Tinted lights

Ididbobe

just checking.....i was a DIY store called Homefix last nite and saw this product they were selling which can restore the clarity in ur headlamps to make it look clear and transparent. h/w there was this variant on the side which cld enable u to a blue /pink/black tint to the lamps?? i am not sure since i hv been surprised many times over on what is not LTA compliant wanted to chk if this tinting of headlamps or rear lights is ok??

the website of the company is : www.coat-innovative.com.sg

better dun anyhow mod. wait cannot pass inspection. quite a number of workshop pple and inspectors went to lim kopi wif CPIB liao

it has been approved by LTA.

The email from LTA allow this product to be sold - if not such big organisation like HomeFix would not sell.

Below is the reply as such from LTA:

We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority does not engage in the type-approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will, however be concerned if the fitting of such accessories adversely affect the safety and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle. We have, in general, no objections to the use of Headlamp Coating Kit Product so long as it does not affect the safe operation of the vehicle.

Some places it's illegal, but some cops won't make that much of a big deal about it.

There is a few different methods tinting your lights. You can purchase a spray on stuff such as Nightshade and then add clear coat after to give it that shine. You can also take it to a body shop and they'll apply a tinted clear coat which looks much nicer. Or you can purchase a glue on film such as Lamin-x.

it has been approved by LTA.

The email from LTA allow this product to be sold - if not such big organisation like HomeFix would not sell.

Below is the reply as such from LTA:

We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority does not engage in the type-approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will, however be concerned if the fitting of such accessories adversely affect the safety and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle. We have, in general, no objections to the use of Headlamp Coating Kit Product so long as it does not affect the safe operation of the vehicle.

wow! seriously? tinted headlamp is approved by LTA! I'll go get them tonight!

btw TS, which home fix store did you go to? and what are the choices of colors?

thanks alot!

Very strange,some people like very very bright light [furious] [used 6000K HID bulbs],some people like to tint their lights... :D[laugh]

some people fix HID too bright liao tint their lights

some people tint their lights too dark liao fix HID [laugh]

This reminds me of the joke that the Taiwanese commented on SAF vehicles - Turning on the headlight in the day, and turning the headlight off (on tactical lights) at night!

[rifle][rifle][rifle]

Those tinted film for head and Rear light is it legal in sg?

No. Headlights and Taillights cannot modify at all in SG. Everything must be same as how it came from the factory.

Edited by Nzy

Those tinted film for head and Rear light is it legal in sg?

Not legal but simple...

The tinting is not gonna cost you alot. Just remove them before inspection and all will be good.

Also depends on the degree you tint, if its 1-2 shades darker, LTA normally won't stop you on the roads.

You measure your own tolerance to enforcement la. Aesthetics vs convenience, see which is more important to you lor