Any good dentist for Root Canal Treatment?

Retrochink

I just got checked recently by a dentist that a molar teeth is dead, causing infection with serious pain and fever for few days. Imagine i also got gout attack same time!

I have been reading up on root canal and crowning and was ready to take the plunge when a colleague of mine advised me to simply go for a tooth extraction. He chose that after some research that it is bad for health. That made me think again because this is a guy that earns big salary, with expensive hobbies, and money never an issue. Then i got 2 other friends who did that.

So i would like to get opinion here if anyone choose tooth extraction for damaged tooth instead of root canal thingy, and whether all turned out well. Many tia.

If extraction, the tooth is gone forever.

Biting and eating will be affected.

In addition, because of the missing tooth, the other teeth might shift out of position.

Root canal is the better bet. Do enquire how long the crowning will last - IIRC, it is not forever.

I am always very fearful of dentist since young. I met Dr Kenny wong, smilearts at Marine Parade. He is such a nice patient dentist and explains my dental problem clearly. Very gentle too! :)

Wong Lilin, lucky girl you meet a good Dentist.

Like me go back and check, it was at Hougang Ave 8....same thing my root was damaged and my tooth is bascially dead (can't feel cold).

Ask me extraction or do crowning? Tell me the price and then say must X ray and come for a few appointments etc... Immediately I sian but I do ask him if there is a 3rd choice...

Relunctantly he say I can take antibiotics....

Of cos now my root canal is still damaged, but at least I siam the pain and agony and save some bucks.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed and take care of my oral hygiene more.

sorry to bump this 3+ year post

so Rainman, can i understand after taking antibiotics it has cured the infection so there was no need for RCT?

how is it now after all this time?

sorry to bump this 3+ year post

so Rainman, can i understand after taking antibiotics it has cured the infection so there was no need for RCT?

how is it now after all this time?

Unfortunately no. Once the infection hits the root, its either extraction or perform RCT. Doc will tell you to RCT, losing an adult tooth is no joke,my is the last molar, esthethic wise can't be seen but its affecting my chewing abit....

You can still opt for antibiotics which can help ease the pain or absess.... It's annoying to have absess every couple weeks and bad taste in your mouth and worse still your body is constantly fighting the infection.

After some research over the internet, I found out that RCT might have some drawback like recurring infection if not done properly.

Any bro/sis has done root canal and crowning at any of the neighbour hood dentist before?

I mean both done in the same clinic. Can recommend a good dentist that you patronized before and what is the cost?

Thks

i just went to clementi central dentist yesterday was quoted RCT for 1k+ but can pay installment cos the process need few treatment in order to finish so whenever go pay lor

Hi Francis,

I just enquire at a neighbor hood dentist at Toa Payoh. Was quoted $800 to $1K and $600 to $800 for a porcelain crown. Was thinking so the whole process will be around $1.8K.

Hi Francis,

I just enquire at a neighbor hood dentist at Toa Payoh. Was quoted $800 to $1K and $600 to $800 for a porcelain crown. Was thinking so the whole process will be around $1.8K.

about there, alternatively you can ask for reference letter to go KTP, the dentistry department there is quite good.

I had awful half face throbbing-numbing in wee hours of morning. Took strongest painkiller i have in my medicine cabinet and attended graduation cerwmony, lunch and dinner. Day after, i Went to pvt dentist at neighbourhood, no pain so did scaling, polishing, x ray. Left the chair and pain started again. she did the first half of rct -i.e. removing the infected nerve and blood supply at top half of molar, cleaned it up with bleach, filled with med, temp filling and sanding down the tooth so I won't exert much force on it. Put me on antibiotics for 5days. Paid $200++

Been 5 days, only took one of the 10 prescribed 3x a day painkiller as precaution. But no throbbing mind numbing pain since anaesthetic wore off except for occasional phantom pain/soreness from the chopped off nerves.

Having problem clenching my mouth and keeping it shut cos of preexisting offbite , and the shortened molar by her.

Was adviced to get rct and crowning done asap cos I chipped the tooth previously.

Anyone tried the polyclinic route and NUH student dental? Share experience pls?

I managed to get polyclinic appt day after Christmas.

Cos the 3 places I called, whole process 2-2.7k

Jmc, it is not subsidised and assuming the higher end of the quoted range, I think it costs close to 2.5k or possibly more for consultation, RC, crown and x-ray.

neighbourhood taman jurong 900 for rct on molar, 850-1000+ for crown, 40-50consultation , FM xray 90 total~ 2k

The pvt dentist I went to, quoted approx 2.7k

just in case anyone in the vicinity of tampines st 23.... can check out Twinkle.

not sure if good or not but the clinic has grown from half unit to full shop unit in a matter of 2 years ... so i think the dentist should be doing something right.

i did crown before... a few private doctors recommended the crown must be done attached on the 2 teeth next to the affected teeth and the price was 1200 x 2 = 2400

then i was recommended this old neighbourhood place at bedok north... straight away he quoted 900 for 1 teeth attached to the crown... mentioned not necessary to do for 2 teeth...

think do almost 10 years liao... no issue

i paid $1200+ for mine just 2 yrs ago....

1/3 my molar cracked off exposing the nerve, my dentist refer me to this specialist, office based in raffles place, synergy is the name iirc. he quote me the above price, i find it too exp, went ard spore neighbourhood dentist to do. all quote me much cheaper..... but all not very confident of doing it, tell me find specialist better. i check with the singapore dentist record, only 13 or 14 are licensed specialist in root canal, call endodotist or something like tt, and the first i went is 1 of them. STILL Buey gum wan i went Q and M for final opinion, the dentist after doing new xray for me also ask me go find specialist and do, they find 1 ang mo specialist in Q and M. after checking the price i find not much diff den i went back to the first clinic and have it done.

Moral of the story, if been advised tt ur condition is really THAT bad, dun waste time and money like me le. LLST just do loh.... and oh yah, if u thinking how can i last so long with my nerve exposed, the first clinic i went when it cracked put those temporary fillings for me, 1 big layer to make it like a tooth, but slowly it wore out day by day....

Sorry to bump this post.

Would like to ask Ah_cow which is the specialist in Raffles place that you done your cracked molar? Mine cracked almost half so would like to visit a specialist for advice other than extraction. Thanks.

http://www.rcolldentist.com.sg/our-team/dr-chng-hui-kheng

I had a double root-canal done in a single sitting at this clinic. Lucky for me that there was no infection or pus deep inside. While other dentists told me their process requires 2 visits at a minimum, this root canal specialist was confident that she can do it in 1 go provided no infection. Other dentists said that they will open tooth, do root canal, then cover up temporarily. Then come again another day to complete root canal followed by temp cover again. 

True enough, Dr Chng did it in 1 session! Worth paying extra for less pain, less duration of pain, and no need to go back to her. Proceeded straight to heartland dentist to do the subsequent crowning.

Sorry to bump this post.

Would like to ask Ah_cow which is the specialist in Raffles place that you done your cracked molar? Mine cracked almost half so would like to visit a specialist for advice other than extraction. Thanks.

Can try Dr Andy Lim @ Synergy Dental Specialist #03-05 Chevron House 

Hi Dwoon.

Could u kindly email me the deeds for your dentist please? I would like to consult him for a 2nd opinion. He sounds reliable. Many Thanks.

[email protected]

----------------------------------------

6th Gear | 31 May 2010, 07:43 AM

I'm in the midst of having mine done. Next appointment is 2 days away. RCT+ crown.

The costs is like $1K which I'm not sure if its cheap/ex..... just that the skill of the dentist is good. (he did 2 molars for me 9 years back and they're still fine)

PM me if you need the dentist info (in AMK)

Edited by Dwoon, 31 May 2010 - 07:43 AM.on.

From the comments, it seems that the govt hospitals are all doing private dental practises a big favor with their long wait time for appointments.

If these critical treatment like RCT, implants, crowns are better done by private clinics faster, earlier and at the same price, who needs the govt hospitals for dental work?

What kind of cases are appropriate for NDC for example. The MOH should wake up and crack whips on these establishments.

A call to the NDC phone line and you'll be serviced by a grouchy voice who keeps telling you there are no appointment slots sooner than 4 months!

Basically I'm surprised they haven't closed down!