Better Scenario for car owners In Singapore

Detion

It will be better for all the car owners if one day, the government announce that it will not impose import tax on all Singapore Cars.

Then they will put a ban on cars that cost less than $40k.

This way, car owners will get more value out of the money they spend on their car.

It will also look good on the whole nation as everyone will be driving good cars like BMW, Mercedes and there are tons of supercars and sports cars in Singapore.

then all the bread and butter dealers will sell their car at exactly 40,000...and make a handsome profit out of a $15000 OMV car...

TAN KU KU AH!!!!! Import tax for car is one damn FAT cash cow for the garment...they won't give it up..even if pigs fly and sun rises from the north..

It will be better for all the car owners if one day, the government announce that it will not impose import tax on all Singapore Cars.

This way, car owners will get more value out of the money they spend on their car.

It will also look good on the whole nation as everyone will be driving good cars like BMW, Mercedes and there are tons of supercars and sports cars in Singapore.

better scenario for people who buy better cars but bad for those who needs to buy cheap bread and butter cars.

It might happen if more people were to vote other way. If66.6% are happy to being taxednleft right center in exchanged for the so call peace and harmony in Singapore, then what can the other 33.3% do?

We are paying super high price in everythig for the apparent peace and harmony. Do you guys DARE to change the environment for cheap cars and housing? Singaporeans are gutsless lah.

They don't have to put a ban on it. It is just like shooting on their own foot. They just need to revert to the good old days of high import levy (and cheap cars will no longer be cheap). On the other hand, it is unlikely also due to barrier free trade pact (aka something like that. Malaysia is also slowly lowering the taxes on foreign imported cars). That's why COE was invented (on hindsight) and unlikely to be removed in SG context. Of course, they can be a bit more sneaky and impose something like "lump sum congestion surcharge" of say X dollars for 10 year period in lieu of import levy.

Edited by Kangadrool

TS you wake up already ? [laugh]

it will never never never i repeat never never happen [:p]

anyway not all people like BMW, Mercedes [;)]

Agree. Some of the very cheap fun cars to drive around include those 1L 3-cylinder block.

Most of these high end luxury cars are too devoid of feel. You will be better off being ferried in them than driving around.

Edited by Kangadrool

$40k is the line for good cars??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Might as well double it, so that civics, corollas, mazda 3's, etc are all excluded because they're just grocery-getters.

If the cars are manufactured in Sg, there will be no import tax anyway but dan there are no local car makers. Unless your sentence says " it will not impose import tax on all imported cars". That does not make sense. Dan other imported items shouldn't be taxed either but tax revenue has to come from somewhere.

Some of such cars are China imports. China will be very upset to hear that.

With COE and taxes, plus cars run on heavily taxed petrol. No it isn't value for money.

I dun like the idea of giving others a false image about us. There's nothing wrong with us, so there's no need to do smth like this.

Thanks for sharing your naive thoughts.

$40k is the line for good cars??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Might as well double it, so that civics, corollas, mazda 3's, etc are all excluded because they're just grocery-getters.

no lah, TS is saying without import tax for cars that are $40K. that would be equivalent to our current $80K~$100K cars.

ok...so the government smashes their own rice bowl by removing import tax. hmmm... soon we may start to see MPs taking MRT. and whats the diff? i more people would be encouraged to get a car as you pay less for more now. too many traffic jams on the road. TP should start impounding more cars. [lipsrsealed]

TS, if you have not noticed, what you are proposing is happening right now. In fact, it has been a slow & deliberate excercise for around 10+ years.

A Honda Accord in 1997 goes for around $150k and a Mercedes E200 was around $220k, iirc.

My friend bought a Corolla in 2000 for $100k and that was a base model. A Proton Wira cost around $70k.

Then a few years back, you could get a Camry or Accord for less than $90k.

Now, with $100k, you can get a very decent ride.

The downward shifts in ARF and PARF in the last few years, cars ARE becoming cheaper.

But this minute ajustment have its side effect such as too many cars and affecting the value of the older cars.

A blanket ban on cars costing less than $40k will create too much chaos in the market.

no lah, TS is saying without import tax for cars that are $40K. that would be equivalent to our current $80K~$100K cars.

ok...so the government smashes their own rice bowl by removing import tax. hmmm... soon we may start to see MPs taking MRT. and whats the diff? i more people would be encouraged to get a car as you pay less for more now. too many traffic jams on the road. TP should start impounding more cars. [lipsrsealed]

Thanks! I understand now... He's saying he wants good cars for cheap by asking our govt to give up one of their sources of income [laugh]

I don't know what the TS was thinking, but I've often fantasised about the gahmen doing away entirely with import duties, COEs and road tax. The ERP network would be made island-wide (via GPS, for example) and the charges increased heftily so it would remain largely revenue neutral for the gahmen (otherwise they wouldn't do it). On the plus side, we get to own Italian exotica for a fraction of the price, and we get to drive them to M'sia for track days and other fun stuff.