Come on in if you are into cheap engine oils...

Ken4555

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Looks like Lynlex has 2 version. This is the cheaper.

Need to wait 30 days

68F2A820-ED3D-424C-B443-3E687EE91F22.jpeg

He was selling $7.50 at his Joo Seng warehouse about 2years back. Which is why I said after moving to shopee his prices have gone up. 

6 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

He was selling $7.50 at his Joo Seng warehouse about 2years back. Which is why I said after moving to shopee his prices have gone up. 

That time I thought he was closing for good, doing the clearance sale. Then I saw him on Shopee.

Guess have to pay platform fee and delivery.

13 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

I am not sure whether he is selling. Need to wait 30 days

52 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

That time I thought he was closing for good, doing the clearance sale. Then I saw him on Shopee.

Guess have to pay platform fee and delivery.

Anyway Eiffel seems like a decently good 5w30 oil. 

1 hour ago, Othello said:

this one in wrong thread. XADO is NOT cheap [smash]

What I meant was for high mileage cars, they should try XADO for a change..

They will feel the diff…

Wondering if I should switch to 5w30?

Driving a swift sport with mileage 200k. The car is 13 years old.

Been using 5w40 since day one as 5w40 is always one of the cheapest.

The manual states that oil weighing from 20 to 40 can be used 

4 hours ago, Goldenvodka said:

@Mkl22 can advise. 😁

5 hours ago, Goldenvodka said:

can use 5w30. but might  not see much of a diff.

why think of switching? FC?

what 5w40 you using now?

@Mkl22 

my current FC quite good hovering around 12 13KM/L nothing to complain for a old car.

Saw some post here stating 40 might be too thick but I feel ok leh

I using shell helix ultra now. Been through all kinds of unknown Brand’s including META etc

Edited by Goldenvodka

1 hour ago, Goldenvodka said:

@Mkl22 

my current FC quite good hovering around 12 13KM/L nothing to complain for a old car.

I using shell helix ultra now. Been through all kinds of unknown Brand’s including META etc

She’ll helix 5w40 seems to be at the lower end of viscosity. 13.1 cst. 5w40 range is 12.5-16 cst. 

11 hours ago, Goldenvodka said:

If from Day 1 using 5w40,then better don't switch to a thinner Oil,some more your Mileage already 200,000Km,later change to thinner Oil,the Oil Seals & Gasket start Leaking Oil...more Headache.

On 2/6/2022 at 3:31 PM, inlinesix said:

Looks like Lynlex has 2 version. This is the cheaper.

Need to wait 30 days

68F2A820-ED3D-424C-B443-3E687EE91F22.jpeg

Actually no need to wait 30days one.  I just bought some gear oil from them.  Say 30days but ship in 5~6days lor.

Anyway, I no hurry, next gear oil change is 80kkm away .....

On 2/8/2022 at 6:17 PM, Goldenvodka said:

@Mkl22 

Thin oil increase wear lor, slightly more only. How slightly, you shouldn't see much different for the next 10years lor.

Usually, when the car is new use thinner EO is OK, as the car age, switch to thicker oil.

The bottomline is simple, how much oil consumption can U tahan.  I can tahan 0 to 500cc per 10kkm. I only change at 15kkm.

Just switch to thinner oil, monitor oil consumption lor for the first time.

Anyway, it is good practice to monitor EO level ......bi-weekly or month.  Once the EO Warning light up, every once, your engine would have degrade.....

@Apple-Tree 
thanks for the advise 

so far my old car engine oil consumption is negligible, check oil monthly

Usually I DIY change oil. So far so good that I haven had to top up oil in between oil change intervals

I change oil every 6 months regardless of millage

4 hours ago, Goldenvodka said:

@Apple-Tree 
thanks for the advise 

so far my old car engine oil consumption is negligible, check oil monthly

Usually I DIY change oil. So far so good that I haven had to top up oil in between oil change intervals

I change oil every 6 months regardless of millage

Mee too. I only change EO 2 times a year.  Used to do it in JB.  Now I DIY lor .....

1645547682398.jpg

1645547682442.jpg

6 hours ago, Apple-Tree said:

Mee too. I only change EO 2 times a year.  Used to do it in JB.  Now I DIY lor .....

1645547682398.jpg

1645547682442.jpg

Where you throw your used Oil.?Don't tell me you leave it in the Rubbish Bin.😝

15 hours ago, ER-3682 said:

Where you throw your used Oil.?Don't tell me you leave it in the Rubbish Bin.😝

Actually, I ever GO TO A NEA APPROVED Collector ...... This is the CORRECT Answer ........ Anw ...... who is catching ? And catch me IF U CAN sia.....

Anw again, the company I work in ...... the estate management actually got a license to store USED OIL wor ......... problem solved lor.

And 1.5L bottle best sia ...... will not leak one .....