High cost of living in SG

Speedz76

Are we priced out of living in SG?  

219 members have voted

1. 1. Are we priced out of living in SG?

• OMFG, of course we are!!
    • No, its very affordable living here
    • I dun really care

It quoted a 24-year-old Singaporean lady toting a Louis Vuitton bag urgently needing to borrow $800 to settle a phone bill as saying,

Such topic has been discussed umpteen times!!!! Whats the point on all talks and discussions??? we are getting no where either.Is all made known that you must be rich to love staying in Singapore! living in Singapore also sends a massage " you can die but you cant get SICK"

5th Gear

Such topic has been discussed umpteen times!!!! Whats the point on all talks and discussions??? we are getting no where either.Is all made known that you must be rich to love staying in Singapore! living in Singapore also sends a massage " you can die but you cant get SICK"

No, you can. Vote wisely in next GE.

Seriously, we need to understand that luxury Condos, luxury Cars and Country clubs are not mean to be affordable to the average Joe to begin with.

It's a fact not only for singapore for the whole world.

We just cant have our cake and eat it.

The biggest issue in the chase for "

Edited by Throttle2

No, you can. Vote wisely in next GE.

You very sure once the vote is against PAP, Singaporean will not have all these kind of s**t?

To be honest, I used to love SG, but now it is SUCK.

same sentiments....... to be more specific it is the culture which is becoming bad to worse....

we don't have time to spend with our family members and friends... even if we do not conform to this culture and make it a point to spend time with them they have no time for us

the govt has done well to mould us into robots which can work till we die of old age...

good values are being seen as less and less important and sometimes even viewed as dumb whereas results are becoming more and more important

Correct, you have to live within your means. There is no need to always get the latest mobile phone, etc. Work hard, save up and invest wisely.

Singapore also have their own share of rich ppl what.

AT A time when record property prices are making headlines here, some Singaporeans are splurging millions in Japan, on freehold ski lodges and apartments in Niseko, a ski town in Hokkaido.

Last December, Singaporeans snapped up 16 out of 23 apartments in one development within 1 1/2 months - for a total sum of US$20 million (S$27.5 million) to US$30 million.

Singaporeans bought three bedroom units that cost between US$1.1 million and US$3.3 million each, said Mr Derek Kennewell, Niseko resort branch manager for propertymarketing firm LJ Hooker.

Singapore visitors to Niseko, fast becoming popular for its powder-fine snow, have risen by 73 per cent to 4,827 in the latest winter, from 2,787 the previous winter, according to data from the Niseko Promotion Board.

While Hong Kong has always been the go-to market for property launches in Niseko, marketeers have begun to see Singaporeans picking up the trend, said Mr Kennewell.

Ms Mae Loh, managing director of Annapuri Land, developer of Capella Niseko Resort and Residences, confirmed this trend. The 149-unit luxury project was launched here last November and has seen four buyers from Singapore.

There are no restrictions on foreigners owning freehold property in Japan.

Mr Kennewell was in Singapore late last month to help launch Akazora, a 26-apartment boutique development. It was the first time that main marketing agent, IP Global, launched a Niseko property in Singapore ahead of Hong Kong, where the firm is based. Property investor Kelvin Tan, 33, recently bought a ski chalet and a studio apartment in Niseko for personal use and investment respectively.

He spent 27 million yen (S$393,000) on the customised, two-bedroom, double-storey chalet even before visiting Niseko. After his holiday there in February, he co-purchased the studio unit in Akazora, at 23 million yen, with a friend.

Said Mr Tan: "Niseko is like where Whistler was 10, 15 years ago, when nobody had even heard of it."

Whistler, located in British Columbia, Canada, is considered the world's top skiing destination. "Then, when the world was going through an upswing, a lot of Americans started going to Canada to ski, and you could see property prices going up," said Mr Tan, who snowboards and owns a quarter-share of a onebedroom unit in Whistler.

With global investors pouring money into Niseko, property prices are expected to rise, said Mr Kennewell.

Some of the high-profile investors include Hong Kong tycoon Richard Li and Malaysian property conglomerate YTL. They bought resorts worth A$20 million (S$25 million) to A$30 million, and 6 billion yen respectively.

It's not an apple to apple comparison. Comparing the rich with average folks dan cry high cost of living. Make sense meh?

Wa lau eh, what has it got to do with the gov?

give you one example:

singaporean finishes polytechnic and goes on to serve ns.... foreigner finishes study and comes to singapore to work

singaporean serve ns for 2 yrs... foreigner joins mnc, gains experience, whacks ot, earns big money

singaporean finishes ns.... foreigner already promoted and has increment, already bought resale flat

singaporean joins mnc as freshie and works under the foreigner and tries to slowly climb up the ladder

in this case wouldn't the singaporean feel that the cost of living is higher in singapore as compared to the foreigner even though both have same skills? nothing to do with govt?

Edited by Blackwind

Wait till you venture to China and meet simple old folks from the villages... saving for a lifetime... just to "spurge" on a trip to Beijing... just because they wanted to visit their own capital at least once in a lifetime.

I am serious. :mellow:

I just had $4 chicken rice for lunch today.

Very nice with taupok, braised egg and a fair serving of breast meat.

Still ok lah.....

5th Gear

give you one example:

singaporean finishes polytechnic and goes on to serve ns.... foreigner finishes study and comes to singapore to work

singaporean serve ns for 2 yrs... foreigner joins mnc, gains experience, whacks ot, earns big money

singaporean finishes ns.... foreigner already promoted and has increment, already bought resale flat

singaporean joins mnc as freshie and works under the foreigner and tries to slowly climb up the ladder

in this case wouldn't the singaporean feel that the cost of living is higher in singapore as compared to the foreigner even though both have same skills? nothing to do with govt?

Don't forget about reservist, sometimes it can disrupt your work.