Ministers pay not adjusted because benchmark fell

Ahtong

Can someone explain the logic to me? When the benchmark rises, their pay goes up. When the benchmark decreases, shouldn't their pay drop as well?

Pay adjustment deferred

Reason: Private sector benchmarks used to calculate pay have fallen

By Li Xueying

A PLANNED adjustment of the pay of Cabinet ministers and top civil servants to align it with salaries in the private sector has been deferred - for the third time.

The adjustment was to have been made in January last year, but was deferred then, and again last November, because of the weak economy.

A statement from the Public Service Division (PSD) said the Government will monitor economic growth and movement of the pay benchmarks 'before making any subsequent decision on when to implement the salary adjustment'.

The deferment applies to administrative service officers, and those who hold political, judicial and statutory appointments.

Explaining the deferment despite a roaring economy this year, the PSD said the two private sector benchmarks it uses to decide the pay of these officers had fallen. The first benchmark - 2/3M48 - pegs pay to two-thirds of the salary of the 24th highest earner in a group comprising the top eight earners from six selected professions. This benchmark is used to determine the pay of entry-level ministers and senior permanent secretaries.

The second benchmark - 15P32 - pegs pay to that of the 15th top earner aged 32 in the same six professions. It is used to decide the salaries of entry-grade Superscale administrative service officers.

Read the full story in Thursday's edition of The Straits Times.

[email protected]

In Spore :

Low end Jobs : Has to pay competitively to control costs.

High end Jobs : Has to pay competitively to attract talents.

The logic is always funny like :

To reduce costs in office, Paper, Pen, Paperclip, stationery will be rationed

But the bosses still take Biz class...

Translation: We're gonna increase civil servant (voter) pay, but postpone our own so that you'll be conned into having more incentive to vote for us. Or less disincentive to vote against us, either way works for us.

If anyone believes that they're not going to recoup this, with interest and then some after the GE, I have a beautiful bridge to sell you cheap.

lets face it and put yourself if those ministers shoes ,

if you are deciding your own big fat pay, would you want to decrease your own pay ? [rolleyes][rolleyes]

aiya...ereaction coming so they don;t want it to be a topic that the opposition can attack them lah...wayang only...after the ereaction, I sure 100% it will increase....living with their grip for the past 38 years....see through them liao lah....

Juz some crap excuse lah... Dun wanna raise because erection is cumming.

If raise now, opposition will have another bullet to shoot them, peasants like us will dulan!

They'll juz tahan for another year after the act then raise the 'benchmark'. Anyway current pay is more than enuff!

Juz some crap excuse lah... Dun wanna raise because erection is cumming.

If raise now, opposition will have another bullet to shoot them, peasants like us will dulan!

They'll juz tahan for another year after the act then raise the 'benchmark'. Anyway current pay is more than enuff!

After Erection, what time is it? it's PARTY time.

We peasants can only drools and watch at the sideline.

we allow monopoly what to do..who to blame?

like Petrol price cartel .... crude oil go up.... petrol price go up......

crude come go down.....got a glue effort....petrol also got struck but come down a little...

sound familiar right.....

when company be monopoly is like that..just like previously only singtel.... now with m1 and starhub then got free incoming call...

all these there is a link one....

lets face it and put yourself if those ministers shoes ,

if you are deciding your own big fat pay, would you want to decrease your own pay ? [rolleyes][rolleyes]

I still have a sense of shame -_-

Why are we not dropping the Minister's pay since the market benchmark has dropped? [hur]

Or maybe its benchmark to raise only but forgotten when it drop? [mad]

So Ministers pay can only go up and up and up? :huh:

I don't know which other country's Ministers decide their own pay & bonus, but if they can do that, whats stopping them from deciding to benchmark or not? Make sense?