Questions about Gearbox overhaul

Vextan

OK went for the automatic transmission ATF, filter and gasket change. This morning car started to move without delay even when the engine cold light is still on.  Will observe for a week and see if this is fixed for now.  

On 2/25/2021 at 1:48 PM, VictorLim said:

OK went for the automatic transmission ATF, filter and gasket change. This morning car started to move without delay even when the engine cold light is still on.  Will observe for a week and see if this is fixed for now.  

To me this is just a routine interval service on the transmission, nothing special

My sibling's COEd 2008 Camry (XV40, mileage about 150k+) has a slow ATF leak (few drops after parking) for the last few months.   It will judders when going upslope (fr basement carpark) every morning cold start, brought it to the mechanic and top up 2L of ATF.  Last replaced ATF only 2 months back.

Well, the mechanic noted the leakage is from the seal but need to lower GB to pinpoint the location.   Mechanical suggested her to do a GB overhaul given the COE will last tell May 2028, another 5yrs 8mths to go.

After looking through the threads, I think she has the following options:

1. Repair and replace the seals only (if this is even a possibility)

2. Rebuilt or overhaul the GB

3. Drop in a recon GB (imported from Japan)

Key consideration is to last for the duration of COE,  and cost (of course). 

Would like to have some advices and views here.   

Kum sia very much !

2 hours ago, Micb said:

My sibling's COEd 2008 Camry (XV40, mileage about 150k+) has a slow ATF leak (few drops after parking) for the last few months.   It will judders when going upslope (fr basement carpark) every morning cold start, brought it to the mechanic and top up 2L of ATF.  Last replaced ATF only 2 months back.

Well, the mechanic noted the leakage is from the seal but need to lower GB to pinpoint the location.   Mechanical suggested her to do a GB overhaul given the COE will last tell May 2028, another 5yrs 8mths to go.

Kum sia very much !

I would overhaul the gearbox since 5 years 8 mths is a long time.

I went to this workshop few years back to overhaul. Hope it helps. That time was $1600 but now probably went up liao plus different car. Boss name is Ah Seng.

D09537B0-FA62-4900-B02C-1513300E77E2.png

Edited by Fcw75

2 hours ago, Micb said:

Kum sia very much !

Atf leakage from gearbox could be from alot of location. if the judder is from low level of atf, it properly mean the gearbox itself is ok ( if once u top up, and the gearbox work normally)

In this case need to check where its leaking, Most popular location is the lock nut itself (esp toyota) That lock nut its very cheap even with a atf refill.
next popular location is the driveshaft seal ( where the drive shaft is connected into the gearbox )

To me i will only go for overhaul if even when the atf is at full level but it still judder.

Overhaul. I made the mistake of just replace it a seal and then about 8mths later it needed an overhaul. Don’t waste time and just do a full overhaul, since there is already juddering. I would assume the mileage is not 100% unless you are the 1st owner. 

Edited by Mkl22

Thanks @Fcw75, @Beregond and @Mkl22 !

We will go check out SW Autotrans and one or two more gearbox specialist workshop to check the costing.  Seems like getting a recon (imported) gear box is not preferred by most, if not all. 

See if the leak area and the seal replacement can be done without lowering the GB, else if have to lower, then might as well do an overhaul.

1 hour ago, Micb said:

Thanks @Fcw75, @Beregond and @Mkl22 !

We will go check out SW Autotrans and one or two more gearbox specialist workshop to check the costing.  Seems like getting a recon (imported) gear box is not preferred by most, if not all. 

See if the leak area and the seal replacement can be done without lowering the GB, else if have to lower, then might as well do an overhaul.

1L a mth is a rather big leak of atf. 

I would like to ask those who have overhauled your gearbox before:

At which point would you decide that a gearbox overhaul is needed?

My situation currently:
My gearbox ATF oil pan magnet has caught black metal particles during the last 3 ATF oil changes. No problem changing gears between P, R, N, D. Occasionally when driving, I would feel a little slip when I re-accelerate. Sluggish and retarded when trying to downshift. Most of the time I have to put the pedal to the floor before it would downshift. No problems upshifting. Car is lively and responsive when in manual mode though.

Would this be a situation serious enough to go for an overhaul? Or should I wait till I have problems changing gears during cold start and/or major clutch slip when driving? 14 year old car here, 6 years renewed COE left.

11 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

My situation currently:
My gearbox ATF oil pan magnet has caught black metal particles during the last 3 ATF oil changes. No problem changing gears between P, R, N, D. Occasionally when driving, I would feel a little slip when I re-accelerate. Sluggish and retarded when trying to downshift. Most of the time I have to put the pedal to the floor before it would downshift. No problems upshifting. Car is lively and responsive when in manual mode though.

Would this be a situation serious enough to go for an overhaul? Or should I wait till I have problems changing gears during cold start and/or major clutch slip when driving? 14 year old car here, 6 years renewed COE left.

try this 1 first . i try before. it help 😂

image.png.7642d75cd54e6c152cfaec585e2ce104.png

23 minutes ago, Beregond said:

try this 1 first . i try before. it help 😂

image.png.7642d75cd54e6c152cfaec585e2ce104.png

You're the second person, after my workshop boss, to introduce this to me. How did this work for your gearbox?

24 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

You're the second person, after my workshop boss, to introduce this to me. How did this work for your gearbox?

i put coe car. when i first got the car, it got problem shifting gear, like lag of power like that, 

it help alot after 2 atf change, each atf change i put 1 btl. 

Its not cheap. 1 btl i buy at 50 sgd......

so far i already use 3 btl.  dun need put liao. now gear change back to almost new.

1 hour ago, Beehive3783 said:

My situation currently:

My 2 cents, it is good to try out some ATF treatment and wait out a while.   When the symptoms are quite bad, then go for an overhaul.

Speaking from the recent experience of my sis's 2008 Camry, left with about 5yrs+ COE to go.  Decided to go for a transmission overhaul ($2.2k) due to the leaking ATF.   Frankly, after the overhaul, it solved the leaking issue and the transmission felt lighter and eager to accelerate.   Just not sure if this overhaul will last the car till 2028  haha.

3 minutes ago, Beregond said:

i put coe car. when i first got the car, it got problem shifting gear, like lag of power like that, 

it help alot after 2 atf change, each atf change i put 1 btl. 

Its not cheap. 1 btl i buy at 50 sgd......

so far i already use 3 btl.  dun need put liao. now gear change back to almost new.

I found this on Shopee.. $22 per 250ml bottle :D

11 minutes ago, Beehive3783 said:

I found this on Shopee.. $22 per 250ml bottle :D

ya. buy online confirm cheaper ma. i use years back, ws  make a profit, then labour bababa. u can buy 1 and ask then put together for a atf change and see if any improvement or any different at all then decide if want overhaul GB.

Its not only the 2-3k sgd, but lost of use for 3-5 days also..........

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

ya. buy online confirm cheaper ma. i use years back, ws  make a profit, then labour bababa. u can buy 1 and ask then put together for a atf change and see if any improvement or any different at all then decide if want overhaul GB.

Its not only the 2-3k sgd, but lost of use for 3-5 days also..........

My workshop quoted me $70 for 2 bottles. Didn't take on the spot. Said I'd do some research. Sekali found on shopee so cheap lol

I can buy 2 bottles and try la since i just changed ATF not long ago.

1 hour ago, Micb said:

My 2 cents, it is good to try out some ATF treatment and wait out a while.   When the symptoms are quite bad, then go for an overhaul.

Speaking from the recent experience of my sis's 2008 Camry, left with about 5yrs+ COE to go.  Decided to go for a transmission overhaul ($2.2k) due to the leaking ATF.   Frankly, after the overhaul, it solved the leaking issue and the transmission felt lighter and eager to accelerate.   Just not sure if this overhaul will last the car till 2028  haha.

Mine also COE car till 2028 haha. If 2 bottles can rejuvenate the gearbox till 2028, why not? 

3 hours ago, Beehive3783 said:

My situation currently:

Mine is when the car cannot move even when I put to D. 😓

Sometimes when it’s moving too. 😅

Was doing grabhitch somemore.