Singapore assistance to Haiti earthquake

Fcw75

Taken from Mr Brown site:

Friday, January 15, 2010

Singapore Government donates whopping US$50,000 for Haiti relief efforts

I would like to commend the Straits Times for finding a red line thin enough to print, that represented the Singapore Government's donation to the earthquake victims of Haiti.

You can see the line if you squint hard enough at this chart comparing the donations of various nations. It is that 0.1 point hairline my finger is pointing to in the photo.

In fact, I think the line for Singapore may even have been rounded up because you can't print half a pixel of a line.

100,000 estimated deaths. US$50,000 from our generous government. That's 50 cents for every dead soul. US currency, ok? So it is almost a dollar Singapore money for the Haitians.

Why ah? GIC lost too many hundreds of millions in that Manhattan project ah?

I have two words for you, Singapore Gahmen: Cheap b------ds.

I cannot believe it when I see in the ST that Singapore only donated US$50000. Rip us off so much money but only donate such an amount. Surely they can do more? Greed at work.

Am even more surprised that ST published the article.

Hell, even US actress Alyssa Milano can donate US$50000 from her own pocket. Singapore as a country is donating the same amount as a person? Disgrace...

Alyssa Milano has donated $50,000 to UNICEF to aid in the relief of Haiti earthquake victims, and she is challenging corporations to match or better it.

“Last night, as I sat in the comfort of my living room, watching the news and obsessively checking my Twitter homepage for the latest developments, I felt completely helpless,” she wrote in the Huffington Post. "I cried, and then I did the only thing I could do…I wrote a check to the U.S. Fund for UNICEF for $50,000. But I woke up this morning feeling that this wasn’t enough. As I sat in my bed trying to brainstorm how to raise more money…

“I challenge any corporation to match my $50,000 donation to the U.S. Fund for UNICEF. 100% of every dollar will go directly to supplies that include tarpaulins, water-purification tablets, oral rehydration salts, family water kits, medical supplies, medical kits, food, shelter, and protection.”

post-1829-1263701698_thumb.jpg

Edited by Fcw75

can't agree more.

The moment something doesn't offer a good ROI, they won't bother. Probably Haiti has like zero trade with us, that's why.

You think they care about other human lives?

What do you expect from them... when shipping your old folks to batam/ jb is a topic that can come up for consideration???

Edited by Sabian

how much do you think the world would donate to SG if a catastrophe, natural or otherwise, were to hit us?

Humanitarianism isn't really about reciprocal. This is the sort of question that MIW like to ask, which only reflects their inner mentality: Selfish. Kaki Koo Kaki. If u wanna die, die far away from me, don't come to me for help unless u promise to help me in the future.

how much do you think the world would donate to SG if a catastrophe, natural or otherwise, were to hit us?

they are amg the world's poorest nations, we are amg the world's richest. i really think we can do better to help.

yeah... 50K from Singapore? huh?

it is soooooo insignificant considering the extent of the tragedy.... especially more so it come from a country...

i will not call it disgraceful.... but the Government of Singapore can definitely afford to do much more than this meagre sum. very sad...

wonder y it is soooo stingy when it comes to all these aids... something is very wrong somewhere with the foreign policy... it is sending a wrong signal to every citizens in Singapore when the ministers calls for locals to donate generously to the local charities.... the Government is simply not walking the talk......

even individuals has been donating more than that...

i wonder who make the decision to donate 50K afterall?

they need to reserve $ for their month end pay cheques so the CPF amount would grow more ...

Greed at work.

mabe they are being practical. first world country with third world donation ...

we have no economic ties with haiti, bet if this is indonesia, the amount will be big. our garment doesn't do thing that don't benefit them.

and proudly say they donated 50k... HAHAHA.. self porned...

And the fact that the same papers reported much bigger donations from other parties.. Hmm.. I think our media hates the govt liao... haha