Used Hyundai Trajet

Ferraricalifornia

Hi!

Anyone driving a Hyundai Trajet???

Care to share your driving experience, fuel consumption, servicing, problems if any on this car???

my family is expanding,

and is in need for more space....

and thanks to the sharp rise in COE,

this is the car that is viable to our family at current situation.

thanks.

Hi!

Anyone driving a Hyundai Trajet???

Care to share your driving experience, fuel consumption, servicing, problems if any on this car???

my family is expanding,

and is in need for more space....

and thanks to the sharp rise in COE,

this is the car that is viable to our family at current situation.

thanks.

Trajet is a heavy fuel drinker, around 7 to 9 Km/l, worst then conti cars. just look at the size, OMG!

Spare parts may be problem too as not many on the road.

suggest get a Wish.

trajet space power...even 3rd row comfy for tall people, got rear aircon, big,

FC is sibeh cialat..heard frd say 7km/litre or less..servicing should be normal..

so far frds driving trajet juz say FC can kill them..

I drove a Trajet from 2003 to 2008 before I traded in Santa Fe. In the 5 years of ownership, it have never break down at all except the need to change the battery in the 3rd year. I did not go back to Komoco for servicing after my 3 free service, I buy all spares from local stockist which saves me a bomb and service it outside. Am very suprised that Hyundai cars are that tough that I buy another one which presently still driving it.

The Trajet space serves me well as I have 3 grown up kids...never have problem with space. Have been many many trips up north without any issue. Everyone is comfortable especially in long journey. Sometime, can squeeze 10pax into it...

The common compliant about the Trajet is the FC...I believe this is because of the 2.0L engine pulling the 1.8T metal. If budget not an issue, go for the V6 2.7L model which is what the Trajet is design with... [:p]

Edited by Multi

my dad is currently driving a Wish....

looking to upgrade to Estima, but budget doesn't permit....

Trajet immediately comes to mind....

the problem with the Wish is that to our family,

3 across in the 2nd row is a squeeze (uncomfortable)....

and we fold down the 3rd row for grocery shopping, since its practically useless for people (we don't have kids in the family so yah)....

basically our Wish is more estate wagon rather than MPV....

but we now have a maid,

so now have 6members in the family....

occasionally will go out with grandparents for special dinner and all....

so ya....

I drove a Trajet from 2003 to 2008 before I traded in Santa Fe. In the 5 years of ownership, it have never break down at all except the need to change the battery in the 3rd year. I did not go back to Komoco for servicing after my 3 free service, I buy all spares from local stockist which saves me a bomb and service it outside. Am very suprised that Hyundai cars are that tough that I buy another one which presently still driving it.

The Trajet space serves me well as I have 3 grown up kids...never have problem with space. Have been many many trips up north without any issue. Everyone is comfortable especially in long journey. Sometime, can squeeze 10pax into it...

The common compliant about the Trajet is the FC...I believe this is because of the 2.0L engine pulling the 1.8T metal. If budget not an issue, go for the V6 2.7L model which is what the Trajet is design with... [:p]

Total agree with bro Multi!!!

oh, and we did consider and test the Exora, (recommended by some friends),

however, with 3 onboard during the testdrive, the draggy first and 2nd gear is disappointing....

i can't imagine with 6 full-sized adults onboard, what will happen to the car....

there are quite a number of slopes on our roads,

and i'm currently driving a humble 1.3L Toyota hatchback, and it barely makes them up in a quiet, refined and unstrained manner, especially when carrying 4 onboard (including me lah of course)....and some items in the boot....

the Exora feels the same with just 3....so ya....

though the Exora feels a class up from the Wish (like Picnic size liddat)....

but the 3rd row still like the Wish, wide enough only for 2 people (i won't say adults here)....

trajet space power...even 3rd row comfy for tall people, got rear aircon, big,

FC is sibeh cialat..heard frd say 7km/litre or less..servicing should be normal..

so far frds driving trajet juz say FC can kill them..

how much does an outside normal service cost???

the Hyundai Matrix 1.6A fuel consumption also about 8-10km/L, very jialat,

but i expect a car the size of the Trajet to be doing below 9-10km/L lah....

let's be realistic....

i have friends who drive the Picnic getting as bad as 7km/L also...but mostly averaging 9km/L....

my current Wish doing 10-12km/L....

Trajet is a heavy fuel drinker, around 7 to 9 Km/l, worst then conti cars. just look at the size, OMG!

Spare parts may be problem too as not many on the road.

suggest get a Wish.

so that Trajet is really that worst? :o

my dad is currently driving a Wish....

looking to upgrade to Estima, but budget doesn't permit....

Trajet immediately comes to mind....

the problem with the Wish is that to our family,

3 across in the 2nd row is a squeeze (uncomfortable)....

and we fold down the 3rd row for grocery shopping, since its practically useless for people (we don't have kids in the family so yah)....

basically our Wish is more estate wagon rather than MPV....

but we now have a maid,

so now have 6members in the family....

occasionally will go out with grandparents for special dinner and all....

so ya....

I think u nid a mini private bus ( van) liao la.... [laugh] [laugh]

Trajet is a good alternative....

just too bad, there isn't a replacement model for this car yet....

though Hyundai sells the Entourage,

which is the same car as the Kia Carnival LWB....no SWB,

like the Kia Carnival Taxi we have here....

I drove a Trajet for 5 years from 2001 to 2006. Apart of heavy FC, the car is excellent. Loads of space - aisle in the middle row to walk through to the 3rd row - no need to fold any seats. Mine is the 7 seater, not the 8-seater.

No major problems that needed to be fixed, just the usual wear and tear items. I clocked up about 120,000 km in 5 years.

FC was about 8 - 8.5km/l.

now very hard to find pre-facelift 7-seater models already....

now in 2nd hand market are the facelifted 2005-2007 version, using the updated Hyundai 2.0L CVVT engine....

and they're 8-seaters....

quite like the practicality of the car leah....

I colleague told me FC 6-7,sluggish engine.

He traded in for sedan.

Also problem converting 2&3 row seats. It's like European individual seats. Got to remove seat to make space. Definitely saw this type of seats but maybe they have other range with other models or batch.

anybody knows hw far can trajet run for 1/4 of fuel since i guess the fuel tank is big?

>200km?

Edited by Subaru87

should be around 160-180km....

definitely less than 200km lah....

about the sluggishness part,

is the 0-100kph in the 15secs region???

cos the Exora 1.6CPS 125bhp does 0-100kph in 15.5s for the auto version and is crap performance....

and i'm not even talking about fast off the line acceleration power here....

i'm talking going up slopes and all, with 6onboard....

is it able to do it quietly, and in a refined manner???