Going to Polyclinic

Picanto

On 3/14/2023 at 4:09 PM, Tkseah said:

Recently I went GP clinic see doc cost me $90+... One of the antibiotics alone was $30+.. 😱

Antibiotics not a cheap medicine. Now go see GP, even for common flu and cough medicine without antibiotics, total bill also need $40+.

On 3/14/2023 at 4:37 PM, 13177 said:

Antibiotics not a cheap medicine. Now go see GP, even for common flu and cough medicine without antibiotics, total bill also need $40+.

The big ticket item from my bill was Clarithromycin 250mg 20 tabs for $36.. $90+ total but I can only claim $40+ from company group medical insurance.. 😒

On 3/14/2023 at 4:45 PM, Tkseah said:

The big ticket item from my bill was Clarithromycin 250mg 20 tabs for $36.. $90+ total but I can only claim $40+ from company group medical insurance.. 😒

Many companies now no more 100% for medical costs, usually need staff to co-shared or cap at certain amount.

Online consultation now cheaper than private clinic. And meds are delivered to doorstep. A viable option for routine illness

On 3/14/2023 at 7:50 PM, Sosaria said:

Online consultation now cheaper than private clinic. And meds are delivered to doorstep. A viable option for routine illness

How much cheaper?

I started going to polyclinics last year (to get referrals for specialists). One thing that struck me was like 9 out of 10 patients there were like over 60 years old. For a moment I thought I had wrongly wandered into some eldercare facility. It really struck home SG ageing profile and how much we spending on healthcare resources.  I actually had to postpone my visits as I couldn't get a slot through bookings.

Geriatric docs these days will always be in demand. 

The Geriatric dept at TTSH can take months to make an appt and that’s going the private route. If subsidized, don’t know how long. By then the elderly also don’t know still around.

Is overloading the reason why polyclinics dont offer health screening? Gotta pay quite a bit to do health screening these days..but paying premium does have its upside..

I recall i did a health screening at a private clinic a few years ago at Tanjong Pagar..the nursing ladies and recep were young and chio..there was light soothing music playing in the background, hot drinks like milo and biscuits were served etc..altogether a nice experience. 😉

On 3/15/2023 at 1:15 AM, Kyrios said:

Is overloading the reason why polyclinics dont offer health screening? Gotta pay quite a bit to do health screening these days..but paying premium does have its upside..

I recall i did a health screening at a private clinic a few years ago at Tanjong Pagar..the nursing ladies and recep were young and chio..there was light soothing music playing in the background, hot drinks like milo and biscuits were served etc..altogether a nice experience. 😉

You are paying the clinic more so they can employ young and chio missy ma. 😁

Actually health screening can be done at any GP. 

On 3/15/2023 at 7:02 AM, Fcw75 said:

You are paying the clinic more so they can employ young and chio missy ma. 😁

Actually health screening can be done at any GP. 

But the doc got no X-ray machine so they will send u to polyclinic to take X-ray. You still pay private rate but doc pay polyclinic rate and charge you his private rate. That’s what I saw when I was at polyclinic.

Edited by Adrianli

On 3/14/2023 at 10:31 PM, Karoon said:

I started going to polyclinics last year (to get referrals for specialists). One thing that struck me was like 9 out of 10 patients there were like over 60 years old. For a moment I thought I had wrongly wandered into some eldercare facility. It really struck home SG ageing profile and how much we spending on healthcare resources.  I actually had to postpone my visits as I couldn't get a slot through bookings.

polyclinic macam cc nowadays…

also partly becos the young ones use tele consultation to get mc…donch ask me how I know…yah…still help a bit in a way…😂

On 3/15/2023 at 1:15 AM, Kyrios said:

You get what you paid for liao. If you want such good service, then the price for the health screening also not cheap.

Think polyclinic got offer basic 3 high screening, right?

On 3/15/2023 at 7:53 AM, Adrianli said:

But the doc got no X-ray machine so they will send u to polyclinic to take X-ray. You still pay private rate but doc pay polyclinic rate and charge you his private rate. That’s what I saw when I was at polyclinic.

Those normal health screening like blood, urine and stool test no need X-ray right? 

On 3/14/2023 at 10:31 PM, Karoon said:

I think it's bcuz being older citizens, they are mostly retired. And do not have the luxury of a company paying for medical fees.

So they go to the cheapest. Polyclinic is subsidized, esp, the medicine, you can see the price, compared to a private clinic.

I go there regularly for my diabetes treatment. Sometimes you see the price is ridiculously low, esp for common generic drugs like aspirin or anarex (panadol), metformin, it's like a few cents only. When I was working in a company, no one cares much about the money. Visit their authorized health care provider, and they charge 100s of dollars to the company.

On 3/15/2023 at 8:14 AM, 13177 said:

You get what you paid for liao. If you want such good service, then the price for the health screening also not cheap.

Think polyclinic got offer basic 3 high screening, right?

Recently, polyclinic give me a kit to check for colon cancer. It's free. But you need to stab your stool with a plastic thingy, do it twice, collect them and send for analysis.

It's a bit yucky for me, so I'm still hanging on. 😁

On 3/15/2023 at 10:24 AM, Kb27 said:

Recently, polyclinic give me a kit to check for colon cancer. It's free. But you need to stab your stool with a plastic thingy, do it twice, collect them and send for analysis.

It's a bit yucky for me, so I'm still hanging on. 😁

Private clinic you also need to do it yourself,  the missy won't be doing for you.

On 3/15/2023 at 10:19 AM, Kb27 said:

I think it's bcuz being older citizens, they are mostly retired. And do not have the luxury of a company paying for medical fees.

So they go to the cheapest. Polyclinic is subsidized, esp, the medicine, you can see the price, compared to a private clinic.

I go there regularly for my diabetes treatment. Sometimes you see the price is ridiculously low, esp for common generic drugs like aspirin or anarex (panadol), metformin, it's like a few cents only. When I was working in a company, no one cares much about the money. Visit their authorized health care provider, and they charge 100s of dollars to the company.

True, when you are still working and have company doctor to see doctor and no need to pay for medical fees, sure would not go to polyclinic, even the polyclinic might be downstairs your house. So when i retired i would also go polyclinic see doctor liao, so better stay near to a polyclinic.