Shell? Esso? Mobil? Caltex? SPC

Melvinyuen

Shell? Esso? Mobil? Caltex? SPC  

401 members have voted

1. 1. which petrol gives your ride the best milage?

• shell
    • esso
    • mobil
    • caltex
    • spc

wow dude super...

your tank is 45L or 50L

its all highway driving for you and if in Singapore i think you will not get 600km or 650km for that tank

haha

I can get about 900km fm my 60 lit tank if I cruise n dont floor it too much while cruising on NSH.

Cruising at a constant 90km/h-100km/h is much more economical than driving about town with many stops n starts. And close all windows n use the AC for less wind resistance.

oh

Maybe its true for the engine noise!

But I still recon that it will still not make my car go faster!

The mindset of people sometimes things that putting premium octane level petrol will make their car go faster which is not true!

Hey Good-Carbuyer, you know anything aout car compression ratio?

I think most cars can take 95 or 92 in Octane petrol in Singapore right?

In States they have 87 premium but in Singapore we have Premium 98.

Even 92 is of a higher grade then the states!

SG uses RON(Research Octane Number) but States use a different standard. Their 87 is higher octane if converted to RON.

Also many US cars have big low compression engines so can make do with lower octane petrol.

Last time when i was a biker, the results of my butt feel is Caltex is the best. V power waste money. For bike, being much lighter, i tink i can feel the difference better. Now drive car, all also feel the same so i just go to the best discount or nearest to my house/work place which is between SPC and ESSO. Whichever 2 is fine. Having said dat i do most of my pumping in boleh land.

for me spc gives me better fc leh.

but ultimately, spc giving better discount so i stick with spc. previously was caltex

Edited by Frog

my friend is driving Sunny, SPC or Shell doesn't makes any difference to him. But for me, it makes a noticeable difference!

Shell power is bigger than SPC. When using SPC, I have to be a heavy footer to get the satisfatory pickup. Moreover, my engine roars louder when using SPC, there is really big difference in the pickup power and comfort.

Prob asked a million times before, but does it really make a difference? I've switched btw 95 and 98 and dont feel any noticeable diff in mileage and power.

Whoever gibe better discount, will pump who...... so long the petrol put in the ride can move..... does not make sense to pay more $$$....

Previously the 18% for DBS Esso Mastercard w/ Smiles was up to 31 Mar 2011. I've checked that petrolwatch still shows discount, but am not sure that this is updated.

Does anyone know whether the 18% has been extended?

Singapore use SPC. From 95 upgrade to 98 due to some modification that require higher octane fuel. If Malaysia, of course Petronas.

Like most forummers who chose SPC, I chose it because of better discount. Most SPC also have AXS, POSB ATM services.

Instead of starting a new topic, i'm using this one to share lobang...

Just received a notice on Facebook for Caltex..http://www.facebook.com/CaltexSingapore

Enjoy up to 16% petrol discount at Caltex Lorong Chuan!

5% site discount + 5% bonus discount (with minimum $50 petrol purchase) + 6% discount for HSBC, OCBC and SAFRA cardmembers

So if u pay by Citi Dividend (+5%) or StanChart Xtrasaver (+10%), total discount is going beyond 20% [thumbsup]

edit: over 20% if u are using Safra card with Citi/StanChart... Safra discounts can't stack on top of HSBC/OCBC..

Edited by Solar

Just received a notice on Facebook for Caltex..http://www.facebook.com/CaltexSingapore

5% site discount + 5% bonus discount (with minimum $50 petrol purchase) + 6% discount for HSBC, OCBC and SAFRA cardmembers

So if u pay by Citi Dividend (+5%) or StanChart Xtrasaver (+10%), total discount is going beyond 20% [thumbsup]

edit: over 20% if u are using Safra card with Citi/StanChart... Safra discounts can't stack on top of HSBC/OCBC..

Thats simply cool....

THanks for sharing ....

Thanks for sharing =)

I always pump ESSO however, its air pump is very very lousy which is analog.

Caltex air pump is the best as it is digital type.

Which station?

I know Lavender stn is using analog.

Others are all digital!

I always pump ESSO however, its air pump is very very lousy which is analog.

Caltex air pump is the best as it is digital type.

Sheell air pump worest, got water in air

Which station?

I know Lavender stn is using analog.

Others are all digital!

The common place that I pumped is Thomson, beside Thomson Plaza. Air pump is analog, needle type.

Other areas whereby Air pump also analog, needle type. Damn lousy, outdated air pump. 

a) ESSO@ 622 Queensway Singapore 149061. 

b) ESSO @ 174 Holland Rd.

Ended up I usually go Caltex to pump my tyre. Caltex air pump is the best!

best mileage and velly gd power + smoothness- caltex

good mileage average power + smoothness - esso/mobile

velly gd power no mileage rough - shell (the old formula)

bad mileage and bad power rough - spc

SPC is the worst. My 2 cars after pumping SPC, "bo luck". I banned SPC for years already.

Interesting topic to discuss.

• Caltex: Good for mid-high end drive (highway drive) + Feel more power + Good for Conti cars
  • Esso/Mobil: Good for low end drive (city drive) + Feel more smoother + Good for Jap/Kor Cars
  • Shell: Average drive + Feel rough and noisy + Good for nothing unless using V-power + Good marketing skill in Singapore
  • SPC: OK drive + Fuel meter drops kinda fast + Good for those who love to throw money away (LOL)

In conclusion, Caltex serves a good drive when mostly in highway while Esso/Mobil serves a good drive when mostly in city drive.

Nonetheless, this is just my observation and might not be accurate. Most importantly, drive safe.  [drivingcar]