dials because they're digital. It's an effective nod to tradition which contributes to a good first impression. It's the same arrangement as found on the naked CB650F, which also shares the CBR's frame and 649cc inline-four engine, or 'platform'.

Unsurprisingly then, the CBR650F also closely shares the engine characteristics of its naked sibling. Low down, it wouldn't startle a mouse. This isn't an engine that will let you overtake in a blast of torque from any gear.

The power's just a low hum at around 3,000 or 4,000rpm. A hum which smoothly and steadily builds as the black LED bars of the rev counter climb. By 7,000rpm, it's a shout, and all sections of the choir join in as the bars climb to the 11,500rpm red line. The gearbox is melted butter-smooth as you work to keep it shouting.

Typically of revy engines with most of the power in the north, it encourages you to go north and find it whenever you're given enough road. But you won't find yourself almost immediately travelling at double the speed limit. The CBR has levels of power you can explore without scaring yourself and risking a prison sentence.

It feels fast, but that's not the point. It's involving and satisfying. Engaging.

The CB650F and CBR650F respectively replace the CB600F Hornet and CBR600F in Honda's range, but make 14hp less than their predecessors, at 87hp instead of 101hp. The CBF got a lukewarm reception from some quarters following its launch because of that. I don't suppose the same people will be any happier about the faired version.

I disagree with the detractors. It's obvious why Honda have trimmed power. The old models couldn't be restricted to 48hp for 'A2' licence holders because rules say eligible bikes must not have made more than double that to begin with. The new 650 models can be restricted.

With new rider numbers plummeting following licence rule changes, manufacturers need to make such adaptations. We need them to as well, unless we're happy for motorcycles to gradually become a rarer sight, as sidecars have over the years.

There's another, better reason we should accept the CBR650F: This. Engine. Is. Fun. Unless you're playing Top Trumps, that's surely what matters.

The engine is exactly what it needs to be: civilised but still exciting, mild-mannered when you want it to be, with bite when you want that.

Everything else is exactly as it should be too. The suspension isn't super-sport-firm, but neither is it soft. It's firm enough to keep the CBR in shape over fast, bumpy bends, but pliant enough to commute to work on every day or ride to Kathmandu without getting a bad back.

It's perfect for an all-rounder, which is what this bike does such a good job of being. As on the CB650F, the fork is non-adjustable while the shock has adjustable preload.

The standard ABS brakes are in the same vein. Ease the front lever in and speed reduces by degree, not with ferocious bite. There's plenty of bite available but it won't take you by surprise. You have to increase the pressure to find it.

The riding position is on the sporty perimeter of comfortable. The bars are raised clip-ons which sit atop the top yoke, not under it. It's totally different to the straight-barred CB650F, which feels like a street fighter, but not as sporty as, say, the new VFR800.

The seat is soft enough for distance, and consists of a single unit, so the pillion won't feel stranded on a perch.

As well as the basics like a fuel gauge, the clocks give you your average and current fuel consumption, a feature that also seems fairly standard these days. The two-button operation, 'select' and 'set', is reassuringly simple.

The bar switches are similar to those found across much of Honda's current range. There's a big grey horn button where you more commonly find the indicator switch. Some unintentional horn tooting is likely but it's a good arrangement once accustomed to it, with a nice, permanent feel.

Under the seat you'll find a cable-style helmet lock and space for disc lock, and there are four points to hook bungee cords on to.

I've got reservations about 'carbon effect' plastics but the bits on the CBR, including the inner fairing and panels either side of the tank, manage to look refined rather than tacky. The bars, top yokes and 41mm forks may not be beefy enough for some egos.

Nor would I usually expect to like metallic gunmetal silver, and no doubt some will find it too conservative, but it seems to work, looking sophisticated on the CBR. Whether it will look plain dull when the bike's a couple of years old remains to be seen. There's the red/white/blue colour scheme if you're worried, allthough that could be in danger of trying to look sportier than the CBR650F really is.

It's not a CBR-RR. It 's a CBR-F. A soft CBR, achieving perfectly what a soft CBR needs to. Honda lists it in its super sports range but it's better thought of as a sports tourer. That's how Yamaha describes the 600cc four-cylinder XJ6 Diversion F, which is probably the CBR650F's closest competitor.

At £6,999 on-the-road, the CBR is priced within spitting distance of the Diversion, which is £6,699 excluding registration fee and tax. The Yamaha is just as user-friendly with slightly less peak power and torque, at 77.5hp and 44lbft.

If Visordown had a five-star rating system, the CBR650F might get the maximum five except for one real complaint: the fairing-mounted mirrors are on arms too short, so you can't see what's directly behind you without moving your elbows. It's the kind of problem I expect on a bike made in the 1980s, not a Honda made in 2014.

So it's a theoretical four stars for the otherwise flaming good CBR650F.

Model tested: Honda CBR650F

Price: £6,999

Power: 87hp

Torque: 46.4lbft

Kerb weight: 211kg

Seat height: 810mm

Colours: Metallic silver, black, white/blue/red (Tricolour)

Availability: Now

Read more: http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-first-rides/uk-road-test-honda-cbr650f-review/25202.html#ixzz39n22e500

http://www.mcnews.com.au/honda-cb400/

Honda CB400

I first spied Honda’s new CB400 on the back of a ute at the launch of the 2008 CBR1000RR Fireblade at Phillip Island. The assembled throng of Australia’s motorcycle scribes were immediately drawn away from the exciting new Fireblade to ogle this stunning looking nakedbike resplendent in Honda’s red, white and blue HRC livery.

None of us knew what this unexpected machine was until we got close enough to read the CB400 lettering amidships on its attractive flanks.

Honda had said little about their plans to bring the traditionally Japanese domestic market only model Down Under so we were a little surprised to see the CB400 on Australian shores. But the cat was out of the bag and Honda admitted they were releasing the machine into the Australian market that April.

Since introduction the CB400 has been on special at various times for under 10k. That proved to be quite a bargain for those that got in early as the price quickly increased to around 11k and the latest model complete with ABS is more like a 12k proposition.

To say I was eager to ride the CB400 would be quite an understatement although due to stock shortages and the vagaries of distance it was more than nine months later when I finally managed to swing my leg over the CB400 to find out whether my excitement was warranted, or not.

I am glad to say that I was not disappointed.

Visually, the machine is an absolute standout amongst its small capacity opposition. In my opinion, no other motorcycle that qualifies as learner approved under the L.A.M.S. system can hold a candle to the CB400 in the styling stakes. The gorgeous classic lines prove timeless and the CB400 looks more contemporary than the Fisher-Price plastic toy quality of some competitors.

Ergonomically, the CB400 is one of the few machines in the smaller capacity range to actually accommodate your average full grown Aussie. On the highway or scratching in the hills the CB400 makes its rider feel welcome. Even the pillion is reasonably well catered for which is a real turn up for the books on a learner machine.

The suspension is certainly one of the best in class but is by no means perfect.

Preload adjustable 41mm Showa forks team with a pair of beautifully styled Piggyback shocks of the same brand to deliver a good ride.

Performance was not quite up to the promise that Showa gear generally delivers but is still light years ahead of the majority of learner approved motorcycles.

Two-up the CB400 struggles to retain its composure over bumps even with plenty of preload dialled in.

Again, I am measuring this performance against its larger peers in the marketplace and some may see this criticism as unfair. However, I see no reason why learner level machinery should be judged to a lower standard. Thus while the CB400 is better suspended than its direct competitors, I still feel it could be improved, especially when considering the far from bargain above $10,000 price point Honda are pitching the model.

CB400_Blue_RHS_800p.jpg

When it comes to braking hardware I am pleased to say the performance delivered was well above par.

A pair of 285mm floating discs up front are gripped by a pair of four-piston calipers on the standard model does the business but the ABS model with three-piston calipers linked to the 235mm disc at the rear are outstanding.

Disappointingly the ABS system is an extra $1000 ask over the base model. In my opinion it should be standard.

This is a learner machine after all and unfortunately the extra grand is causing more than 75% of buyers to keep the extra money in their pocket which is a crying shame as the system is simply brilliant and a potential life saver.

If you were buying the machine for your partner or loved one it’s not hard to work out which machine you would want them to have. Perhaps Honda should have made the decision for them and only brought the ABS equipped machine to the Australian market?

With the ABS system the braking performance is absolutely outstanding. I believe it not only sets the standard for the learner category, but for all weather performance is equal to anything on the road, and better than most.

Powering the CB400 smartly off the mark is a well proven 399cc engine brought into the 21st century by Honda’s excellent PGM fuel injection and Hyper VTEC variable valve timing systems.

Rather than a truly variable timing system Honda’s Hyper VTEC is a relatively simple affair that simply switches from two-valve per cylinder running under 7000rpm to four-valve per cylinder operation at higher revs.

The engine pulls cleanly from the traffic lights with as little as 2500rpm onboard and revs freely through to 12,000rpm with no perceptible steps or glitches in the power delivery.

Thanks to its small capacity and modest 53 horsepower the CB400 is never going to get a learner into trouble but remains just enough for an experienced rider to still find some thrills in the hills.

I spent plenty of time in tight terrain with the noise needle rarely getting under 10,000rpm and enjoyed the experience immensely.

An aftermarket muffler would certainly add to the aural pleasure and really let the little mill clear its lungs and sing what no doubt would be a glorious tune.

The gearbox enjoys being worked hard and is married to a clutch with nice feel and engagement which also helps immensely around town.

CB400_Blue_White_800p.jpg

There would be absolutely no worries in working the CB400 hard as the engine is now in its fifth generation and a well proven unit due to its top seller status in Japan. A generous 3.2 litre oil capacity and liquid cooling ensures it never gets hot under the collar. On the second-hand market however be aware of very high mileage examples as major servicing of the VTEC system is likely to be frighteningly expensive.

Thoughtful luggage hooks make the CB400 more than up to long distance touring while a generous 18 litre fuel tank can stretch as far as 400km between fills on the daily commute.

The CB400 is a fantastic little machine that has few foibles. If the suspension was just a little tauter and the price a little more competitive then it would probably be the biggest selling motorcycle in the land. As it is, even with its fairly high price point, sales of the CB400 have been stellar. And it’s not hard to see why.

• Model – Honda CB400 Super Four
  • Engine – 399cc, liquid cooled, DOHC, in-line four-cylinder
  • Bore x Stroke – 55 x 42mm
  • Compression Ratio – 11.3:1
  • Induction – PGM FI fuel injection, 36mm throttle bodies
  • Transmission – Six speed, chain drive
  • Seat Height – 770mm
  • Kerb Weight – 194kg (198kg with ABS)
  • L x W x H – 2040 x 725 x 1070mm
  • Wheelbase – 1410mm
  • Ground Clearance 130mm
  • Front Suspension – 41mm forks, pre-load adjustable
  • Rear Suspension – Twin Showa shock, pre-load adjustable
  • Brakes – 285mm dual discs, four-piston calipers (ABS has 3-piston) (F), 235m disc ®
  • Tyres – 120/60-17 (F), 160/60-17 ®
  • Fuel Capacity – 18 Litres
  • Average Consumption on test – 5 litres per 100km
  • Range – 360km
  • Warranty – Two years
  • Price – Expect to pay between $11,000 and $12,000

PS : I believe this is an earlier model. The latest shown in Japan site appears to have different rims, mirrors, slightly diff meters and a re-positioned grabrail. iinw, the above's rear rim is 5 inch whilst the 2014 model is 4.5inch.

a new CB400 (ABS) cost close to 19k. add 2k more can get a class 2 bike already

Ya, thats the thing lor. In fact heard that reach 20k liao OTR plus insurance.

2A now is somewhat like a maxi scooter class. Sym/Kymco...

U ride also ?

Honda's Solution for Class 2A. At 4K COE, expect 17-18k OTR. FC reported locally is 27-33km/L.

http://www.carblogindia.com/honda-400-cc-motorcycles-india/

Honda took the EICMA 2013 as an opportunity to showcase the 400cc beasts it has been brewing up for a while but the specifications of these bikes has been something that the company has been tight lipped about.

But courtesy of the good folks back at Honda, today we have for you the specifications and pricing details about the 400cc family of the Honda that will hit the Indian roads soon to rival the Duke 390.

720x474xHonda-CBR400R-720x474.jpg.pagesp

The 400cc range includes 3 bikes, namely Honda CBR400R, CB400F and the CB400X which have essentially the same heart but three different body styles. The first one is a full faired sports bike, the second one is a naked streetfighter while the last one is a sort of a dual purpose bike which has the characteristics of an adventurer and a tourer. The heart of all these will be the same 396cc parallel twin 4 valve water cooled motor.

720x476xHonda-CB400F-720x476.jpg.pagespe

They will develop a maximum power of 46PS @ 9,500 RPM, giving you that red line performance and the peak torque of 37Nm will kick in at a slightly lower 7,500 RPM.
This engine will be mated to a 6 Speed transmission.

There will be a 320mm single petal disc up front and a single 240mm petal disc will be present at the rear. The bikes are expected to deliver a fuel efficiency of 39.7 kilometres to a litre as per the company but the real world figure in India is expected to be around 30-35 kilometres to a litre.

Honda-CB400X-720x476.jpg

The bikes will come in ABS and Non ABS guise. And now let us talk about the expected prices that you will have to shell out for the bikes.

Honda 400 CC Motorcycles Price in India

The expected prices of the Honda 400 CC motorcycles in India are as below:

Honda CBR400R

Graphite Black and Victory Red colour will retail for around Rs.3-3.25 lakhs while the Ross White colour is expected to sell at a premium of around Rs.5,000 as compared to standard colours. Expect the ABS variant to priced Rs.25,000 more.

Honda CB400F

Graphite Black and Pearl Sunbeam White colours are expected to be priced around Rs. 2.75-3 lakhs with the ABS variant getting a Rs.25,000 dearer price tag.

Honda CB400X

Pearl Sunbeam White, Matt Black Powder Gun Metallic, Candy Prominence Red colours are expected to sell for around Rs.3.05-3.30 lakhs while the ABS variant will be costlier by around Rs.25,000-30,000.

533x400xhonda_cb400.jpg.pagespeed.ic.Mry

The KTM Duke 390 is expected to get a price tag of around Rs.2.25 lakhs and the CB400F will be the true competition. Honda might just go with higher levels of localisation to keep a tab on the prices and the winner amidst all this competition is the average performance biking enthusiast.

http://www.carblogindia.com/honda-400-cc-motorcycles-india/

Ex rider but my bike knowledge not.bad

Honda CB400

I first spied Hondas new CB400 on the back of a ute at the launch of the 2008 CBR1000RR Fireblade at Phillip Island. The assembled throng of Australias motorcycle scribes were immediately drawn away from the exciting new Fireblade to ogle this stunning looking nakedbike resplendent in Hondas red, white and blue HRC livery.

None of us knew what this unexpected machine was until we got close enough to read the CB400 lettering amidships on its attractive flanks.

Honda had said little about their plans to bring the traditionally Japanese domestic market only model Down Under so we were a little surprised to see the CB400 on Australian shores. But the cat was out of the bag and Honda admitted they were releasing the machine into the Australian market that April.

Since introduction the CB400 has been on special at various times for under 10k. That proved to be quite a bargain for those that got in early as the price quickly increased to around 11k and the latest model complete with ABS is more like a 12k proposition.

To say I was eager to ride the CB400 would be quite an understatement although due to stock shortages and the vagaries of distance it was more than nine months later when I finally managed to swing my leg over the CB400 to find out whether my excitement was warranted, or not.

I am glad to say that I was not disappointed.

Visually, the machine is an absolute standout amongst its small capacity opposition. In my opinion, no other motorcycle that qualifies as learner approved under the L.A.M.S. system can hold a candle to the CB400 in the styling stakes. The gorgeous classic lines prove timeless and the CB400 looks more contemporary than the Fisher-Price plastic toy quality of some competitors.

Ergonomically, the CB400 is one of the few machines in the smaller capacity range to actually accommodate your average full grown Aussie. On the highway or scratching in the hills the CB400 makes its rider feel welcome. Even the pillion is reasonably well catered for which is a real turn up for the books on a learner machine.

The suspension is certainly one of the best in class but is by no means perfect.

Preload adjustable 41mm Showa forks team with a pair of beautifully styled Piggyback shocks of the same brand to deliver a good ride.

Performance was not quite up to the promise that Showa gear generally delivers but is still light years ahead of the majority of learner approved motorcycles.

Two-up the CB400 struggles to retain its composure over bumps even with plenty of preload dialled in.

Again, I am measuring this performance against its larger peers in the marketplace and some may see this criticism as unfair. However, I see no reason why learner level machinery should be judged to a lower standard. Thus while the CB400 is better suspended than its direct competitors, I still feel it could be improved, especially when considering the far from bargain above $10,000 price point Honda are pitching the model.

CB400_Blue_RHS_800p.jpg

When it comes to braking hardware I am pleased to say the performance delivered was well above par.

A pair of 285mm floating discs up front are gripped by a pair of four-piston calipers on the standard model does the business but the ABS model with three-piston calipers linked to the 235mm disc at the rear are outstanding.

Disappointingly the ABS system is an extra $1000 ask over the base model. In my opinion it should be standard.

This is a learner machine after all and unfortunately the extra grand is causing more than 75% of buyers to keep the extra money in their pocket which is a crying shame as the system is simply brilliant and a potential life saver.

If you were buying the machine for your partner or loved one its not hard to work out which machine you would want them to have. Perhaps Honda should have made the decision for them and only brought the ABS equipped machine to the Australian market?

With the ABS system the braking performance is absolutely outstanding. I believe it not only sets the standard for the learner category, but for all weather performance is equal to anything on the road, and better than most.

Powering the CB400 smartly off the mark is a well proven 399cc engine brought into the 21st century by Hondas excellent PGM fuel injection and Hyper VTEC variable valve timing systems.

Rather than a truly variable timing system Hondas Hyper VTEC is a relatively simple affair that simply switches from two-valve per cylinder running under 7000rpm to four-valve per cylinder operation at higher revs.

The engine pulls cleanly from the traffic lights with as little as 2500rpm onboard and revs freely through to 12,000rpm with no perceptible steps or glitches in the power delivery.

Thanks to its small capacity and modest 53 horsepower the CB400 is never going to get a learner into trouble but remains just enough for an experienced rider to still find some thrills in the hills.

I spent plenty of time in tight terrain with the noise needle rarely getting under 10,000rpm and enjoyed the experience immensely.

An aftermarket muffler would certainly add to the aural pleasure and really let the little mill clear its lungs and sing what no doubt would be a glorious tune.

The gearbox enjoys being worked hard and is married to a clutch with nice feel and engagement which also helps immensely around town.

CB400_Blue_White_800p.jpg

There would be absolutely no worries in working the CB400 hard as the engine is now in its fifth generation and a well proven unit due to its top seller status in Japan. A generous 3.2 litre oil capacity and liquid cooling ensures it never gets hot under the collar. On the second-hand market however be aware of very high mileage examples as major servicing of the VTEC system is likely to be frighteningly expensive.

Thoughtful luggage hooks make the CB400 more than up to long distance touring while a generous 18 litre fuel tank can stretch as far as 400km between fills on the daily commute.

The CB400 is a fantastic little machine that has few foibles. If the suspension was just a little tauter and the price a little more competitive then it would probably be the biggest selling motorcycle in the land. As it is, even with its fairly high price point, sales of the CB400 have been stellar. And its not hard to see why.

• Model Honda CB400 Super Four
  • Engine 399cc, liquid cooled, DOHC, in-line four-cylinder
  • Bore x Stroke 55 x 42mm
  • Compression Ratio 11.3:1
  • Induction PGM FI fuel injection, 36mm throttle bodies
  • Transmission Six speed, chain drive
  • Seat Height 770mm
  • Kerb Weight 194kg (198kg with ABS)
  • L x W x H 2040 x 725 x 1070mm
  • Wheelbase 1410mm
  • Ground Clearance 130mm
  • Front Suspension 41mm forks, pre-load adjustable
  • Rear Suspension Twin Showa shock, pre-load adjustable
  • Brakes 285mm dual discs, four-piston calipers (ABS has 3-piston) (F), 235m disc ®
  • Tyres 120/60-17 (F), 160/60-17 ®
  • Fuel Capacity 18 Litres
  • Average Consumption on test 5 litres per 100km
  • Range 360km
  • Warranty Two years
  • Price Expect to pay between $11,000 and $12,000

PS : I believe this is an earlier model. The latest shown in Japan site appears to have different rims, mirrors, slightly diff meters and a re-positioned grabrail. iinw, the above's rear rim is 5 inch whilst the 2014 model is 4.5inch.

I believe this is priced between a brand new super4 & the new 400 series. Any takers? Kangadrool ?

http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-first-rides/first-ride-yamaha-mt-07-review/24494.html

First ride: Yamaha MT-07 review

Suddenly half a dozen other models look too expensive - Yamaha's new MT-07 is more for less

55389.jpg
Posted: 12 February 2014
by Tom Higham
65938.jpg
65939.jpg
65940.jpg
65945.jpg
65946.jpg

LOOK around at your next bike meet. If you can see more bald spots on the back of heads than greasy spots on faces, you'll realise that something exciting needs to attract new blood to biking. And Yamaha wants the new MT-07 to help address that issue.

That seems a tall order for a budget bike but the MT-07 is more than happy to accept the challenge. Aimed at 20-35-year-olds, this new bike is so much more than the commuter I thought it was going to be. It's brilliant and almost impossible to ride without smiling.

While it may share some DNA and a tin of paint with the MT-09, its bigger brother, the new MT-07 isn't intended for riders looking for a pure adrenaline fix. But don't think for a minute that means experienced riders shouldn't be interested in this new member of the MT family.

Yamaha’s recipe is to simply ensure it's easy to ride but fun too. If I was on failing cookery show The Taste, I'd say that by using light ingredients coupled with the new parallel-twin engine, they've got a winner on their hands (before asking Nigella if there was an after-party back at hers).

I covered 200km on the 689cc MT-07 during press launch but would have gladly carried on riding that same amount again. It's just ridiculously easy to get on with. There are no fancy riding modes to worry about. Just start it up and off you go.

The MT-07 offers a comfy and casual riding position, thanks to low foot-pegs. You feel at home on the bike immediately. With the exception of trying to cancel my indicator with the horn a couple of times, this wasn’t a machine I needed time to get used to.

The brand-new engine puts out a claimed 75hp. Yamaha plans to use the same plant in additional models. It's been designed with as few moving parts as possible, reducing assembly costs but also inner friction and weight, which in turn increases efficiency.

That peak power might not impress all of you, but it's about 3hp more than Kawasaki's ER-6 and Suzuki's SFV650. And it's the MT-07's torque that's really worth talking about. At 50lbft, it's 3lbft more than the Suzuki and Kawasaki.

At £5,199, the MT-07 is also cheaper than the competition. Kawasaki has already responded by slashing £500 off its price, making the ER-6n £5,399. The Suzuki SFV is still way out there, at £5,999.

The MT-07’s torque curve is guaranteed to give you a big grin when you consider the front end was designed to be as light as possible.

The bike pulls well from low revs, meaning you can be really lazy through town if you want to leave it in second or third gear. Throttle response is really good and the low gearing helps give a feeling of good acceleration when you open the throttle up. This may be the bike’s trump card.

It’s more than happy for you to ride it hard and will happily lift the front wheel all day if you ask it to. But it’s certainly not intimidating in any way. It’s just as happy idling round town all day as it is stretching its legs on fast B-roads. I got a shock every time I remembered it did all this - and made me smile for the entire trip - for just over £5K.

Weight was mentioned several times during Yamaha's presentation on the MT-07. A compact chassis with a light tubular backbone frame were the starting point for the model. The horizontally sprung, adjustable rear shock is mounted straight to the engine, saving weight and putting less stress through the frame. A decompression unit allows a lighter starter motor that in turn means a lighter battery. The clutch is apparently one of the smallest ever in a 75hp bike.

The result of this weight-focused design means that, with oil in the engine and a full tank of petrol, the ABS version comes in at a claimed 182kg. The ER-6N's claimed kerb weight is 204kg.

Benefits of this diet-led design are two-fold. Firstly, less weight means the bike is more economical but it also becomes easier to ride. Combine it with a low centre-of-gravity and a short wheelbase of 1,400mm and you have yourself an agile bike indeed.

In fact Yamaha say the MT-07 could have forgone the 160-section rear tyre for a chunkier 180 without losing agility. This is one of the only places I can think of where they have opted to add weight but, as everyone knows, bigger tyres look better. And these look great wrapped around those 10-spoke rims.

Telescopic forks offer 130mm of travel up front with Yamaha using a narrow fork pitch to reduce steering inertia. The forks aren’t adjustable but handled everything thrown at them with ease throughout the day.

The rear asymmetrical swing-arm certainly looks the part. Once again, weight is kept down by using several different thicknesses of high tensile steel but the manufacturing process of advanced pressing and ‘high-speed welding’ allows them to be built quickly and helps keep cost down.

A relatively low seat-height of 805mm, coupled with a narrow seat, is great for shorter riders but also felt comfortable for me, and I'm over six foot.

My height brings me to a criticism of the bike. The digital dash looks good and displays all the essential information like speed, revs and fuel gauge (along with trip and outside temp). It’s neatly attached to the handlebars and angled to compliment the lines of the headlight. But as a taller rider, whenever I glanced down at my speed on the move, I just saw fresh air between the bike’s mirrors. I had to make a real effort to look down further to read it.

The brakes - twin 282mm discs with monobloc calipers up front and single 245mm disc at the rear - provide plenty of stopping power. It's a shame ABS is an option though, and not standard.

Yamaha was keen to stress the versatility of the model. While you might not want to spend all day riding it on the motorway in its standard, naked form, accessories include a touring screen. There's also a range of 'sports' accessories including Gilles Tooling levers, and 'urban' parts including crash bungs. If ABS was standard, you might not need those.

Yamaha claims fuel economy of 68mpg, giving a range of over 200 miles from the 14-litre tank. I was down to a couple of bars on the fuel gauge after the press ride, which was pretty brisk.

Despite the low price, the MT-07 doesn't look like it's been built by penny pinchers. Yes, the 140mm forks could be improved upon and the brakes could perhaps have a bit more feel. But you'll be too busy congratulating yourself on what a bargain you've got to worry too much about that.

It's so easy to ride, the Department for Transport should do away with all this A1 and A2 licence nonsense and make learners have a go on the MT-07. If they fall off, they don't get a licence. Ever.

Until that measure is introduced, the MT-07 is available with a 48hp restrictor kit for A2 licence holders.

The MT-07 offers an amazing deal for new riders. It makes half a dozen other bikes suddenly seem overpriced. Like Honda's CBR500R at £5,299, and Kawasaki's Ninja 300 at £4,799. Yes, they're smaller but, since the MT-07 is available with a 48hp kit, they're all competing for the custom of A2 licence holders.

The new MT will quite rightly also tempt plenty of more experienced riders, and present an even greater threat to bigger bikes from the competition. We've already seen it with Kawasaki and the ER-6. Come on the rest of you - drop your prices.

And thank you MT-07.

Model tested: Yamaha MT-07

Price: £5,199 (£5,499 with ABS)

Power: 75hp

Torque: 50lbft

Wet weight: 179kg (182kg with ABS)

Colours: grey, white, blue, red, purple

Availability: end of February 2014

Read more: http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-first-rides/first-ride-yamaha-mt-07-review/24494.html#ixzz39tkgQ6Rg

Ported over from the BMW 5 thread.... :

Yup and that is why, the stupids say that driving BMW is very expensive when it is actually not.
Becos the Stupids go PML and kena carroted.

Want to Drive BMW, make sure one is technically sound.
BMWs are for such owners.
Same for Porsche, by the way.

Actually, why do the parent coys alloy such practice to continue & give itself in a certain sense a bad name?

In Beemer's case, I guess they are still selling like nobody's business, but in some cases......such as for bikes which should be good bikes and hence have stronger sales, they dealership goes to 1 which only knows how to sell bikes.....conti & even jap brand ? [confused]

Current king of 2B with 25hp. ~15+K OTR

http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-first-rides/ktm-200-duke-first-uk-ride-review/21130.html

KTM 200 Duke first UK ride review

We answer the big questions: what'll it do flat-out, will it wheelie and can an experienced rider live with it day to day

010mar02_max_to_supermaxe.jpg
Posted: 2 August 2012
by Ben Cope
49647.jpg
KTM's 200 Duke ... it looks every bit the big bike
49642.jpg
There's no mistaking it. Unless it's parked next to a 125 Duke.
49641.jpg
Tight and ultra tidy
49640.jpg
I get excited looking at that swingarm
49643.jpg
The office
49645.jpg
New tyres by MRF. Clean pants by H&M
49646.jpg
200 Duke sizes up Hornet 600
49655.jpg
Clear clocks offer handy info. 200 miles to a tank is possible.
49648.jpg
200 Duke likes backing in
49654.jpg
Not sure the same can be said for the MRF tyres
49650.jpg
A KTM that allows me to get both feet on the floor? Surely this is some kind of sinister photoshop
49653.jpg
Rearsets are clunky
49657.jpg
..cleaner-looking ones on the 690 Duke
49656.jpg
Grips ... not grippy. Brake lever ... about as adjustable as time itself
49651.jpg
You won't be storing much under the pillion seat

The 'youth' getting into biking today are missing out on two-strokes and no matter how good the latest crop of four-strokes are becoming, the power delivery, noise and smokeyness of my TZR125 personified my late teens perfectly: I'd spend hours making a racket and burning two-stroke down countless country lanes, getting shouted at by walkers, getting it wrong on many occasion and steering clear of hedges. But only just.

There, I just thought I'd get that off my chest. I'm not sure the current crop of small-capacity four-strokes evoke that same sense of mischief and adventure. Does that change with the 200 Duke?

The 200 Duke enters the woefully under-populated sub-300cc market with all the subtlety a bright orange, sharp-edged aggressive looking bike bearing a massive DUKE across the tank can muster. Just look at it, I think it looks awesome.

The 200 Duke is almost identical to the 125 Duke; the same chassis, same everything it's just the engine that's different. The 200cc engine has a 72mm bore compared to the 125's 58mm and a 49mm stroke, just 2mm longer than the 125. With a setup like that, you know it's going to rev and rev.

Just like the 125 Duke, the 200 is made in India, then quality-checked at KTM's production plant in Austria before being unleashed on European dealers. Its quality and finish is every bit 'Western' and there are only a couple of hints of its Indian roots - I'll touch on those later.

From six foot away, it looks every bit the big bike, it has a solid stance - the beefy forks, angled tank and intricate swingarm distract you from the tiny motor hidden within.

That changes slightly when you sit on it. It's got that flick-between-your-legs feel of my RS250 and with both feet firmly on the floor I've got plenty of control of its 135kg wet weight.

The view ahead is very KTM, again you'd think you were on a 690 Duke, the switchgear is almost identical, the bars and top yoke are KTM branded and the clocks glow - predictably - orange on start-up.

At just under 6ft, the 200 Duke suits my frame well. You feel like you're dominating a small bike but, importantly, you don't feel cramped. The angled tank adds to the feeling of being in control, my thighs slot under the tanks 'wings' meaning I can keep a looser grip on the bars.

On the go, the 200 Duke doesn't struggle to march through the gears, it has plenty of drive low-down, especially considering its size, but it really likes to rev, peaking at 10,500rpm. It feels like you've got a box of 10 gears all with a very similar ratio. Pulling out of a T-junction and getting up to the NSL, you feed in gear after gear without noticing a great deal of change in the engine note but it isn't shy about racking up the speed.

Now for the important stuff: the 200 Duke bounces off the limiter in 6th at an indicated 85mph (but you'll need to have your chin on the tank and bum on the pillion seat).

An 85mph (indicated) top-end is respectable but 1st gear tops out at 28mph, so 2nd to 5th cover 30mph to 70mph. Perhaps I'm too used to litre-class sportsbikes that have a good 40mph between gears, but the ratios on the 200 Duke feel as tightly packed as Dawn French's corset.

Final drive is 14:43 and I reckon 15:43 would make a decent difference. Let's be honest, you're going to spend most of your time on the 200 Duke trying to get north of 60mph - especially if your commute involves dual carriageways and at 70mph in top, I start to feel sorry for the hard-working single piston and at 85mph I would have forgiven it had it made a bid for freedom. Running a slightly taller gearing might mean you can get over 90mph but more importantly it means you can carry 70mph without feeling like you're maxing-out the motor.

Now, I have to admit I've never heard of MRF, but these are the Indian-spec tyres that come on the 200 Duke. Even the man from KTM raised his eyebrows when he mentioned them. I took it easy at first, but they didn't give any bad feedback even when giving them 17-year-old style enthusiastic abuse.

The MRFs grip well, but they're weird in two ways: when they break traction they don't want to come back and the profile is suicidal. I mucked about pulling a few skids and backing it in and when the rear tyre breaks away, it feels like you're on ice. A decent tyre would generate a bit of heat, grip a bit more and then come back into line - not the MRFs.

The profile is fine until the edge where they drop off a cliff. If you can get the chicken strips off your MRF tyres, I applaud you. I sat looking at the front tyre and worked out that in order to scrub the last chicken strips off, you'd have to be upside down.

I didn't get to ride the bike in the wet but I suspect that's where the MRF tyres will give up. Cheap tyres usually do. If you want to become a really good rider, stick with them and fit them again and again, then when you move up to a bigger bike and fit decent tyres no-one will be able to keep up. That I promise.

I'm not slating the tyres but they're definitely an area where you feel KTM have skimped on an otherwise quality product. How much would it cost to fit a decent set of grippy tyres? Not a lot but this time the accountants at KTM won.

The 200 Duke is a lot of fun on country roads. There's a lot going on between 40 and 70mph to keep you interested; lots of revs, lots of gear changes and lots of corner speed. The tighter and twistier the road, the more it feels at home.

It's one of those rare bikes that everyone can get stuck into and if you're used to big bhp, you'll love going back to the days where carrying corner speed and looking a mile ahead to plot your next overtakes were crucial weapons in making progress. If you were out with a group of mates all on 200 Dukes, you'd quickly see who's really capable of riding and who's become lazy - you can't rely on an excess of power to make up lost ground.

There's nothing intimidating about the power delivery and the single-cylinder Duke doesn't carry over the lumpy on/off delivery of a larger capacity single.

Although the suspension features WP branding on the forks and that familiar white spring in the rear, it's a fairly budget setup. The bolts holding on the rear shock look like they should be holding together a steel joist. It looks good though that's probably high up the list for any would-be owner.

You'll struggle to tie the suspension in knots at the speeds you can carry on the standard tyres. Fit a set of ultra-sticky race-based tyres and you might start to find the suspension lacking, but in standard trim, it's supple and subtle and doesn't jar over bumps or rebound like a pogo-stick when you come off the brakes.

Talking of brakes, we don't get the Brembos we saw on the concept bikes, but we get ByBre instead. What's that? Well it's Brembo's brand for emerging markets. Lap-record inducing they aren't but they're plenty good enough and backed up front and rear with braided brake lines too. A well-placed Brembo sticker on the front caliper and no-one will be any the wiser..

Over my day of thrashing around country lanes, A-roads, town centres and dual carriageways, the 200 Duke's clocks told me we'd managed 7.1L/100miles, which with its 10.5 litre tank means I'd have got around 150 miles to the tank. It was being thrashed. If you rode it with half an eye on fuel economy, I have no doubt you'd get closer to 200 miles from the tank.

In town the 200 Duke is a doddle: mega steering lock, low weight, light clutch and throttle - what more do you need? You can U-turn it in a single lane and that lack of weight makes it easy to worm your way through impossibly small gaps with pin-point precision.

Component wise, I can think of six things I really like and four I don't: I don't like the cheap hard grips, the rearsets look like they're designed for a cement mixer. The tyres seem a cost-saving too far, finally there's no underseat storage.

I like the swing-arm - it looks factory, the braided brake lines are a nice touch, the clocks are clear and offer great functions including fuel economy, average speed, distance to the next service. The brakes might offer a designer label but they're strong without being intimidating and I love the click-down sidestand which pops into place and stays there when you're two-thirds of the way down the stroke.

Finally I like the ultralight-action throttle. KTMs have a throttle that feels like you need to arm-wrestle it open and then it's always eager to snap shut. The 200 Duke's is light, but remains precise.

If I bought one, I'd change a few things. Firstly, the grips - they have the feel of the ones you get on the Manx TT superbikes games on the ferry; rock hard and built to last. A set of Renthal soft grips would make a difference. I'd change the tyres, it's a shame Michelin's Pilot Road 3 aren't available in sizes to fit the 200 Duke but Metzeler's Z8s are and I'd rate these over the standard MRFs.

The brake lever looks like something off a Halfords-own BMX, I'd want a bit of adjustability in the span, perhaps something from ASV. As already mentioned, I'd play around with the gearing. Perhaps one tooth bigger on the front sprocket, or two smaller on the rear sprocket and to help that taller gearing - although the stock exhaust is very cute - I'd ditch it for something that does that diddy-single cylinder justice.

The 200 Duke might be small in capacity but it's big on fun. Although it's not quite the manic two-stroke I had when I was younger, it's a serious package that's perfect for novices to learn their trade on. If I was commuting in the city, it would fit the bill perfectly, but experienced riders would find it lacking in grunt on the open road.

These small capacity bikes seem quite expensive. A Honda CBR125 is £3,400, a Yamaha YZF-R125 is £4,300.

At £3,995 the 200 Duke is just £200 more than the 125 Duke and considering it's got 60% more displacement and at least 60% more thrills, I'd say it's a bargain.

Read more: http://www.visordown.com/road-tests-first-rides/ktm-200-duke-first-uk-ride-review/21130.html#ixzz39ztfHums

Yesterday saw a motorcyclist entering PIE from Jalan Eunos without helmet. Looks Indian.

This morning saw a motorcyclist inching forward for a right turn when it's red arrow. Stopped for the vehicles going straight but proceeded to complete the right turn once the traffic cleared up, with red arrow still on. Green arrow only came up about 10 seconds later.

Baffled.