• S$40,001 to S$45,000
    • Above S$45,000
  2. 2. Cat B COE

• Below S$40,000
    • S$40,001 to S$45,000
    • S$45,001 to S$50,000
    • S$50,001 to S$55,000
    • Above S$55,000

The details of the December 2010 first open bidding exercise for Certificates of Entitlement (COEs) are as follows:

Tender opens: Monday, 6 December 2010, 12 noon

Tender closes: Wednesday, 8 December 2010, 4.00 pm

Tender results: Wednesday, 8 December 2010

(Available on the www.onemotoring.com.sg website)

The total quota available for this tender is 1,935 for the following vehicle categories:

NON-TRANSFERABLE CATEGORIES:

Category A : Cars (1,600cc and below) & taxis 598

Category B : Cars (1,601cc and above) 479

Category D : Motorcycles 337

TRANSFERABLE CATEGORIES:

Category C : Goods Vehicles and Buses 208

Category E : Open Category 313

up until cannot up [laugh]

aft my yest trip to leng kee, i can better understand now the yr end effect and the desperation of the AD to "clock figures".

COE sure shoot up the roof.

The news already out that COE quota will be reduced. Its open secret.

Smart AD will die die want to secure as many COE this month as possible.

Some more those AD who wants to stay at number2 or 3 position will go all out to try to score as many COE as possible.

Dont get caught out like KAH....still selling '08 stocks.

COE sure shoot up the roof.

The news already out that COE quota will be reduced. Its open secret.

Smart AD will die die want to secure as many COE this month as possible.

Some more those AD who wants to stay at number2 or 3 position will go all out to try to score as many COE as possible.

Dont get caught out like KAH....still selling '08 stocks.

There are other ADs with few units of '07 stock also. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] So, 2008 does not sound too bad.

sigh...vicious cycle going forward...

reduce COE -> increase in COE price -> more ex to re-new COE -> 2nd car price increase

COE quotas reduce again and the above cycle starts again...

at end of day, cost of car ownership should, NO DOUBT, rocket into the sky...

this time the vicious cycle will not happen.

the game rule changed....lesser car growth.....might go to zero.

So limited COE will cause price to go up and up.

Rich people will keep buying and support the COE in future.

Middle income will have to take taxi or bus or ride bicycle.

this time the vicious cycle will not happen.

the game rule changed....lesser car growth.....might go to zero.

So limited COE will cause price to go up and up.

Rich people will keep buying and support the COE in future.

Middle income will have to take taxi or bus or ride bicycle.

Where got so jialat?

My family is lower middle class (and at times lower class) and we have always had at least one car since the day I was born. Even when COE was in TOP FORM in late 1990s.

It is a matter of choices in life. My parents choose not to own branded goods or go on luxurious holidays or keep up with the Joneses so that my family can have the convenience of car ownership. If the middle income folks are willing to compromise; even if an Altis costs 120k or 130k, they can afford it. It is whether they want or don't want. And how badly they want it. If they eat every meal at hawker center and are really middle income and don't get suckered into comparing with their colleagues, I am sure they can do it. But nowadays everybody wants face.

Back on topic: My prediction is that COE will stay around the same or up by a little bit.

Edited by TandemAssassin

S'pore so small. we can only build that many roads.

don want to end up like traffic in Penang/ KL yah?

my concern is those who need car for their job and business...

high COE will certainly impact bunsiness.

Cost will pass to consumer.

HUGE INFLATION is HEADING our way, no doubt about it.

Where got so jialat?

My family is lower middle class (and at times lower class) and we have always had at least one car since the day I was born. Even when COE was in TOP FORM in late 1990s.

It is a matter of choices in life. My parents choose not to own branded goods or go on luxurious holidays or keep up with the Joneses so that my family can have the convenience of car ownership. If the middle income folks are willing to compromise; even if an Altis costs 120k or 130k, they can afford it. It is whether they want or don't want. And how badly they want it. If they eat every meal at hawker center and are really middle income and don't get suckered into comparing with their colleagues, I am sure they can do it. But nowadays everybody wants face.

Back on topic: My prediction is that COE will stay around the same or up by a little bit.

work to drive (eat to live)

drive to work (live to eat)

You are lucky!

You are definately in the upper income group!

Most definitely not. We are firmly lower middle class.

For one we stay in a humble HDB flat in Jurong. We cannot even afford a suburban 99 year condo. How to be considered middle income, much less upper income?

work to drive (eat to live)

drive to work (live to eat)

what to do? a car is very important to our family. we really heavily utilise it. 2 years plus, nearly clock 80k km liao. and we only travel in SG. [laugh]

yea boy, limited by space mah ... and only the rich will get to drive .. .hard fact. . . as long as something is put up for bidding, who has the most cash wins .

If only we can reclaim land up to pulau ubin, and the surrounding islands,, more space!

ayah the trick is not change car every few years. Keep for 10 yrs & even consider renew COE then change car. its always still cheaper to replace a $2-3000 gearbox etc & renew COE than buy new car. unless ure income increase the same rate cars depreciate, sure spend more & more.

even if oil goes $200 its still cheaper to keep the same car 10yrs than buy a cheaper new car.

so, homes near MRT will keep going up in price as more pple stop driving due to costs.