Minimum pay to evade ICT

Ahtong

From my personal experience:

- Working for govt or govt related companies: No problem with ICT

- Working in private sector: Depends on many factors like co size, appointment, job nature ....

- Senior mgt and boss: More troublesome.

This minimum pay is one interesting myth to explore since there are WOSE out there whose pay can hire at least a section's worth of younger, fitter and more current men.

Always sure got ppl like TS whine about the same issue. As if only his job/career at stake or smth. Look around lah. You think ppl got a choice? Boh bian lah. If you are not a sick chicken who can always produce some kinda excuse and not an elite to siam ICT, just do it and move on with your life.

Or you can always cut off your KKJ and wear a skirt, instant excuse from ICT for good.

From my personal experience:

- Working for govt or govt related companies: No problem with ICT

- Working in private sector: Depends on many factors like co size, appointment, job nature ....

- Senior mgt and boss: More troublesome.

This minimum pay is one interesting myth to explore since there are WOSE out there whose pay can hire at least a section's worth of younger, fitter and more current men.

If the top or big boss is patriotic for the country, even senior management like country managers can still get called up for reservist......notwithstanding the huge responsibilities some of these positions have..... [furious][:p]

Just go ICT. Treat as a well earned break. Of course, unless your work need you full time (incl no leave), then ask your company to write to SAF

Ya I agree where in the world can u find a Gov pay ur mth pay for you to relax and sometime even free oversea trip hahaha. Just treat it as a break and gathering of good old friends from army days.

FYI, I am already pursuing means to siam or defer my ICT this time. This is unlike the typical cyber hero who is righteous online but secretly green eyes and wish he had the guts / initiative / luck to siam as well.

Dan I wish you the best of luck.

From what I have experienced, a lot depends on your CO. I have campmates who worked out a schedule to show to CO and discuss face to face to workout a schedule which both can agree upon. To me this is a smarter way of doing things cos they are killing 2 birds with 1 stone, fulfilling their NS obligations and getting their work done.

I have heard rumours that SAF will not send SAF100 to people earning above a certain amount. Does anyone know what is the minimum amount for SAF to consider someone too expensive?

my 2 ic, declared annual income is a few millions. his own law firm.

still attend ICT.

to me, ICT is no choice. use this opportunity to network, meet old pals. I also learn about ifferent industries from talking and get different perspective of things.

for e.g. 2IC sharing the cases is an eye opener. and people do dig his brains for legal matters foc.

FYI, I am already pursuing means to siam or defer my ICT this time. This is unlike the typical cyber hero who is righteous online but secretly green eyes and wish he had the guts / initiative / luck to siam as well.

if money is not really an issue then you can look for a specialist to certify you unfit for this and that....after a few visit to the MO i think your unit OC also sian to call you up.

im a cpl medic. till tdy havent kenna call up before. maybe they hate me. lol

don't be too sure. I was called up for my first ICT when I was 28 I think. But I have a colleague who has not been called up since he RODed almost 17 years ago. He 3SG infantry.

actually i wanna go ICT. i hope i get called. but so far never.

btw.. i have got excuse stay-in, excuse heavy load, excuse upper and lower limb. dunno is it this that they nvr call me yet.

I enjoy my ICT every year as it is a good break from work. This year high key and may be my last one since I will have satisfied my 7 HK and 3 LK by then. If not, max next year I will MR due to age. I still PES B so still need to do IPPT (don't mind since got money to earn).

Edited by Kxbc

My secondary schoolmate, coincidentally my broker, is raking in about $300K per year (declared and reported to IRAS).

His vocation: Tankee (driver)

Medical Status: Downgraded to Pec C - something (permanently)

Result: He still gets called back for ICT annually - as and when his unit has ICTs. Basically, he gets paid rather substantially to snooze, play daidee, canteen breaks, etc - during ICTs.

actually most people i met in ict feels that so long as they don't waste time, the ICT was meaningful and useful and they think they did something that was worth the time, then its not so bad. of cos they rather not be there at all.

at the end, we just wanna know what we did is not a waste of time. and we all certainly know how useful our roles in ICT was.

actually most people i met in ict feels that so long as they don't waste time, the ICT was meaningful and useful and they think they did something that was worth the time, then its not so bad. of cos they rather not be there at all.

at the end, we just wanna know what we did is not a waste of time. and we all certainly know how useful our roles in ICT was.

Agree about your point raised. There will of course be some time wasting for some folks as the officers got to plan the ops and brief the commander before the ops plan can be delivered to the men. Sometimes the waiting can really kill but can always use this chance to catch up with the platoon mates.

Edited by Kxbc

Is this thread still alive? I don't agree that doing reservist is at all relaxing as it just means that there'll be backlog accumulated in the company sia. I did my reservist for the first time and realized that it is really not worth it. It doesn't matter if they can afford the make up pay but the amount of unpaid OT you have to do after is unjustified. Maybe I'm working in a startup that's why but it's really not worth it and I'm also keen on finding a way to defer reservist/ get out of it.

19 minutes ago, kuroxquek said:

Is this thread still alive? I don't agree that doing reservist is at all relaxing as it just means that there'll be backlog accumulated in the company sia. I did my reservist for the first time and realized that it is really not worth it. It doesn't matter if they can afford the make up pay but the amount of unpaid OT you have to do after is unjustified. Maybe I'm working in a startup that's why but it's really not worth it and I'm also keen on finding a way to defer reservist/ get out of it.

First get a specialist to downgrade you. They will change your vocation and there's a good chance you will be lost in the system for a year or two or even forever.

If they still keep calling you then go take MC lor. Now covid even better, just claim you got cough or some shit and you get 3 days MC - like that you skip 1 cycle already.

I am one of those lost in the cycle. Have only been back twice (1 day each) for some lame battalion cohesion day. Basically just go back, play lame games, eat buffet then eff off. Still considered a waste of time la.

4 more years for me to evade them then I am free for good liao.

Oh yes, I forgot one more instance where I got suckered during recall manning. 

I thought it would be just going back to take attendance (I arrived at the very last instance) but little did I expect them to send us all for range. Wasted half my Saturday and no off in lieu from my company.

Learn from my experience, next time you guys are called back for recall manning, just go see a doctor or slip across the causeway then tell them you are on MC or in Malaysia.

• Dislike 1