How to trace owner from vehicle registration number?

Beehive3783

Next time if such thing happened, take many photos on the spot as well as the guy. You actually do not need to report to your insur( i did not) if private settle but for me I went to the police to make the report as a record...IMO. Luckily that guy who bang my car is honest.

ya.. luckily.. if not you will be in for a lot of inconvenience if he decides to claim your insurance

ok, the case now is, i have repaired my car already. i went to his workshop and he paid. now i just want to get him to sign the private settlement agreement, fax to my insurer and get them to close the case and release my NCD.

erm... since you say you went to his workshop, why not get the workshop people to call him and explain.

ok, the case now is, i have repaired my car already. i went to his workshop and he paid. now i just want to get him to sign the private settlement agreement, fax to my insurer and get them to close the case and release my NCD.

somehow, it doesnt sound safe since u said he tell u his name ang, suddenly u call again, become pang.

it does seems tat he is trying to get another person to tah for him. sounds like it though...

u have gotta tink, wad if he counter claim u?

he settle ur repairs is 1 thing, wad if he claim u 3rd party?

then u LLST

its always safer to have pics as references.

of course not saying he surely will chut stunt.

but it pays to be safe

i have all the pictures and stuff, no worries. i have also made a report to my ex-insurer.

well, he wasn't quite interested to settle privately, until i mentioned to him it's not good for both parties if we go and claim each other, so he reluctantly agreed to settle my repairs for me from his pocket.

he didn't take down my particulars, didn't take any pictures and his lorry got no damage at all. so i'm not sure how he is going to claim if he doesn't have any of my particulars [laugh]

You can request the insurance company for the info but they are unlikely to help you unless exceptional circumstances. The alternative is to get a law firm to assist, especially those specialising in insurance claims, but here, costs is the consideration.

bro hope you close your case soon.

Btw do you have his full name? maybe you can go rednano there and key in. If lucky can get his residence address.. even mine was stated there... [bigcry]

you try both surnames since he chut stunt...

btw have noted the registration number. I go round the island often so if notice the license number will let you know. But we dun have your mobile leh how to contact you??? [:/]

erm... since you say you went to his workshop, why not get the workshop people to call him and explain.

yes, but the workshop people same kind, bo chup pattern. i found that out when i was conversing with their boss. nevertheless they did a pretty decent job on my repairs.

bro hope you close your case soon.

Btw do you have his full name? maybe you can go rednano there and key in. If lucky can get his residence address.. even mine was stated there... [bigcry]

you try both surnames since he chut stunt...

btw have noted the registration number. I go round the island often so if notice the license number will let you know. But we dun have your mobile leh how to contact you??? [:/]

no luck with rednano, but thanks for the link..

i'll PM u my cellphone number, maybe can drop me an sms on the location if you spot it. thanks.

If u are really confident that the other party wont claim.....u can tell your insurance company about it and request for undertaking letter. That undertaking letter would state that you would not make any insurance claim (for that incident only) should it arise in the future.

Actually asking the other party to sign the doc stating its been settled privately....is useless. Very long to explain.

Just sign the undertaking letter from your insurance company.

How I know......it happened to me.

If u are really confident that the other party wont claim.....u can tell your insurance company about it and request for undertaking letter. That undertaking letter would state that you would not make any insurance claim (for that incident only) should it arise in the future.

Actually asking the other party to sign the doc stating its been settled privately....is useless. Very long to explain.

Just sign the undertaking letter from your insurance company.

How I know......it happened to me.

they refuse to close the case even after i explain that i will not make any claims. they say they have to keep it open in case the other party makes a claim against me. does this undertaking include claims from other parties?

i have all the pictures and stuff, no worries. i have also made a report to my ex-insurer.

well, he wasn't quite interested to settle privately, until i mentioned to him it's not good for both parties if we go and claim each other, so he reluctantly agreed to settle my repairs for me from his pocket.

he didn't take down my particulars, didn't take any pictures and his lorry got no damage at all. so i'm not sure how he is going to claim if he doesn't have any of my particulars [laugh]

then safe liao...

they refuse to close the case even after i explain that i will not make any claims. they say they have to keep it open in case the other party makes a claim against me. does this undertaking include claims from other parties?

if its just a signature..... EVEN if you got the bugger to sign.... much difference? since you so sure he wont claim... and you willing to reassure the insurers... then just sign watever yourself and get your NCD back... case close... if you really afraid this dishonest bugger will eventually make a claim, even if you get him to sign also no use... anyways there is a tim limit to make a claim before your rights expire correct?

hmm.. you're right.. i'll call my ex-insurer again and see what they say. Most likely have to sign the letter of undertaking like what bro Zegnangez mentioned. Thanks!

I can gather you are a young chap.

You seem to want to get something ( like your NCD) restored even before actual future events become a reality.

Just do the neccessary and report the incident as required to your insurance co. and inform them the other party has paid for your repairs but don't want to formally acknowledged it.

Leave it with your insurance co. to deal with it. The Poodles are not interested in such cases of civil claims.

You have to live with matters as your insurnace deal with it and resolve it evntually.

Even if your insurance decides to pay up to the other party ( crazy as it seems here) , you also have NO SAY TO IT.

If you are so hard pressed to pay normal insurance rate without NCD for the time begin till issue resolves, then perphaps you can't afford to drive a car.

• Dislike 1

thanks for your advice, BUT:

1. my age is not relevant to this topic

2. whether i can afford to drive is not relevant to this topic

3. whether i can afford the normal insurance rate without NCD is also not relevant to this topic

[cool]

Some info i found from the web

http://www.vehicleowners.com/Claims.php

FAQs on Motor Claims and Loss of NCD

Q: Why is NCD reduced after a claim, even if the insured does not seem to be at fault?

A: The reason is: once any accident / claim is made known to the insurer, the insurer, by virtue of the insurance contract to indemnify the insured, has to reserve some funds in anticipation of any claim.

Q: What is the fastest way for the insured to get back his / her NCD?

A: However, if the insured is rather sure that the accident / claim is not due to his/her fault, the insured may ask the insurer to disregard the claim and reinstate the NCD. Depending on the circumstances, the insurer may ask the insured to sign a Letter of Indemnity* or Letter of Undertaking* to take over conduct of this claim. In other words, should there be any claim later on from any party with respect to this accident, the insurer would not be responsible. Instead, the insured would have to deal with the claim himself/herself.

* this is normally subject to there being no injury/death involved in the accident, ie only property damage is involved. If there is any injury/death in the accident, the insurer is then bound by Statue / Road Traffic Act to satisfy injury/death claims arising from road traffic accidents and therefore the insurer is in no position to accept such a letter / undertaking.

Q: Under what condition is it safe for the insured to give an undertaking to get back the NCD?

A: Thus, it is only advisable for the insured to sign such a Letter of Indemnity or Letter of Undertaking if the insured is rather sure he/she is not at fault. Otherwise, the insured, while saving some money upfront because of having the NCD, may end up paying a claim out of his / her own pocket later on.

Some clients may ask: is there any alternative: ie NOT having to sign the Letter of Indemnity / Letter of Undertaking but still get back the NCD.

Well, the alternative is to wait for the insurer to be satisfied that there is no more claim or liability on the policy and hence it would close the file without liability. The insured, in this manner, would also have his/her NCD reinstated.

Q: How long does the insured have to wait?

A: However, do note that this may take some time**. Under common law, the time bar for Third Party Property Damage claims is 6 years, ie within 6 years of the accident date, the third party can file a claim for property damage. For Third Party Injury claims, the time bar is 3 years. So the insured may appreciate that it is not that the insurer wanting to keep the file open but under the law, the insurer has an obligation to do so! The insurer would also like to close the file soonest and release any reserve funds put under this case!

Q: What else can the insured do to get back his NCD sooner?

A: Another way for the insured to assist the insurer to closing the file sooner (and get his/her NCD reinstated sooner!) is to keep his own insurer of his/her third party informed on the claim status against the third party. Suppose, the insured was sure it was the third party

I can gather you are a young chap.

You seem to want to get something ( like your NCD) restored even before actual future events become a reality.

Just do the neccessary and report the incident as required to your insurance co. and inform them the other party has paid for your repairs but don't want to formally acknowledged it.

Leave it with your insurance co. to deal with it. The Poodles are not interested in such cases of civil claims.

You have to live with matters as your insurnace deal with it and resolve it evntually.

Even if your insurance decides to pay up to the other party ( crazy as it seems here) , you also have NO SAY TO IT.

If you are so hard pressed to pay normal insurance rate without NCD for the time begin till issue resolves, then perphaps you can't afford to drive a car.

bro you last sentence very uncalled for... you so kaypo give advice then in the end talk c--k....

so i can gather that you will pay $20 for an item that cost $10..... good for you that you are rich... ^_^

hi, beehive

pls dun get mad if my reply does not soothe your ears.

i think you have over-reacted.

you should be very very relieved at this stage for the following facts;

- he paid for yr damage

- he din make any damage report within 24hr

- he din make any report to his insurance

you can imagine what's next if he did the opposite on the abovementioned!

you shud instead 'phew! thanks mannnnn'

i dunno why your insurer refused to help you.

within insurers themselves, they can locate the policy holder's contact.

or you can pay $5 or $10 to locate the other party's insurer personally from LTA and then call them for their policy holder's contact etc....

but by the fact that the driver carried out the abovementioned, its high chance that he wun / cannot counter claim you.

this means you can sign the 'letter of undertaking' if you insist yr original NCD.

btw, you din say how much is the damage????

if that driver had paid from his pocket, i assumed its a small amount . . . <$3K???

if that's true, then you can rest assure that there's no case for any loading in your insurance premiums or NCD (at least not for long) . . . .

so its actually your insurer wanna play punks with you, NOT that driver!!!

put it this way, what can your insurer do to you if you forged his signatory on that 'letter of undertaking' for that driver's signatory.......since you have all his details now.

the actual issue here lies on your current insurer - fire them if I am you . . . . !