High cost of living in SG

Speedz76

Are we priced out of living in SG?  

219 members have voted

1. 1. Are we priced out of living in SG?

• OMFG, of course we are!!
    • No, its very affordable living here
    • I dun really care

Drop in retail sales widens in October as decline extends to 9 straight months

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/drop-in-retail-sales-widens-in-october-as-decline-extends-to-9-straight-months?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR1gPSWOndNVBsDcJGmJuhQjOfyBaFclbiuCqweyKouP2biMctjLVriR6gU#Echobox=1576139453

$ingapore is getting so expensive that people are either buying online or across the causeway!

Thats why we see the causeway jam 24/7 esp on $G side only.

6 minutes ago, Fu11thr0tt1e said:

U can run but u canoot hide!

Muayhahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! 

IN 2019, YOU MIGHT BE PAYING GST FOR ONLINE SHOPPING IN S’PORE LIAO

https://goodyfeed.com/2019-might-paying-gst-online-shopping-spore-liao/

ok. taobao can deliver to jb and go jb collect each month ... LOL

3 minutes ago, Fu11thr0tt1e said:

hey hey... dun comment here... many IBs here! Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

muayhahahaha .... ok ok 

it's an open secret la ... that's why thousands and thousands of people cross JB to eat, shit and shop ... to siam GST ... lol

23 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

ah gong say to you ... can choose hawker, foodcourt or restaurant ... 

if a ulu bird no lay egg hawker got $2.5 chicken rice ... you have to go there 

Ah gong? I wouldnt call that person ah gong. To me he's definitely annoying.

But seriously, our food is getting expensive is becos cost of basic food items keep going up. So is rental which only goes up. At most it becomes stagnant during bad times but it never ever comes down. To plainly put it we will only pay more and pay and to see our portion of food shrink. I dunno how long hawker food price can sustain. Their gains are so small.

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

ah gong say to you ... can choose hawker, foodcourt or restaurant ... 

if a ulu bird no lay egg hawker got $2.5 chicken rice ... you have to go there 

The chicken rice may be $2.50 but the transport to go to the ulu place is another $2 for public transport and certainly more for cars since has parking charges. And that's hopefully the $2.50 is not a tiny plate. 

In the end, it is all the same.....

1 hour ago, Icedbs said:

Food court prices are quite expensive thesedays.

I always eat outside and I certainly feel it. Even HDB food stalls at central areas are not cheap anymore. 

2 person easily $11-$13 with one drink.  I cannot imagine those parents with 2-3 kids. One meal at the food court easily $20-$30 for 4-5 pax?

ya ya agree

thanks for your empathy....sandwiched peasant single income family with 3 kids

😰

10 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

The chicken rice may be $2.50 but the transport to go to the ulu place is another $2 for public transport and certainly more for cars since has parking charges. And that's hopefully the $2.50 is not a tiny plate. 

eat at home lor.

I rather buy salmon go home and bake. Eat with low GI bread. Super healthy.... super easy to cook.

6 hours ago, Wind30 said:

eat at home lor.

I rather buy salmon go home and bake. Eat with low GI bread. Super healthy.... super easy to cook.

Wah Salmon.

i only eat kuning fish.....

First Pioneer Generation package, then Merdeka Generation package. Do u guys think there will be a Sandwich Generation package anytime soon? 😂

Edited by Whitemorning

8 hours ago, Icedbs said:

You are always welcome to Upper Boon Keng Rd Mkt for Chicken Rice. It’s $3.50 with chicken and rice serve separately.

9 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Ah gong? I wouldnt call that person ah gong. To me he's definitely annoying.

Not ah gong but just gong kia then. 😂

On 12/13/2019 at 2:28 PM, Icedbs said:

Food court prices are quite expensive thesedays.

I always eat outside and I certainly feel it. Even HDB food stalls at central areas are not cheap anymore. 

2 person easily $11-$13 with one drink.  I cannot imagine those parents with 2-3 kids. One meal at the food court easily $20-$30 for 4-5 pax?

Frankly food is not the most expensive item in your daily expenses. Housing is but it was deducted up front from your salary thus you just don't feel it. If you calculate how much you have been paying for that roof over your head, you will know where your income goes.

On 12/13/2019 at 4:16 PM, Enye said:

ya ya agree

thanks for your empathy....sandwiched peasant single income family with 3 kids

😰

3 kids and still can be single income.

salute sifu!

Visited my fav chicken rice stall over the weekend...last time add rice is only $0.30....

On Saturday I found that they increased to $0.80 liao for a small bowl of additional lice.....kaoz...

And over at a local uni canteen for students...add rice now costs $1.30!