Come on in if you are into cheap engine oils...

Ken4555

OT abit here.

My vehicle handbook recommended w40 oils for extreme usage. However I have a free tin of w50 oil. Both is fully syn.

My millage is about 130k. I am wondering if I will do any harm to the engine using oil which is thicker?

Some people say SHU is low specs?

Which of this specs is low?

API SN/CF; ACEA A3/B3, A3/B4; BMW LL-01; MB approval 229.5, 226.5; VW 502.00/505.00; Porsche A40; Renault RN0700, RN0710; PSA B71 2296, Ferrari. Meets the requirements of Fiat 9.55535-Z2 and Chrysler MS-10725

The so called some people dun wanna use shell . So he will keep on harping on it. Sometimes his posts are beyond reasons.

OT abit here.

My vehicle handbook recommended w40 oils for extreme usage. However I have a free tin of w50 oil. Both is fully syn.

My millage is about 130k. I am wondering if I will do any harm to the engine using oil which is thicker?

Not sure if you will harm your engine but it will definitely harm your pocket.

Thicker oil mean your engine works harder and drinks more fuel.

So you will pump more often and you will pay more.

Petrol stations are selling those made in Hong Kong. Best is to buy from oils which originated from hk.

so you mean turkey shell engine oil are snake oil? any special addictive for hong kong vs turkey shell engine oil?

When I went to the talk at Stamford Tyres at Lok Yang organised by MCF many years ago, I was told that even the oil by the drums at authorised distributors and trusted workshops can be recycled oil. It all depends on the integrity of the Workshop Manager.

Same with cooking oil. Can also be recycled. Do you eat out? Or how do you know the cooking oil sold at giant is low spec or not?

Some people say SHU is low specs?

Which of this specs is low?

API SN/CF; ACEA A3/B3, A3/B4; BMW LL-01; MB approval 229.5, 226.5; VW 502.00/505.00; Porsche A40; Renault RN0700, RN0710; PSA B71 2296, Ferrari. Meets the requirements of Fiat 9.55535-Z2 and Chrysler MS-10725

BMW LL01 is for BMW M series engine which is car before 2002.

Shell Helix Ultra promotion at $29.90 @ Giant Tampines!

The promo at Giant for SHU at 29.90, stock also from Turkey. Just for info. I have Ko issues using SHU stock from HK and Germany, so Turkey is fine for me too.

OT abit here.

Mix. 50wt with 30wt. Approx 40wt.

By the way when people think $30 is cheap oil

in USA they pay for US$1.50 for a quart of Mobil 1.

Its like saying go Geylang for a cheap 1 hour massage for $60.

Go JB and for RM180 you get a lot more than a 1 hour massage.

My fren tell me one.

BMW LL01 is for BMW M series engine which is car before 2002.

LL01 mans can be used on most BMW gasoline engines. 

Actually even the LL-04 can be used with no issues.

The M engines, the older none Turbo ones actually uses 10w-60.

LL01 mans can be used on most BMW gasoline engines. 

Actually even the LL-04 can be used with no issues.

The M engines, the older none Turbo ones actually uses 10w-60.

NA ///M engine is 10w60.

Turbo ///M engine is 5w30 with HTHS 3.5.

Nowadays, most new engine is running on 30w oil (with HTHS 3.5).

By the way when people think $30 is cheap oil

in USA they pay for US$1.50 for a quart of Mobil 1.

Its like saying go Geylang for a cheap 1 hour massage for $60.

Go JB and for RM180 you get a lot more than a 1 hour massage.

My fren tell me one.

No leh, Mobil 1 selling US$7.88 exclude tax leh.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Mobil-1-Advanced-Full-Synthetic-Motor-Oil-5W-30-1-qt/17034357

some people will say so cheap... must be fake oil.... USA all tio con buy fake oil! wahahahahahahha

Unique singapore.

Must be the most expensive choice, cheap oil if sell expensive, must be good....

If good oil, sell cheap, fake oil.....

• Dislike 1

Unique singapore.

Must be the most expensive choice, cheap oil if sell expensive, must be good....

If good oil, sell cheap, fake oil.....

for the 1st statement, One local brand comes to mind. Supposed German sounding.

I rather buy SPC or SINOPEC approved oil by merc bmw vw, then any other fancy unapproved oil which sounds good and expensive but bo liao in the end. Having said this I’m also perfectly fine using carlube for many years as it’s cheap or at least was cheap.

Edited by Mkl22