Toyota Prius in runaway drama on California freeway

Ben5266

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...309-203454.html

Sounds like Hollywood movie, but this is REAL.

"...The terrified motorist was helpless as the car hurtled out of control along the road at speeds more than 90 miles per hour.

However Sikes was able to call police, and officers using a loudspeaker talked the driver through the process of slowing down by using his emergency brake and then turning off the engine.

Police then pulled in front of the car as it decelerated and rolled to a stop and put the rear bumper of the squad car against the front of the Prius...."

hmmm...he will then get into trouble for using the phone while driving

hahaha... never thought of that. meaning his driving skill is not bad. 90 mph can still free up 1 hand to call 999.

More evidence that unintentional acceleration is not limited to those 8 millions car recalled in USA and Europe. Only to show problem is bigger than what toyota told us.

Oh no I must becareful.

I can see that this Prius is the Gen II model.

The bloody same model that I am driving.

LTA and my PI still do not want to recall.

Hiz....

I think i must drive very slowly le....

OH no no hand brake........

keyless somemore... siao liao

OMG

like mission imposssible now lor

I know Toyota also had a factory in US.

Think the technology not as good as Japan.

Always happen in US only.

My car Japan still ok lah hor....

[:(]

This

"The terrified motorist was helpless as the car hurtled out of control along the road at speeds more than 90 miles per hour."

Is terrible reporting and horrible use of the english language.

if the car was "out of control" it would have crashed already, it didn't, so by definition the car was "under control" - it was the acceleration that was out of control

Oh no I must becareful.

I can see that this Prius is the Gen II model.

The bloody same model that I am driving.

LTA and my PI still do not want to recall.

Hiz....

I think i must drive very slowly le....

OH no no hand brake........

keyless somemore... siao liao

off the engine lo.. if all else fails, get to the back of the car, remove the rear seat bench and pull out the petrol line.

oh wait, prius is hybrid, can run on electricity also.

GG [laugh]

OMG

like mission imposssible now lor

I know Toyota also had a factory in US.

Think the technology not as good as Japan.

Always happen in US only.

My car Japan still ok lah hor....

[:(]

Sorry to say, the brake issue was initiated by the Japan Authority. So my guess japanese made also affected.

off the engine lo.. if all else fails, get to the back of the car, remove the rear seat bench and pull out the petrol line.

oh wait, prius is hybrid, can run on electricity also.

GG [laugh]

got 2 engine

one electrical motor and one gas motor

so off engine the electric engine still one leh

hahaha

i better get wings

if i cannot stop i will fly ......

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...309-203454.html

Sounds like Hollywood movie, but this is REAL.

"...The terrified motorist was helpless as the car hurtled out of control along the road at speeds more than 90 miles per hour.

However Sikes was able to call police, and officers using a loudspeaker talked the driver through the process of slowing down by using his emergency brake and then turning off the engine.

Police then pulled in front of the car as it decelerated and rolled to a stop and put the rear bumper of the squad car against the front of the Prius...."

In open/empty road still okay, in typical road like singapore, some ppl will have to go to heaven earlier.....

I agree bro.

I will becareful

hehe

hmmm...he will then get into trouble for using the phone while driving

US can use hp while driving