Somali pirates seize Singaporean ship

Sleepyman

yesh.. our real-time 24/7 monitoring system is there... although sometimes, i wonder if it's really sufficient to deter a fullscale attack.

Fullscale attack cannot come suddenly one.

Sun Tze say, soldier not yet move, food must move first.

So if got full scale attack, there will be tell tale sign.

Unless like WW2, the German bluff the bear that they are only building up and preparing to attack England.But suddenly lightning attack the Bear.

I only small "peng" but I got read Sun Tze ok.... [laugh]

If every NSman can fight liket a soldier and think like a General, than we have no fear.

Kopassus always came over for cross unit training 8-10 years back , we share knowledge on weapons while they taught us jungle tracking and tactics and laying traps while on the run . Anyway double tapping and alignments are basic knowledge of storming? Are really so naive to think that only you know how to do that? Rapid firing and spraying of bullets has the same notion , i thought i've already said that ? Armchair critic? CQB, yes everything i don't know . Only you know , for honour and glory , strike to silence?

Eagle with trident from what i know i only know of a few people during my time having it , in sg not many, mine SM was one of them. Ranger tag?? I know what went on ever since i enlisted , just stay one level on top of them , posting those stuff make you look stupid. Course starts every august/sept , won't pass first day ? Ya i can't pass out dropped out at stage 2 how about you show me your ranger badge , or you are just boasting and dua kang? You don't know got NSF finish the course before? CPL also can complete liaoz. Survival course? Teach how to eat snake?

Talking to dua kang yao xiu , simply waste of time.

Anyway armchair critics or not it is up to you. Don't say i look down on u lah only you people think you guys are the only people knowing what is going on. What i'm trying to highlight is a problem in our untested army. As the training becomes more lax , we are letting ourselves to weaker soldiers with weaker mentality. We might not be as prepared as what you and i think. Israel and us have the same problems , we are surrounded by our neighbours , we need to protect ourselves from foriegn threats , having over confidence is something we shouldn't have.

Yes I remember my OC having the eagle with trident. Ang Yau Choon. Our friend later go antartica...Think it was in the papers.

Bro, don't anyhow publish the name leh, this is an open forum <_<

Fullscale attack cannot come suddenly one.

Sun Tze say, soldier not yet move, food must move first.

So if got full scale attack, there will be tell tale sign.

Unless like WW2, the German bluff the bear that they are only building up and preparing to attack England.But suddenly lightning attack the Bear.

I only small "peng" but I got read Sun Tze ok.... [laugh]

If every NSman can fight liket a soldier and think like a General, than we have no fear.

too many generals also no good, each will have his own strategy lol....

Yes of course, but if you have soldier that can understand the General intent, than

the odd of winning will increase

[;)]

Someone who survived 5 years of captivity.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapacific/emotional-homecoming-for-cambodian-held-by-pirates-for-almost-5/3270886.html

STEUNG TRANG, Cambodia: When Nou Chanthol received a phone call from her son in 2012, his message sent a chill down her spine.

“Mum, I’ve been captured by pirates. Please don’t think of me anymore. I don’t know when I can go home. Nobody is going to help me,” Nou Borey told his mother.

It was only his second phone call home since he left Cambodia in 2010 for a job on a fishing vessel, which took him to Singapore, Dubai and Mauritius. While floating near the Seychelles in March 2012, a group of Somali pirates spotted his ship. They killed his captain, hijacked the ship and took 28 sailors hostages – men from Cambodia, China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Taiwan and Vietnam.

Two of them later died from illness. The rest endured a years-long ordeal in Somalia. “Life was extremely hard. We rarely got to eat, drink or even relieve ourselves,” Borey told Channel NewsAsia soon after arriving back at his home in Kampong Cham last week.

“We stayed on the ship, out in the sea, for more than a year. Then we were taken ashore and locked up in the jungle.”

pp-borey-6-data.jpg

"I didn't think I'd have a chance to come home. Life was so difficult," Borey said. (Photo: Pichayada Promchertchoo)

Upon his return last Friday (Nov 4), the 26-year-old was overwhelmed. Dozens of family members and friends had gathered around his small house, craning their necks whenever a car headlight pierced through the darkness in the far distance.

However, his trip back home was not smooth. The road to his remote village was rough and muddy after heavy rains. The van carrying him was stuck in the mud and a truck was dispatch to the rescue.

The delay mattered little, however, when Borey embraced the family he had missed for for so many years. He was home.

pp-borey-4-data.jpg

Borey receives a warm welcome by his friends and family upon his return. (Photo: Pichayada Promchertchoo)

The night was full of hugs, smiles and tears. His 11-year-old brother Nou Rian, although unable to remember him after such a long absence, could not hold back his excitement. “I'm so excited and happy. I rarely saw him when he was home. I only remember seeing him once,” the boy said.

People in the village had missed Borey too and could not wait to hear the first-hand account of his harrowing experience with the pirates.

“When the pirates came, I was having a shower. Our captain fired into the air to threaten them but he hadn’t switched off the light in his cabin. So they saw him and shot his throat, killing him.”

SHOT AND STARVED

At the time of the hijacking, Borey was on board Omani-flagged fishing vessel FV Naham 3. The pirates ordered one of the crew to steer the ship and follow them to Somalia, where they were held for ransom for almost five years. Based on the data of Oceans Beyond Piracy (OBP) – a non-profit organisation tackling the issues of maritime piracy – the crew are the second longest-held hostages captured by Somali pirates.

For more than one year aboard the ship, life was hard but tolerable. The captives had access to food they had pre-stocked, but the situation changed for the worse when the ship was sunk in 2013. All the hostages were transferred to the mainland, where they were held in dreadful conditions until their release on Oct 22, nearly five years after their initial capture.

pp-borey-3-data.jpg

"I won't work abroad, I'm afraid I'll be captured and tortured," Rian said after learning about Borey's captivity. (Photo: Pichayada Promchertchoo)

Borey never thought he would travel that far when he left his village in 2010 for a job on a fishing boat and a promise of US$150 per month. The then truck driver was hoping he could send home at least US$600 every year but it never happened. Instead, he received nothing but trauma and a gunshot wound to his right foot.

“The pirates asked me to cook rice but I didn’t do it. Instead I asked them if I could go to the toilet. As I was walking away, one of them pointed a gun at my chest. We argued a bit and he fired at my feet.”

The injury was never treated properly. Borey was only given some medication to reduce the pain. However, the gunshot was nothing compared to hunger, he explained. During their captivity, each hostage was only allowed a small cup of rice with beans once a day. “One time, when all of us were badly ill, the pirates went hunting for birds and shared them with us,” he said.

pp-borey-5-data.jpg

Borey's house is in a remote village in Kampong Cham, where most of the villagers earn little incomes from manual labour in plantations. (Photo: Pichayada Promchertchoo)

One of his fellow Cambodians, Nhem Soksan, nearly died from severe diarrhoea. “He didn’t have enough water and had to drink his own urine. But he managed to recover,” Borey said.

RANSOM

Like most of the families in his village, Borey’s can barely make ends meet. Their scarce incomes derive from manual work in plantations, where his parents are hired to spray pesticide and harvest agricultural produce. So when his mother learnt about demands for a ransom to be paid, she knew his chances of coming back alive were slim.

“I cried and prayed in front of his photo. I said: My dear son, if you’re still alive, please let me see you in my dream,” Chanthol said.

pp-borey-2-data.jpg

Even Borey himself gave up hope of being freed. “I thought of my family a lot but didn’t think I’d have a chance to go home. They asked for so much money.”

According to him, the pirates demanded tens of thousands of dollars for his freedom. He said the organisations involved in the negotiation efforts originally offered his captors US$80,000 for his release before increasing the sum to US$1.2 million. Both the offers were rejected.

“As for the third time, I had no idea how much they offered the pirates or how they reached an agreement with them but they released us,” Borey said.

The negotiation took 18 months and resulted in the release of the 26 captives – the last group of hostages held by Somali pirates.

Borey’s first day at home was overwhelming. “I can't describe how I feel,” he said. Asked about his future plans, the former captive said he does not have any yet. However, one thing is clear: “I’ll never work abroad ever again”.

Cannot imagine it...

Nobody's doing anything such piracy. Somalia, Malacca, and where else??

With all the riches and weapons in the world, is it so difficult to root out all these atrocities?

dowan la later they themselves also kena captured flowerface.gif

Reminds me of this.

Please don't laugh

our boys were out numbered 1 - 2

and they very bravely paid the money (US$200 and S$100

and gave up their Iphones. 

Truly expert professional anti crime law enforcement officers.   [thumbsup]

Taxi driver arrested for fleecing Singapore Interpol visitors

Police have arrested a taxi driver a week after he overcharged two Singaporean delegates to the 80th Interpol General Assembly meeting in Hanoi, Vietnam, by 40 times. He also took away their iPhone 4.

This driver works for Phu Gia taxi company but police refused to reveal his identity. He was arrested on Nov 5 while hiding in the southern province of Dak Nong, over 1,000 km away from Hanoi.

Colonel Nguyen Duc Chung, deputy chief of Hanoi police on Monday confirmed the arrest.

The audacious driver has been escorted to Hanoi for questioning

A lawyer told TuoiTreNews the driver could be charged with “cheating to appropriate private property”, a criminal crime.

The victims are Mr Chen Ang Dani and Ms Than Sha Pen who were forced them to pay VND6 million (S$362) for a ride of just 10 kilometers. The normal fee should have been only VND150,000 (S$9).

This occurred at 8pm on Oct 28 when they took a taxi with license plate number BKS 30K-6476, belonging to Phu Gia Group, after having a meal at Ngon restaurant, a popular eatery for foreigners at 18 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoan Kiem District.

They were driven from Phan Boi Chau Street to Hanoi’s National Conference Center and eventually had to cough up US$200 and S$100.

The victims said that following heated argument over prices, they negligently left over an iPhone 4 that has vanished into thin air.

The 80th Interpol General Assembly was kicked off in Hanoi from Oct 31 and concluded on Nov 3.

After the case was out, chairman of Hanoi Transportation Association Bui Danh Lien said a number of taxi operators have condemned that the driver’s act negatively affected Vietnam’s national image and demanded an inspection into Phu Gia taxi company.

A lawyer told TuoiTreNews the driver could be charged

with “cheating to appropriate private property”, a criminal crime.

Not just any crime  [thumbsup]

it was a real criminal crime.

The worse kind of crime if you ask me.

Cannot imagine it...

Nobody's doing anything such piracy. Somalia, Malacca, and where else??

With all the riches and weapons in the world, is it so difficult to root out all these atrocities?

Think of ISIS and Taliban and Al-Qaeda... too busy with them to deal with small fry like pirates

Taxi driver arrested for fleecing Singapore Interpol visitors

Police have arrested a taxi driver a week after he overcharged two Singaporean delegates to the 80th Interpol General Assembly meeting in Hanoi, Vietnam, by 40 times. He also took away their iPhone 4.

This driver works for Phu Gia taxi company but police refused to reveal his identity. He was arrested on Nov 5 while hiding in the southern province of Dak Nong, over 1,000 km away from Hanoi.

Colonel Nguyen Duc Chung, deputy chief of Hanoi police on Monday confirmed the arrest.

The audacious driver has been escorted to Hanoi for questioning

A lawyer told TuoiTreNews the driver could be charged with “cheating to appropriate private property”, a criminal crime.

The victims are Mr Chen Ang Dani and Ms Than Sha Pen who were forced them to pay VND6 million (S$362) for a ride of just 10 kilometers. The normal fee should have been only VND150,000 (S$9).

This occurred at 8pm on Oct 28 when they took a taxi with license plate number BKS 30K-6476, belonging to Phu Gia Group, after having a meal at Ngon restaurant, a popular eatery for foreigners at 18 Phan Boi Chau Street, Hoan Kiem District.

They were driven from Phan Boi Chau Street to Hanoi’s National Conference Center and eventually had to cough up US$200 and S$100.

The victims said that following heated argument over prices, they negligently left over an iPhone 4 that has vanished into thin air.

The 80th Interpol General Assembly was kicked off in Hanoi from Oct 31 and concluded on Nov 3.

After the case was out, chairman of Hanoi Transportation Association Bui Danh Lien said a number of taxi operators have condemned that the driver’s act negatively affected Vietnam’s national image and demanded an inspection into Phu Gia taxi company.

This is the bit I don't get.

They are trained Interpol officers

How could they be so careless to

negligently left over an iPhone 4 that has vanished into thin air.

Since when things can vanished into thin air?

The taxi driver was David Copperfield?

Edited by Jamesc

And why did they have to say they are from here?

Next time I take taxi at Hanoi airport and he say

- where you come from sir and I say Singapore

he will say - fare is US$300.

I think next time in Hanoi I will just say

I come from Manila and good friends with

Durty Durty and we shoot criminals.

You have to stand guard 24/7 with the proposed firearm. If no 24/7, and they are already onboard, whatever firearm also useless. And must have more than 1 person lookout.

Basically a warship on patrol sailing side by side the bestest.

Armament unlikely to be allowed on commercial vessels. But strong water cannons might be possible as anti-boarding equipment.  It can also be used to extinguish fires. :grin: