Anyone out there driving Mitsubishi Colt Plus Turbo?

Ferraricalifornia

buy 2nd hand car quite dangerous...i got a 4 friends who bought and only 1 of them no prob till now. Problems occur after a few months up to a year.

actually booting the turbo pressure might or might not hurt the gear box.... for the case u see.. those ppl are those who set the pressure too high pushing their engine to product over 250bhp.... well this is possible but gearbox might not be able to take it in long run... as stock pressure is @ 0.4 bar... having a boots controller with Unichip tuning... set to 0.8 bar or 1 bar is enough for CVR.... wat i recommand is tune untill 200bhp is good enough le.. don go beyond that...

ur stock boost 0.4 nia? mine stock 0.5 to 0.6. bro don't poison me leh.. i'm happy to keep stock at least for now.. too fast wifey wil kpkb.. thx for sharin bro. need mod lobang wil PM u :)

me drivin one now & enjoyin every moment.

nice design (subjective); very nice wen zhng'ed w ralliart parts

good for straight line acceleration & weavin betw traffic (if u do so)

above avg fc (me get avg 12+km/l w shell 98)

closely matched gear ratios until 4th gear

max torque at 2.5k rpm (2nd gear pulls > 1st gear)

very versatile w various seat config

electric tailgate

etacs functions like mirror fold / windscreen wind after car locked

high omv; most affordable yet most pracical turbo car for family man

all auto door windscreen (on driver ctl)

safety features like tailgate & windscreen move opposite obstruction path

smooth cvt = smooth ride (many dont like it though)

easy to wash / park / maneuvre

fabric seat dont feel hot if parked under hot sun

bassy exhaust tune (not loud)

nice turbo spinnin sound (or swirlin-air-being-sucked sound?)

factory fitted parts like strut bar, alloy rims, privacy glass for all rear doors & tailgate

clear tail lamps

dislikes:

doesn't handle as good like wen tacklin corners (mayb i dunno how to handle turbo throttle?)

suspension setup not as firm as i expected

15" stock rims kinda small (16" should improve handlin & nicer, of cos with good set of rubbers) although not ugly

doors feel "tincan"; car feels not as heavy

fabric seat (expect "baut" for older cars)

no armrest & boot power socket (unlike colt plus)

plasticky interior (short for the red trimmings dat's chio)

rough engine (after 4k rpm)

effective torque range too narrow (though specs stated max torque till 5k rpm, but i felt kinda drag at 4k rpm)

as mine is few mths old car, cant advise any issues. but i've chk w few colt plus owners - no issues thruout 3-4yrs ownin; unsure abt turbo though. but dont mod cvt car - i've known someone drivin cvr whose cvt failed 6x thruout 1.5yrs owning cos he modded engine settin like boost pressure. STAY STOCK.

cheers :)

I bought the 1st batch of the vented bonnet CPT in late 06, milage as of now 100k+.

I must say that this is a great little car. Very versatile, you can do grocery, ferry your kids, load a 42" plasma and go tracking too.

FC still very good at 10+km/l with slight mod (200+HP), no problem so far unless you into heavy mod like pushing close to 300HP.

Just sharing.

ur stock boost 0.4 nia? mine stock 0.5 to 0.6. bro don't poison me leh.. i'm happy to keep stock at least for now.. too fast wifey wil kpkb.. thx for sharin bro. need mod lobang wil PM u :)

wahahaha... i dono, 0.4bar is my workshop tell me de... and i lazy to go check it out... maybe he is wrong... but nvm.... i on my way to boots up to 1 bar.. and some minor tuning.. and gd to go... [laugh]

Zaf ,u changed ur ride already ah haha .

Fuelsaver ur stock boost .5 -.6 ? my colt frends say .4 nia ??

go track playplay wanna Zaf ? also alot new ppl gng =]

my stock was .5-.6, now running at around .8-.9

Cvr also same ?? den mayb they said wrong =]

they say the stock boost cant feel ,so all up boost .

Zaf u gng Emanage Ulti huh or Unichip ?

I bought the 1st batch of the vented bonnet CPT in late 06, milage as of now 100k+.

I must say that this is a great little car. Very versatile, you can do grocery, ferry your kids, load a 42" plasma and go tracking too.

FC still very good at 10+km/l with slight mod (200+HP), no problem so far unless you into heavy mod like pushing close to 300HP.

Just sharing.

thx for sharin! cant agree more with VERSATILITY.

wahahaha... i dono, 0.4bar is my workshop tell me de... and i lazy to go check it out... maybe he is wrong... but nvm.... i on my way to boots up to 1 bar.. and some minor tuning.. and gd to go... [laugh]

bro, can share how u boost to 1 bar n ur minor tuning? thx.

saw readin on my recently installed boost meter, cant b wrong ba..

my stock was .5-.6, now running at around .8-.9

waseh, how u did dat? i think .8 very optimum.

Edited by Fuelsaver

Mine CPT boost is 1.2 bar.

Recently just installed JASMA race intercooler.

Pushing it to 230~240bHp

Edited by Wah_zai

Pushing it to 230~240bHp

how long u boosted? cvt gearbox no issues?

Pushing it to 230~240bHp

reflash to remove boost cut? got strengthen internal? careful dun piang gearbox.

maintenance for the colt plus ralliart is quite alot because of the turbo..........same goes for the fuel consumption. I would not recommend you to get it, especially if it secondhand. Parts for this car is also expensive.

Maintenance for the CPT is just like any other Jap Sedan.

Change oil every 10k. Unless you are kind who goes tracking or zua.

FC easily can hit 12km/l stock.

A Civic FD2 can barely do 10km/l and it would be outsprinted by the CPT.

A boost controller cost only a few hundred bucks and you can push another 30hp comfortably. And yes 'legally'.

You tell me which other car at this price can do it?

Anyone driving CPT here can recommend a set of suitable shocks for this car? Not too expensive ones please.. And also a reasonably cheap place to purchase and install..

Cheers! ^_^