Mkl22 Supersonic August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/22/2022 at 5:41 PM, Kopites said: I know. 😁 In forum must be polite. 😁 Anyway if for 9 months tenure I would rather go for the up coming 12 months T bill. Last issuance of 12 months Tbill was at 3.1%pa. Back to the BOC table. Either 24months for above OA 2.5% or 1 month for 0.1%. Work out the BOC table not really tempting relative to 6 mth or 12 mth Tbill imo. If small sum probably go to the bank. Biggest sum surely MAS tbill for me. Isn’t small sum T bills. Min is 1k. Got decent rates for FD at banks with $1K? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 23, 2022 Share August 23, 2022 On 8/22/2022 at 9:56 PM, Khng8 said: Singapura Finance safe? My friend asking. 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 38 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Singapura Finance safe? My friend asking. 😁 My fren says Mahjulah Singapura!...i tink he meant Huat Ah!! 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 12 minutes ago, mikk123 said: safe up to $75k only, got insurance. just put $75K in 10 banks lo sifu @Enye says one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 3 hours ago, BanCoe said: There is a (strange) bond closing in the next few days(aug 26) N522100N SGS GOVT BOND x 5 years but seems like an open one like T bills with no figures of interest (unlike) the normal SSB which is 10 years and shows the interest rates at every stage and that one closes on 1sept (GX220902) Maybe bro @Voodooman can elighten .... thanks in advance They are govt bonds, pricing will be out after auction date, like T-bills. Indicative pricing for your reference. I am not exactly familiar with this, 5 years too long for me. https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/statistics/fdanet/SgsBenchmarkIssuePrices.aspx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 2 hours ago, Wt_know said: just put $75K in 10 banks lo sifu @Enye says one Problem is 10 banks not enough lah. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 30 minutes ago, Voodooman said: They are govt bonds, pricing will be out after auction date, like T-bills. Indicative pricing for your reference. I am not exactly familiar with this, 5 years too long for me. https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/statistics/fdanet/SgsBenchmarkIssuePrices.aspx 5 years is OK but don’t know whether can surrender like SSB prematurely, so can make a quick exit in case open market pays better or need of the hour urgency , but the lack of expected returns is the intimidating part ; also is the payout twice a year?? or upfront like T bills discount ( since I saw a bid price component on the application) ….. I’m lost 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 24, 2022 Share August 24, 2022 51 minutes ago, BanCoe said: 5 years is OK but don’t know whether can surrender like SSB prematurely, so can make a quick exit in case open market pays better or need of the hour urgency , but the lack of expected returns is the intimidating part ; also is the payout twice a year?? or upfront like T bills discount ( since I saw a bid price component on the application) ….. I’m lost Cannot suka suka redeem at face value but can sell anytime. It is a traded instrument and subject to interest rate risk. I believe you can put in a competitive bid to floor your yield. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 HL bank 2.75% for 12 months. https://www.hlbank.com.sg/en/personal-banking/deposits/fixed-deposit-account/singapore-dollar-fixed-deposit-account.html 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 47 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: HL bank 2.75% for 12 months. https://www.hlbank.com.sg/en/personal-banking/deposits/fixed-deposit-account/singapore-dollar-fixed-deposit-account.html i think i'll go with T-bills for now and avoid banks 1. 6mths and better interest. 2. but most importantly is no need to listen to "financial advisor" trying to sell you other products when you only want to place FD. ( i told one at maybank 3times before he stopped and continue to process the FD with a BLACK BLACK FACE) 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 8 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: i think i'll go with T-bills for now and avoid banks 1. 6mths and better interest. 2. but most importantly is no need to listen to "financial advisor" trying to sell you other products when you only want to place FD. ( i told one at maybank 3times before he stopped and continue to process the FD with a BLACK BLACK FACE) Yes, I hate point 2 too. He engaged the wrong guy. 🤣 But I went thru’ the website and it seems to be done online only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 4 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Yes, I hate point 2 too. He engaged the wrong guy. 🤣 But I went thru’ the website and it seems to be done online only. Nowadays even OTC staff would also ask you if have bought or heard of this and that...limpeh go reset atm pin also kena asked those irritating questions...should have reported loss and asked for a replacement card over their hotline instead 😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 @Fcw75 Wah bro this HL Bank - whole Singapore only 1 Main Branch !!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 7 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Nowadays even OTC staff would also ask you if have bought or heard of this and that...limpeh go reset atm pin also kena asked those irritating questions...should have reported loss and asked for a replacement card over their hotline instead 😁 Yah, ask you got buy personal accident or home insurance right? POSB… BOC never though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 29 minutes ago, AndrewLee72 said: @Fcw75 Wah bro this HL Bank - whole Singapore only 1 Main Branch !!! Just put $75K, covered by SDIC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 5 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Just put $75K, covered by SDIC. isnt T-Bill better... no limit provided by MAS. if MAS/Ah Gong toh, SDIC also toh. 🤣 Singapore Deposit Insurance Corporation Limited (SDIC) administers the Deposit Insurance (DI) Scheme and Policy Owners' Protection (PPF) Scheme in Singapore. SDIC is a company limited by guarantee under the Companies Act. The board of directors is accountable to the Minister in charge of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 3 hours ago, Mkl22 said: isnt T-Bill better... no limit provided by MAS. if MAS/Ah Gong toh, SDIC also toh. 🤣 Singapore Deposit Insurance Corporation Limited (SDIC) administers the Deposit Insurance (DI) Scheme and Policy Owners' Protection (PPF) Scheme in Singapore. SDIC is a company limited by guarantee under the Companies Act. The board of directors is accountable to the Minister in charge of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS). Yes still awaiting 1st September to know my yield. 😀 Next one will be 8 September (announcement). For the time being probably will give the FD a miss now. 😀 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 30, 2022 Share August 30, 2022 Just did t bills. Buying every two weeks. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...