Five Billionaires Who Live Below Their Means

Blackseal

At least once in your life - maybe even once a week or once a day for that matter - you have fantasized about coming into a lot of money. What would you do if you were worth millions or even billions? Believe it or not there are millionaires and billionaires among us who masquerade as relatively normal, run-of-the-mill people. Take a peek at some of the most frugal wealthy people in the world.

Warren Buffett

Millions of people read Buffett's books and follow his firm, Berkshire Hathaway's, every move. But the real secret to Buffett's personal fortune may be his penchant for frugality. Buffett, who is worth an estimated $47 billion, eschews opulent homes and luxury items. He and his wife still live in their modest home in Omaha, Nebraska which they purchased for just $31,500 more than 50 years ago.

Although he's dined in the best restaurants around the globe, given the choice he would opt for a good burger and fries accompanied by a cold cherry Coke. When asked why he doesn't own a yacht he responded "Most toys are just a pain in the neck." (Find out how he went from selling soft drinks to buying up companies and making billions of dollars.

Carlos Slim

While most of the world is very familiar with Bill Gates, the name Carlos Slim rarely rings a bell. But it's a name worth knowing. Slim, who is a native of Mexico, was just named the world's richest billionaire

cannot be lah, like that how to show they are successful and better than others ?

But it's the truth....The Ikea founder is the best example [nod]

cannot be lah, like that how to show they are successful and better than others ?

Go read the book "millionaire next door". You will be surprised by the findings. Most millionaires are frugal and live below their means. Those who are flashy with big cars, big yachts and big houses are people selected by media to sell newspapers and magazines. Generally most millionaires do not behave that way.

Moral of the story, to be one of the world richest man, find a wife who don't want branded handbags, don't want 5 star hotel stay and willing to take public transport!

But it's the truth....The Ikea founder is the best example [nod]

I support IKEA furniture, even though it makes someone richer. [knife]

Need to show off how successful you are meh? People who are really rich will not show but those who try to flash their wealth are merely trying to boost their low ego/self-esteem but in fact their pockets are all empty.

erm..dont need to... they let their bank statements do all the showing...

and unlike asians, there are no 'face' issues....that the richer must have better things

Edited by Karoon

Need to show off how successful you are meh? People who are really rich will not show but those who try to flash their wealth are merely trying to boost their low ego/self-esteem but in fact their pockets are all empty.

Fully agreed.....These people may not that rich after all.

You measure wealth by how much you treat money like manure.

This is more or less taken from Hello Dolly musical. In your hands, money is filthy like manure but if you know where to throw it around, it helps other people grow when it is needed.

Moral of the story, to be one of the world richest man, find a wife who don't want branded handbags, don't want 5 star hotel stay and willing to take public transport!

If not you end up like a sucker, work and save so hard and money all gana use up... [laugh]

Take what you read with a pinch of salt. They may be spending their money on other stuffs they found worthy.

Maybe instead of buying a lousy sports car or yatch, they rather get a truckload of fine wine.

Take what you read with a pinch of salt. They may be spending their money on other stuffs they found worthy.

Maybe instead of buying a lousy sports car or yatch, they rather get a truckload of fine wine.

Yup, they probably have other unconventional indulgence...

At least once in your life - maybe even once a week or once a day for that matter - you have fantasized about coming into a lot of money. What would you do if you were worth millions or even billions? Believe it or not there are millionaires and billionaires among us who masquerade as relatively normal, run-of-the-mill people. Take a peek at some of the most frugal wealthy people in the world.

Warren Buffett

Millions of people read Buffett's books and follow his firm, Berkshire Hathaway's, every move. But the real secret to Buffett's personal fortune may be his penchant for frugality. Buffett, who is worth an estimated $47 billion, eschews opulent homes and luxury items. He and his wife still live in their modest home in Omaha, Nebraska which they purchased for just $31,500 more than 50 years ago.

Although he's dined in the best restaurants around the globe, given the choice he would opt for a good burger and fries accompanied by a cold cherry Coke. When asked why he doesn't own a yacht he responded "Most toys are just a pain in the neck." (Find out how he went from selling soft drinks to buying up companies and making billions of dollars.

Carlos Slim

While most of the world is very familiar with Bill Gates, the name Carlos Slim rarely rings a bell. But it's a name worth knowing. Slim, who is a native of Mexico, was just named the world's richest billionaire

Haha. knn....

billionaire liao how to live over their means? Very difficult man!

WRONG!

dis billygoats, they just too 'pan dang' or they just know too much too well

if yr car get you kana big 4D - will you sell it?

likewise, if yr lodge secure you from rags to riches - then it has the best feng shui - so the appreciator will never never leave that spot, & even wanna die in it.

why gates is still alive to date - he could have died long ago if not for his charity foundations - same as the rest . . . . .

cheers!

WRONG!

dis billygoats, they just too 'pan dang' or they just know too much too well

if yr car get you kana big 4D - will you sell it?

likewise, if yr lodge secure you from rags to riches - then it has the best feng shui - so the appreciator will never never leave that spot, & even wanna die in it.

why gates is still alive to date - he could have died long ago if not for his charity foundations - same as the rest . . . . .

cheers!

wtf are you talking about -.-

boh link?