SCHNELL Engine Oil 5W40

Cwinedine

Exactly.

carlube is damm big in UK. Even their racing circles use it a lot. [thumbsup]

And its still selling like hot-cakes.

Unlike so many snake oil additives. They usually disappear after a few years only. [sweatdrop] Thats about how long it takes to destroy yr car engine. [bigcry]

I actually tried using the w50 carlube (red sticker, 5L bottle) in my forester on one track day in Sepang. Prior to that I hv been to that track quite a few times in the same car (and same mods, except different suspension) and always used mobil 1 5w50.

my ride has sensors n gauges for oil temp and oil pressure, among others.

as usual, I did a fresh oil change a week before the track day. Didn't notice much difference on SG roads.

during the track session using carlube, I found that oil temp rose higher and faster than when using mobil 1 oil. More worryingly, oil pressure dipped close to 1 at idle when I came back to pitlane after some hot laps n cool down laps. Usually if using mobil 1, the oil pressue will be just under 2, at idle.

henceforth I stopped using CL oil. It could be ok for normal street use and/or non-turbo cars, I don't know. Never tried long enough to tell.

Haha! How big is it?

Big enough to make enough oil for my car?

Need about 3 litres leh

Mine with GP [scholar] references, it's about [:/] 400 grams in weight, let me check with my wife [gorgeous] how much she's having to contribute for your [thumbsup] experiment, if still not enough ? I will PM Uncle Picnic [sly] for loan in advance for your noble project [nod]

I actually tried using the w50 carlube (red sticker, 5L bottle) in my forester on one track day in Sepang. Prior to that I hv been to that track quite a few times in the same car (and same mods, except different suspension) and always used mobil 1 5w50.

as usual, I did a fresh oil change a week before the track day. Didn't notice much difference on SG roads.

during the track session using carlube, I found that oil temp rose higher and faster than when using mobil 1 oil. More worryingly, oil pressure dipped close to 1 at idle when I came back to pitlane after some hot laps n cool down laps. Usually if using mobil 1, the oil pressue will be just under 2, at idle.

henceforth I stopped using CL oil. It could be ok for normal street use and/or non-turbo cars, I don't know. Never tried long enough to tell.

If I had a turbo car and go tracking

I would only use a Group 5 oil like

Motul or Redline.

This is a very important fact. [nod]

For TRACKING......its very different from daily driving.

Its likely M1 IS much better for heavy use at the track.

I dun go tracking with my daily drive car. Thats why I have full confidence in carlube when its for daily driving. Its so much cheaper than M1 n serves its purpose well. [thumbsup]

So those who wish to go tracking...........then its better to use a more ex better quality EO for maximum protection. [nod]

If I had a turbo car and go tracking

I would only use a Group 5 oil like

Motul or Redline.

If u go tracking with a turbo car..................U r special. [thumbsup]

U can use chicken fats n it wil b more than enough.

Tires u can also use pick-up tires for more than enough traction.

Hahahahaha. [laugh]

This is a very important fact. [nod]

For TRACKING......its very different from daily driving.

Its likely M1 IS much better for heavy use at the track.

I dun go tracking with my daily drive car. Thats why I have full confidence in carlube when its for daily driving. Its so much cheaper than M1 n serves its purpose well. [thumbsup]

So those who wish to go tracking...........then its better to use a more ex better quality EO for maximum protection. [nod]

yup, exactly why I quoted your post which mentioned "carlube is big in UK. Even their racing circles use it a lot", when I described my personal experience.

the CL w50 sold in SG has been weighed, measured and found wanting on track - it can't tahan one set of hot laps. So just wanted to inform anyone who is thinking of testing CL on track [nod]

Bro @Fongmy , from post 836, may not be a good idea to use CL in ur IL6 TC engine. Esp since u really rev it up on nshw.

Edited by Baal

Bro @Fongmy , from post 836, may not be a good idea to use CL in ur IL6 TC engine. Esp since u really rev it up on nshw.

Yes, for saloon cars should be fine to use CL.

High pick-up powerful torques generates higher engine heating temperature which makes me concern when RPM remains at 5000+ constantly.

For tracking,

Motul 15W50 is one of the best oil i have used so far.

Now I am using Ravenol EO from Germany, only exclusive WS carries this EO to protect imitation.

Does that the mean that if CL can use 10k for normal engine/driving, that means that M1 & the likes can go 15k? [rolleyes]

Depending on which M1 or the likes you choose.

Example, if for my application, a normal synthetic can last 7000 km, with Redline, I may risk to change it out at 10,000 km.

There is no one size fits all.

CL is suitable for bread and butter cars which are not tc/sc-ed and direct injection

the heat from tc/sc and the fuel dilution from di usually kills oils faster

CL is suitable for bread and butter cars which are not tc/sc-ed and direct injection

the heat from tc/sc and the fuel dilution from di usually kills oils faster

There will be instances for some b&b cars in the way they are driven and/or used makes CL (or similar EO) not suitable.

20k Km according to my car manufacturer. [thumbsup][laugh]

I believe only if there is overheating or radiator boils over, then it can happen. Engine oil manufacturers already tested to destruction temperature during research. [thumbsup]

Can use SAE50 if still nervous. [laugh]

We should look out if the cartridge oil filter is of compact size (half sized and may be partially blocked/choked if utilised for more than 10K Km).

Saw sites say that old days oil filter 450ml. Today 250ml.

Likely the required oil pressure can not be achieved after 10k Km usage, with such compact cartridge oil filter. [lipsrsealed][shakehead]

u mean oil filter has an effect on pressure?

hence in the past, some say filter change w alternate eo change. With today's downsize, every eo change also need to change filter.