Fly the flag or lose ley-scene!!!

Nlatio

From Straits Times interactive...

Fly the flag or lose licence

Proud citizens: Ipoh City Council staff waving the Jalur Gemilang during the launching of the National Day celebrations on Monday. -- PHOTO: THE STAR

IPOH - ALL businesses in the city must fly the state flag on the Perak Ruler's birthday on April 19 and the national flag on Aug 31 if they want their licences renewed, said Ipoh Mayor Roshidi Hashim.

He warned that those who failed to comply with the new ruling could also be issued compounded fines or be blacklisted.

'If the businesses don't fly the flags on both these days, they will be considered to have violated the new condition for their licences,' he told reporters after handing over the national flag to to Ipoh City Council's department heads here on Monday.

Mr Roshidi said the ruling was part of the council's efforts to inculcate patriotism among city folk, particularly among the business community.

He admitted that despite the launch of the Merdeka month celebrations by Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin on Aug 1, most premises in the city have yet to raise the national flag.

Mr Roshidi said premises owners should take the initiative to buy their own flag and not wait for this to be distributed free to them. -- THE STAR/ANN

What a way to make people show how they "LOVE" the country....... Boleh lar Bolehland..... [laugh]

tak boleh la. just imagine if they wan us to put singapore flag on our car else during national day else license revoked. the more flag u put the more COE rebate u get next time u renew ur COE. (Y)

Its other ppl's country not ours... why we care so much? Better worry that we are not the first scapegoat that kena summon cos did not give way to them stupid YOG vehicles.