Test your language comprehension skill

Ahtong

Please read the following statement carefully:

"I want to order 1 packet of chicken rice"

Deduce from the above if my intention is to eat here or take away.

90% of hawkers I encountered fail this comprehension test

sometimes it's not the hawkers....

I have witnessed the customer in front of me distinctly ordering 1 packet of charsiew rice...but later when the hawker packed the food and handed over to her, she told the hawker she was eating at the hawker center...the hawker lan lan had to re-prepare for her.....

Edited by Carpinion

redundant..... should just be

'chicken rice, 1 packet' save energy...go green...say fewer words less greenhouse gases [laugh][laugh][laugh]

think 90% are ah tiong...so no understand engreese

u and little-prince are the most anti-AT here

anyway, back to topic

should be 鸡饭一 (eat here), or 鸡饭一 (da bao)

Edited by Scion

You're only expressing your interest in ordering.

A better sentence structure would perhaps be "I would like a packet of chicken rice please"

You're only expressing your interest in ordering.

A better sentence structure would perhaps be "I would like a packet of chicken rice please"

by your logic......you are only expressing your wish to have a packet of chicken rice.

along the same line of logic...the "proper" sentence structure will be "I would like to purchase a packet of chicken rice to be packed in a portable form. I will also pay you $3 at the conclusion of our transaction" :D :D

I got more chiong hey version but I think you got the idea... [laugh] [laugh]

by your logic......you are only expressing your wish to have a packet of chicken rice.

along the same line of logic...the "proper" sentence structure will be "I would like to purchase a packet of chicken rice to be packed in a portable form. I will also pay you $3 at the conclusion of our transaction" :D:D

I got more chiong hey version but I think you got the idea... [laugh][laugh]

[laugh] however my wish dont need genie one any unker also can

I will say it this way:

Da3 Bao1 Ji1 Fan4, Yi4 Bao1

So they will understand that i want to takeaway packet.

Then i will notice them when they are preparing.

At the most wrong order,Hainan chicken becomes roasted chicken but at least still takeaway.

Add more chilli taste still the same.

At the most wrong order,Hainan chicken becomes roasted chicken but at least still takeaway.

Add more chilli taste still the same.

you very chin chai hor? [laugh] [laugh]

Every time I order kopi, the auntie always ask me. Drink or take away?

Of course buy kopi to drink meh. Only question is drink at kopi sop or take away to drink.

But I never told her that. [:p]

Sometimes people are funny. How often you heard people said. "Hi, you are here!". I feel like saying. "I am not here actually, its just an illusion".

u and little-prince are the most anti-AT here

anyway, back to topic

should be 鸡饭一 (eat here), or 鸡饭一 (da bao)

鸡饭 having here or 鸡饭 take away better ah.

[thumbsup][:p]