Eclipse1 2nd Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 (edited) hey there waaa u still have the time to horn him u funny leh, drove so near to him, if u wanna overtake the van, take lane 1, if lane 1 has oncoming cars, then take lane 3 if u r really rushing for time. btw u took lane 3 thereafter to overtake him cos u r angry ya the cam shows that its really close, but I have about at least 1 motorbike length in between..bonnet very high.. the lane 1 got cars behind closing... lane 3 empty so go lane 3 lor.. also can see the driver clearer ... lane 3 infront got big lorry so have to switch back lane 2 lor.. my lane change also not those jerky, aggressive type.. i wasn't going fast.. just that the driver driving around 65-70.. when I over took him, I was doing 80-85 only.. the cars on right should be on 95-100kmh. aiya.. this vid is the 2nd time I encounter the hogging action from this driver/vehicle.. 1st time no cam.. now got cam.. the driver like to jam brake when other drivers goes near him.. young driver in 20s.. hehe.. can video all the 'crazy' things happening on the roads.. Edited March 9, 2010 by Eclipse1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear March 9, 2010 Share March 9, 2010 If a commercial vehicle (whose speed limit is 60/70 km/h) tries to overtake me on the right, travelling way above his and the expressway's speed limit, I will simply maintain a speed that do not allow him to filter back into the 2nd lane. I love to see for how long he's willing to maintain 30-40 km/h above his limit speed. I'd let him get caught on camera driving at that speed. Most times they are scared to maintain high speed for long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 I saw a liteace that looks like a car. Lowered bodykit and stuff. And he put the speed limit sticker in a very very small font. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear March 10, 2010 Share March 10, 2010 Wah liew, traffic police dun want to catch all of them nothing we can do. These idiot Goods vehicles travel all the way on middle lane, although left lane is empty. I can understand if there is a bus there, but its just freaking empty. Sometimes i overtake them from the left cause right lane got cars, i look at them, they give me the 'nothing wrong with me travelling this lane' LJ look. If send video to TP got use, you will not see these idiots doing so. Many times lane 2 slows down is because of these vehicles who have longer braking distance and have to leave alot of space in front, thereby letting people cut left and right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Let's not forget that many van/lorry drivers might have a R1 or Haysbusa at home, some might have opc WRX. So don see then no up. Just that it's the van they are driving. But their driving style and habit are as per they more powerful vehicles. I always respect these good vehicles as long as they keep up the the road speed and not block others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 On 3 lane expressways, still can close 1 eye when good vehicle travel on lane 2 due to some extremely slow vehicles on lane 3. Whats the excuse for being on lane 2 on 5 lane expressways(some part of ECP) ? Noticed that on ECP too. I will honked at them, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 actually i encounter more malaysian lorries and vans hogging lane 1... last nite along pie oso like tat... i was behind a taxi and JB van me-->taxi-->JB van the taxi highbeam the van for at least 2km.... no reaction from the van... subsequently, both me n the taxi overtook the van via lane 2... the van was travelling at ard 70-80 ============== The JB van driver was probably high on stimulants as he did not sleep for 3 days. In a cosy world of his own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Funny thing is while they travel extreme left they will chiong and even will try to out speed you.Kena 1 time on BKE,This Van from my left overtake me when my speedo is ardy near 95kmh and then he change to middle lane.Ironically he slow down on that lane causing jams behind.I signal right then overtake him back before proceeding to the middle lane again.Dunno whats on their mind ================== He like to admire the front of your tank in his rear-view mirror. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 the cam shows that its really close, but I have about at least 1 motorbike length in between..bonnet very high.. the lane 1 got cars behind closing... lane 3 empty so go lane 3 lor.. also can see the driver clearer ... lane 3 infront got big lorry so have to switch back lane 2 lor.. my lane change also not those jerky, aggressive type.. i wasn't going fast.. just that the driver driving around 65-70.. when I over took him, I was doing 80-85 only.. the cars on right should be on 95-100kmh. aiya.. this vid is the 2nd time I encounter the hogging action from this driver/vehicle.. 1st time no cam.. now got cam.. the driver like to jam brake when other drivers goes near him.. young driver in 20s.. hehe.. can video all the 'crazy' things happening on the roads.. ================= What vehicle were u driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Let's not forget that many van/lorry drivers might have a R1 or Haysbusa at home, some might have opc WRX. So don see then no up. Just that it's the van they are driving. But their driving style and habit are as per they more powerful vehicles. I always respect these good vehicles as long as they keep up the the road speed and not block others. ============== Doesn't matter what "other" vehicles they have. They sud drive accordingly with the vehicle they r driving at that time. If they want to drive a van like a WRX or Hayabusa, they r looking for trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 Noticed that on ECP too. I will honked at them, My take on ECP especially. Dun drive on lane 1 cos it is a slow lane sometimes, I can drive on extreme left lanes on ECP & yet be the fastest vehicle otr. Yup I m a vanner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 14, 2010 Share March 14, 2010 ============== Doesn't matter what "other" vehicles they have. They sud drive accordingly with the vehicle they r driving at that time. If they want to drive a van like a WRX or Hayabusa, they r looking for trouble. Spot on...I ride a bike but drive a van or even light truck, drive according to the vehicle limits, but that does not mean sg speed limit for van in sg is designed according to vehicle limit. Given any eurovan, their stability is on par with many sedan or saloon, they have a passenger model in europe too, take vw caddy & touran cos they r pretty identical and those 4wd double cabs with powerful engines too. The problem with many rd users in Sg is, we r either too slow or too fast, too slow make ppl angry, those that r too fast r pretty impatient who came in at high speed & tailgate u, wanna move left to give way also make oneself sweat like hell. Sometimes I wanna move left to give way but situation dun allow but vehicle behind keep pushing u to do so. Fate....stuck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 (edited) Spot on...I ride a bike but drive a van or even light truck, drive according to the vehicle limits, but that does not mean sg speed limit for van in sg is designed according to vehicle limit. Given any eurovan, their stability is on par with many sedan or saloon, they have a passenger model in europe too, take vw caddy & touran cos they r pretty identical and those 4wd double cabs with powerful engines too. The problem with many rd users in Sg is, we r either too slow or too fast, too slow make ppl angry, those that r too fast r pretty impatient who came in at high speed & tailgate u, wanna move left to give way also make oneself sweat like hell. Sometimes I wanna move left to give way but situation dun allow but vehicle behind keep pushing u to do so. Fate....stuck! ============== The speed limit on goods vehicles r cos mostly they r heavily loaded with goods so the handling wil not b as good as a passenger car. Also many goods vehicles r not as well maintained as personal cars. I do agree the eurovans have very good handling. Maybe in about 10 or 20 years, our gharman wil realise this & with heavy pressure from some big boys, the laws might b changed. just look at the way diesel vehicles r taxed here. Actually in most other developed countries, diesels r given tax concessions cos the euro IV onwards diesels r even cleaner than petrol engines. But then again we live in a unique country where $$$ matters more than anything else. Edited March 15, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirjimmy 1st Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 once was travelling behind 3 container trucks going side by side on the AYE @ pioneer 2wards city... took the lane 1 container truck like at least 3 mins to overtake the lane 2 to free up the traffic behind... sign... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear March 15, 2010 Share March 15, 2010 Let's not forget that many van/lorry drivers might have a R1 or Haysbusa at home, some might have opc WRX. So don see then no up. Just that it's the van they are driving. But their driving style and habit are as per they more powerful vehicles. I always respect these good vehicles as long as they keep up the the road speed and not block others. bro. u very comical leh... i doubt its about see them no up and probably no one bother they have wrx/gtr/evo at home... its based on what vehicle they drive on the road.... van had a speed limit of 70 and cars have a speed limit 80/90.. obviously they (lane 1/2) have to travel above stated speed limit to keep up with private cars... (assume non peak hours) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 ============== The speed limit on goods vehicles r cos mostly they r heavily loaded with goods so the handling wil not b as good as a passenger car. Also many goods vehicles r not as well maintained as personal cars. I do agree the eurovans have very good handling. Maybe in about 10 or 20 years, our gharman wil realise this & with heavy pressure from some big boys, the laws might b changed. just look at the way diesel vehicles r taxed here. Actually in most other developed countries, diesels r given tax concessions cos the euro IV onwards diesels r even cleaner than petrol engines. But then again we live in a unique country where $$$ matters more than anything else. Sigh...if they think like that, we have have more diesels cars otr already. Think of the rd tax for a normal 2litre diesel engine, freaking expensive even after tax reductions, who, in the right mind would buy one? I only manage to spot one R50 audi in clementi area so far, but look at msia with their Chevy Captiva or Hyundai Santafe, go closer and hear, voila diesel engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 Sigh...if they think like that, we have have more diesels cars otr already. Think of the rd tax for a normal 2litre diesel engine, freaking expensive even after tax reductions, who, in the right mind would buy one? I only manage to spot one R50 audi in clementi area so far, but look at msia with their Chevy Captiva or Hyundai Santafe, go closer and hear, voila diesel engine. ============== Yes & the small reduction in R Tax on diesel cars only came about after the big fish of Daimler Benz Germany questioned why SG still discourage diesel cars whereas in Europe they r encouraged cos they r much more cleaner than petrol engines. He cant ustand why so few diesel cars r sold in SG as it makes good sense in terms of clean air & reduced fuel consumption. But then as our tax structure is done in a funny way, the gharmen wont want to change anything & end up losing revenue in the process. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xpose Clutched March 16, 2010 Share March 16, 2010 was traveling on KJE going to work on monday when there is this Kia lorry with reg plate GX64XXX traveling in front of me. From KJE entrance at BKE, that darn lorry was traveling in the 1st lane and was hogging up the lane at 70km/h straight even though there was ample opportunity for the driver to switch back to the middle lane, the driver simply bo chup. Was a bit agitated by his behavior hence gave him a very polite high beam to hint him to switch to the middle lane again the driver bo chup. Ended up fishing out my camera and took a picture of the vehicle with flash, then he switch back to the middle lane and purposely slow down to wait for me to overtake him and gave me the WTF look. This morning, same route and timing again, saw the same lorry, but this time he was traveling behind my vehicle and same thing happens, all the way in lane 1 until almost reaching the choa chu kang overhead bridge then he quickly switch to middle lane. There was a big distance between my vehicle and that darn Kia lorry... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...