Increase of engine oil level found in dipstick

Yuan

IMHO, it's good that the consumption is slower. Maybe the engine oil cannot take the heat. Perhaps you want to try those ester based engine oil ? Start with a good oil and you have less troubleshooting to do. I think a normal capacity NA engine shouldn't be consuming any oil under normal use, not like it's turbo or something.

Gasket will harden over time due to heat i.e. wear and tear. An engine oil that is not effective in removing heat will speed up the process.

The pix you've posted is exactly what I wanted to find out. Noticed the engine top is golden in colour? I think that is varnish, some say no effect, but to me, anything extra might affect the engine in the long run. I've seen another car with the same engine as mine, with a deep golden engine top, also need to change the gasket more than twice...guess which oil it is using?

Check out this link for more varnish info - http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...9821&page=1

Frankly speaking, the consumed engine oil started last end May.

I was on X- Rxx for almost a 1.5 yrs (while sticking to a ws for routine servicing) b4 above phenomenon was detected.

No doubts, using above oil do have lowered temp,better respond n can rev easier when compared to other brands.

But, how would ester oil benifits if compared to above in this case?

Me really confused..?

My trouble shoot process.

Me switched to a recommended ws in Perling was long isolation.

- Trouble persisted when using Semi-Sync 15-50W, Pennzoil.

- Replace PCV valve.

- Piston compression test show no leakage either.

- Finally, a friend of mine observed those dirt clouding around gasket area is wierd n advise me to have it replaced.

Currently, using Castrol Mangatec 10W-40 and have it replace every 5K mileage.(Got very good price)

Kind of hesitate of using full sync lately.

Me still dont get conclusion of attached link thread?

Do PM me further..!

hey bro i think all you need is a hand pump that can normal fish tank to pump out the water...

As long as it had a long neck or straw right into the dipstick hole and then pump some out lor.

Just a suggestion...

Do not know if it works but i know water is no problem...

[:p][:p]

post-42802-1272420806.jpg

wow seriously, oil over the max mark but a little is ok.

if u wan, u can suck it out a bit.

anyway, recently i open my picanto gasket and see golden too! wow vanish is not good? hmmm i consider change to redline soon! :D

Frankly speaking, the consumed engine oil started last end May.

I was on X- Rxx for almost a 1.5 yrs (while sticking to a ws for routine servicing) b4 above phenomenon was detected.

No doubts, using above oil do have lowered temp,better respond n can rev easier when compared to other brands.

But, how would ester oil benifits if compared to above in this case?

Me really confused..?

My trouble shoot process.

Me switched to a recommended ws in Perling was long isolation.

- Trouble persisted when using Semi-Sync 15-50W, Pennzoil.

- Replace PCV valve.

- Piston compression test show no leakage either.

- Finally, a friend of mine observed those dirt clouding around gasket area is wierd n advise me to have it replaced.

Currently, using Castrol Mangatec 10W-40 and have it replace every 5K mileage.(Got very good price)

Kind of hesitate of using full sync lately.

Me still dont get conclusion of attached link thread?

Do PM me further..!

If at present the Castrol Mangatec 10w40 works for you now, stick with it just that changing every 5k takes a bit of effort and time.

AFAIK, redline ester has cleaning properties which might help to do some cleaning on what appears to be varnish (i think) in your engine.

I've nearly went thru the process you did except that I couldn't find anyone (or i didn't look hard enough) to do the engine compression test.

The link is for info. While this varnish issue exist, not many are aware.

wow seriously, oil over the max mark but a little is ok.

if u wan, u can suck it out a bit.

anyway, recently i open my picanto gasket and see golden too! wow vanish is not good? hmmm i consider change to redline soon! :D

Can share what engine oil you're using ?

If at present the Castrol Mangatec 10w40 works for you now, stick with it just that changing every 5k takes a bit of effort and time.

AFAIK, redline ester has cleaning properties which might help to do some cleaning on what appears to be varnish (i think) in your engine.

I've nearly went thru the process you did except that I couldn't find anyone (or i didn't look hard enough) to do the engine compression test.

2nd hand car leh...

not sure if the previous owner use wat oil

but my oil is as follow, Shell helix> Toyoto EO > Amsoil

all 5w40 :)

anyway my engine just flush not longer ago. guess the varnish should be gone :D

Edited by Devilcup

I am still observing and monitoring my engine oil level.

2 weeks after my servicing, the oil level apparently increases above the 2nd tip. Car was cold and stationary.

I remember after my servicing with my workshop on that day, my mechanic showed me the oil level which was at the mark of the 2nd upper tip. Car was also cold and stationary. It goes to show that the level has increased. Oil colour is clear and slightly transparent.

Edited by Yuan

2nd hand car leh...

not sure if the previous owner use wat oil

but my oil is as follow, Shell helix> Toyoto EO > Amsoil

all 5w40 :)

anyway my engine just flush not longer ago. guess the varnish should be gone :D

See if you got "golden" dipstick or not. [:)]

In actual fact, piston compression test is pretty easy...!

The tool is just simply a thread head, a hose and a pressure gauge.

Oh ya... recommended to do some homework.

Look out for your ride's ideal pistion compression pressure.

Anything within +/- 10% within specifications and individual cylinder should be fine.

But, the only thing to watch out is:

Hard to crank start for very first time after assemble all thing back. [ was told lost vacuum by mechanci..???]

After which, require to reset ECU fault code by OBD due to CEL lit ON.

post-20237-1272553010.gif

In actual fact, piston compression test is pretty easy...!

The tool is just simply a thread head, a hose and a pressure gauge.

Oh ya... recommended to do some homework.

Look out for your ride's ideal pistion compression pressure.

Anything within +/- 10% within specifications and individual cylinder should be fine.

But, the only thing to watch out is:

Hard to crank start for very first time after assemble all thing back. [ was told lost vacuum by mechanci..???]

After which, require to reset ECU fault code by OBD due to CEL lit ON.

That's what I thought too. Oh well!

u mean at the end of the dipstick rite, i wipe the oil and dun see color of gold...

That means it still ok. ^_^

You have to mention if its diesel or petrol engine. On petrol engine you will have milky oil on diesel engine you will have normal black oil that goes a liter or so up when you check dip stick. So basically blown head gasket on diesel engine you will have engine oil lvl goes up but its not oil but coolant that looks like oil