Come on in if you are into cheap engine oils...

Ken4555

36 minutes ago, Hachi said:

Ownself praise ownself???If you really kaisi, you would stick to the big brands...

becos Giant auntie say best seller mah :grin:

Edited by Othello

2 hours ago, Hachi said:

Ownself praise ownself???If you really kaisi, you would stick to the big brands...

What do you mean by that? I did try Shell in Giant also. But I missed the offer the last time so no choice go for the next cheapest. Of course if price diff small I will go for the big brands too. Now Shell in Giant $50 leh

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Its true.

You are in shipping and you know the cost of shipping is already more than the oil.

Sell so cheap how to make a profit?

Just use and enjoy lah.

And hope they can still keep this price as long as possible.

Maybe next time cannot maintain this price and the price will go up.

:grin:

Agree. As long as oil is decent and cheap I will go for it. Have to look out for offers update here.

1 hour ago, Othello said:

becos Giant auntie say best seller mah :grin:

If you kaisi, but endorsed by Giant auntie, why not?

She might be oil guru, right???

Just maintain it like >20k OMV car, you will be fine..

A 100k car consists of 80% taxes and AD profits, I am sure if the car cost less 20k and can drive forever. Even $50 oil package you will find it expensive...

15 hours ago, justahumanbeing said:

I bought Meta oil because it is cheap and also since made in Singapore so support local brand. I thought all along is $20+, did not know original price is $37. 

I saw their reviews in Carousell very good. I kiasu and kiasi also ask the Giant auntie and she said this oil sell the best in Giant. Anyway I used and cannot tell a difference between Shell or Meta. Maybe is because I am not fussy. As long as car performs and never spoil my engine I am ok to support most pocket friendly brands. 

As discussed in length before, Singapore has major petrochemical/oil/gas/lubricant industry. We don’t produce oil, but we certainly process it. 

Anyone in this industry care to comment? I find it strange we have to import engine oil from other countries when we are a major manufacturer for lubricants. 

Oil is very cheap we pay very expensive for it.

In US people pay 1 or 2 or 3 dollars for a litre.

Actually the price we pay is really extortion.

Secondly even the "cheap" oils is far too good for most cars.

I used "cheap" oils for 10 years until car scrapped and the engine was in perfect condition.

But its ok if people should stick to the expensive oils.

Leave the cheap oils to people that understand how an engine works. 

2 hours ago, Zxcvb said:

As discussed in length before, Singapore has major petrochemical/oil/gas/lubricant industry. We don’t produce oil, but we certainly process it. 

Anyone in this industry care to comment? I find it strange we have to import engine oil from other countries when we are a major manufacturer for lubricants. 

I only know this is made in Singapore.

quartz-diesel-7000-10w30_0.png

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I used "cheap" oils for 10 years until car scrapped and the engine was in perfect condition.

It depends on what oil weight you are talking about.  40wt confirm a lot of cheap cheap.

Thinner than that, may not be that cheap

On 11/5/2019 at 8:43 AM, justahumanbeing said:

I missed out on the Shell promotion at Giant. Schnell also not cheap now. End up I bought Meta to try out. Will be bringing to my regular workshop for servicing. 

I did a search online and saw Meta also selling 5W30 and 5W50 but not in Giant. May I ask 5W30 is mainly used for new cars? Or hybrid cars?

5w30 oil good for new car... 5w50 oil will be good for old car... Fairprice Xtra outlets do have 5w30 1L & 5w50 1L engine oil. 

6 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Big brands expensive is because of the advertising. All these costs transferred to end user consumers. 

Even Shell at cheapest $20+ also profit for the maker. Can imagine how cheap oil is. 

On 11/15/2019 at 6:31 PM, justahumanbeing said:

I bought Meta oil because it is cheap and also since made in Singapore so support local brand. I thought all along is $20+, did not know original price is $37. 

I saw their reviews in Carousell very good. I kiasu and kiasi also ask the Giant auntie and she said this oil sell the best in Giant. Anyway I used and cannot tell a difference between Shell or Meta. Maybe is because I am not fussy. As long as car performs and never spoil my engine I am ok to support most pocket friendly brands. 

Giant Tampines is selling it at $21.90 today.

On 11/15/2019 at 1:14 PM, justahumanbeing said:

Not the cheapest for Shell. 

The cheapest SHU I came across was $24.90 in Giant. Anything cheaper than that?

If missed the sale and I need it, just pay a bit more online lor. Original price 50 plus wor

On 11/17/2019 at 12:05 PM, Fitvip said:

Giant Tampines is selling it at $21.90 today.

Those staying in the West area can check out NTUC Warehouse Club....

Carlube 5w40 Fully Synth 5L also offer @ $21.90 with Free Gift!