Difficult to shift gears

Agentwilson

Hi Bros,

got a qn to ask with regards to AT gear shifting.

recently i find it difficult to shift gears during moving off from P.

I press brake, then shift from P to D. sometimes it feels abit hard to shift to D. Dunwan to forcefully push to D.

So i usually let go brake again, then press brake again, shift to D. Sometimes ok, sometimes not. Sometimes gotta repeat few times.

Is it a pre-cursor to a serious problem?

Or izzit some minor taiji?

Thanks bros for any advice! :D

Hi Bros,

I press brake, then shift from P to D. sometimes it feels abit hard to shift to D. Dunwan to forcefully push to D.

So i usually let go brake again, then press brake again, shift to D. Sometimes ok, sometimes not. Sometimes gotta repeat few times.

Just curious, do you have the habit of shifting the auto gears more than necessary? For example, when red traffic light shift to neutral or park, green light shift to drive, etc? How many mileage your car clocked so far?

Just a suggestion. When you park for the night, first shift the gear to neutral, then pull hand brake before you shift to park.

wow bro.

wads the purpose for this? sounds chim...

hahaha...

do enlighten me...

can learn...good

Just curious, do you have the habit of shifting the auto gears more than necessary? For example, when red traffic light shift to neutral or park, green light shift to drive, etc? How many mileage your car clocked so far?

Bro,i sometimes do that leh,will that harm our auto gearbox? and most of the times when having a sharp turn,i will shift to S to have little engine brake,when finish the turn,i will shift to D again for normal driving,is it okie for the gearbox? thx :)

It is simple logic....If the car is parked at a small slope which you might not realize, the locking gears

are not perfectly meshed. So to overcome this, just lock your hand brake, it will cause the gears to be in

position. This is what happens to mine.

I suggest you go to a workshop to have it looked at.

Here's a good one. They specialise in automatic transmissions:

http://www.khangauto.com/main.htm

hi bro.

thanks for ur referral.

but i dun intend to go workshop, unless its an impt problem tat needs resolved.

if only small small taiji or bad practice on my part, i change my style lo.

like 1 bro here tat suggested, shift to N first then handbrake then P.

maybe i should change my style

From what u describe, it's very hard to know what the problem is, or whether serious or not. Cos we are not experts.

So best to get expert help. At least find out what is wrong.

Hi Bros,

bro hv u changed ur ATF???u should change it as ur current oil is getting thicker...evry 30k must change ur ATF...correct me if im wrong