Geylang is the real Chinatown.

GoodCar

In today Straits Times, One Singaporean wrote in to say that Geylang is Singapore New China Town.

The original China Town is just a tourist spot.

This gentlemen brought his friends from Hong Kong to visit a few places during their stay here.

They have visited China town, Little India and Kampong Glam.

They had enjoy the cultural heritage in little India and Kampong Glam but not China Town.

But on their last day in Singapore, they went to Geylang to eat durian.

They told their Singaporean host that Geylang is the real China town.

In today Straits Times, One Singaporean wrote in to say that Geylang is Singapore New China Town.

This gentlemen brought his friends from Hong Kong to visit a few places during their stay here.

They had enjoy the cultural heritage in little India and Kampong Glam but not China Town.

Not true leh. Chinatown does not mean it is for China man. China town also for Singaporean chinese. Anyway, the whole Singapore is chinatown because though we are Singaporeans but we are still Chinese. The foreigners see us all as Chinese。 Just like we see all angmos as angmos whether they are UK,US,Russia etc。

really nonsense....... juz bcos got many china FT there don mean its a chinatown. ...... [shakehead] . 1 muz noe e heritage to understand wat 2 speak [sleeping]

these are the opinions of some tourists. it surely does not represent the majority opinion.

Actually not a bad idea to convert Geyland to be the new Chinatown. It just needs more shops that sell those Chinese sovenair and stuff like that and make the building look more oriental. Sure will win the current Chinatown hands down leh.

These days, I also bring visitors to Geyland and bypass the "artificial" Chinatown.

Regards,

Not true leh. Chinatown does not mean it is for China man. China town also for Singaporean chinese. Anyway, the whole Singapore is chinatown because though we are Singaporeans but we are still Chinese. The foreigners see us all as Chinese。 Just like we see all angmos as angmos whether they are UK,US,Russia etc。

Funny leh, in Chinese dominated cities, sure got such thing like a Chinatown. However, in ang mos, you don't hear nor see "Ang Mo town" [laugh]. What is so special about the Chinese race?

Regards,

Funny leh, in Chinese dominated cities, sure got such thing like a Chinatown. However, in ang mos, you don't hear nor see "Ang Mo town" [laugh]. What is so special about the Chinese race?

Regards,

chinese like to band around.. for the ang mo, there's the US, EU, Aussie, etc.. collectively we call them ang mo.. but ask them to band together? even getting them in a free orgy is difficult..

but for the chinese, if the going get goods, not likely for them to come together.. they are best in a situation that is against them..

Actually not a bad idea to convert Geyland to be the new Chinatown. It just needs more shops that sell those Chinese sovenair and stuff like that and make the building look more oriental. Sure will win the current Chinatown hands down leh.

These days, I also bring visitors to Geyland and bypass the "artificial" Chinatown.

Regards,

Is chinatown = whore city to you?

so what constitute a real chinatown that is not artificial?

Regards,

not true lar... we also got ANG MO KIO here in SG [laugh]

very soon singapore is a province of china, since sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo many are here

govt has announced that the influx of foreigners will slow down. they are going to restrict them coming to spore.

there are already so many here... heard tat there are few more applying for PR liao... these few can be found in one of the forum, so these are only in the forum... for those who juz apply for PR total got how many, only garment noe... kns..

PS: since garment like FTs so much, ask garment let those FTs go serve NS b4 eligible for PR or coming here to work...

really nonsense....... juz bcos got many china FT there don mean its a chinatown. ...... [shakehead] . 1 muz noe e heritage to understand wat 2 speak [sleeping]

I think its because of the food & architecture as well as tonnes of china FT thats y.